We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding food, great rooms to stay abd friendly staff”
Review of The Thorold

The Thorold
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Marston
Price range: £5 - £30
Description: The Thorold is newly refurbished after a long period of closure. Under community ownership and professionally managed, it offers a delightful, rural welcome to all. On the corner of Main Street and School Lane in the Lincolnshire village of Marston, it is easily accessible - just 7 miles from Grantham, 12 from Newark, and a mile east of the A1. It is the community focus of the village and is a pub with rooms, café, restaurant, and shop. A Free House, The Thorold offers cask ales from Bateman’s Brewery, varying guest beers, a range of lagers, cider, other beers, and a great selection of wines, spirits, and soft drinks. The menu is tasty and local, with meals to suit all appetites. The ethos is relaxed and family-friendly, with well-behaved dogs welcome. There is a beer garden with a lawn and plenty of outside tables and seating. The pub has level access throughout from the garden door and car park. Future development will provide full ground floor wheelchair accessibility.
Restaurant details
Description: The Thorold is newly refurbished after a long period of closure. Under community ownership and professionally managed, it offers a delightful, rural welcome to all. On the corner of Main Street and School Lane in the Lincolnshire village of Marston, it is easily accessible - just 7 miles from Grantham, 12 from Newark, and a mile east of the A1. It is the community focus of the village and is a pub with rooms, café, restaurant, and shop. A Free House, The Thorold offers cask ales from Bateman’s Brewery, varying guest beers, a range of lagers, cider, other beers, and a great selection of wines, spirits, and soft drinks. The menu is tasty and local, with meals to suit all appetites. The ethos is relaxed and family-friendly, with well-behaved dogs welcome. There is a beer garden with a lawn and plenty of outside tables and seating. The pub has level access throughout from the garden door and car park. Future development will provide full ground floor wheelchair accessibility.
Reviewed 5 November 2023 via mobile

A fantastic place to eat and stay, we stayed the night and the room, shower was outstanding and friendly staff on hand to help. We had an amazing dinner last night with everything tasty and cooked to perfection. Really fantastic place and a community pub too!!!

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank Sightsee257293
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

So glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2023

Food here is amazing, we are not local but we eat here when we are karting at the local track, 3rd visit to The Thorald and it never disappoints. Lovely country pub, gives you that proper homely feel, on our last visit the curry was on the specials menu and it was lovely, bit disappointed it wasn't on the menu this time round, wouldn't usually order pork but thought I would have a change, it was delicious. My son likes his Steak and the home cooked chips are lush, compliments to the chef and the staff that make you feel welcome. Wish is was our local.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank yogibearl2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

It wouldn't be a specials menu if it was the same every time - glad you found a good curry substitute! Many thanks for the kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2023

This place is my new favourite local for a good, honest pub lunch!
Visited with 7 friends and 9 dogs... yes 9!
They welcomed us inside, however, we did elect to sit in the lovely, modest garden.
Nothing was too much trouble for the team working...we felt so spoilt.
Food was delicious and the service, second to none!
So glad we visited here....and will definately call in again soon!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amybeaumont1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Glad we managed to fit you all in. Many thanks to you and all your companions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2023 via mobile

A lovely pub with great rooms and lovely staff . Only stayed for one night but had a fabulous welcome and a really comfy room. It is the best value b&b/hotel I have ever stayed in and the breakfast was excellent quality. The poached eggs were fabulous.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank MikefromNeath
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Great review! So glad the stay was a success.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023

What a change it makes to have different options on the menu both for starter and main.
So many country pubs are all the same standard(nothing wrong with it)options.
This menu excited on the specials alone.
Plenty of choice which left it hard to choose from but we made the right choices tonight.
We had chicken and chorizo croquettes and the baked souffle,both of which were gorgeous and we would have them again.
For mains we had the pie which was really well made.
The pork belly was delicious and a good size portion.
We only live a few villages away and will absolutely come here more often
We came a few years back and there wasn't anything wrong with the meal but nothing bought us back.i presume it's new people or new chef.we will be back.
Our favourite deserts were on the menu too but unfortunately we were too full to try them but next time we will leave a bit more room.
Thankyou to everyone that made it a lovely evening out.
Rachel and Gemma( I believe )were really attentive and looked after us well

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Nikki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ian Tyler, Marketing at The Thorold, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

What a great review! Thank you so much and come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thorold also viewed

Been to The Thorold? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.