We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff made us feel very welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Resort Grantham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ramada Resort Grantham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston
Cheshire
2 reviews
“Staff made us feel very welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned home from a 2 night stay at The Olde Barn & had a lovely stay. Although the menu is limited the food is excellent, the room was very comfortable & the staff very friendly, we made use of the pool which was not too busy & very nice.
The only down side really was deciding what to have for dinner at breakfast, but we understand this keeps the cost down & saves on waste.

Mr & Mrs Foster (Cheshire)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    651
    296
    144
    89
See reviews for
165
974
35
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Attleborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

The whole weekend was great. The hotel offered great accomodation and the staff went out of their way to look after our every need. I loved the gym and swimming facilities, and would definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I recently stayed for two night with 5 girlfriends at the olde barn. We had a fabulous time, had lovely local walks and enjoyed the gym and spa pool, excellent jacuzzi, and a great shopping complex just 5 minutes drive away. The rooms were large and very clean, and the staff could not do enough for you, very helpful. We had two evening bar meals and were very impressed with the service and food. All in all an excellent stay.

Room Tip: we stayed in the new wing so very modern, but I have heard the other rooms are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paula w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed here with my family between Christmas and New Year 2011 (kept forgetting to leave a review!) on a Groupon deal and we weren't disappointed.

Upon arrival there were many people checking in and we thought it would be awful because how could they cope with so many people? Checkin however was quick and efficient. We were suprised at having to book in straight away for a meal but then there were so many people on a dinner bed and breakfast deal that it did make sense.

We didn't think the hotel was that worn as other reviews have said and found it more than acceptable for a 2 night break.

Our room was spacious and the cot that we required was nicely made up with toddler bedding (whereas other places Ive been to have left it for us to sort).

The bathroom had a few broken tiles but there were clear signs apologising for this and saying what was being done to rectify it.

We arrived early for the evening meal with having a 2 year old and the staff were very friendly welcoming us into 1 of 3 rooms set up for the big dinner service. Our daughter was given an activity box which had vouchers for free drinks for her. Our food was very nice and served in a good time, and at no point did we feel that we were one of many people at the hotel on the deal. We felt the staff coped very very well with the large numbers. On the 2nd night we experienced similar service.

Our only problem was as others have already said, the cost of the drinks were very high. We therefore bought drinks from a local store and took them down with us on the 2nd night. I know thats cheeky but do not feel the hotel was justified in the prices they were charging at all for the drinks.

Breakfast on both days was again in 1 of 3 rooms and it was a buffet. The food was fresh and kept being replenished and again at no time were we made to feel that the hotel was full. There was a decent choice and speedy service.

The leisure facilities were small but fine for a nice family swim. Staff were extremely accomodating with our little one, and although the water was on the cool side for us who were just playing, it was ideal for swimming.

We left the hotel at the end amazed how well the hotel and staff had coped with so many people because quality didn't appear to be lowered and it was all very organised. We had a great time away and would return on a similar deal.

P.S - for the little ones, a play centre is advertised not far away. We went and our little one really enjoyed it. The entry allows you to return the next day for free which is always a bonus!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljb80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

just returned home from groupon deal at The Old Barn. Staff friendly, 3 course evening meal exellent,( sticky toffee pud especially),breakfast brill & as much as you wanted. Room- agree with other comments, a bit tired but clean & more than adequate - but we were in room 701, a bit like a sauna ( cleaner told us it's above the swimming pool) coped ok with the windows open, must be aware of this as room is supplied with a 16ins fan!!! Great groupon deal for 1 night for 2 at £59.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvonne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

....because if I had paid the full price I would have been appalled!

We booked this, as have so many others, though the GroupOn/KGB Deals scheme and it was only the fact that the two days we spent at this hotel were so heavily discounted that made it pallatable.

Ask if they have a cappucino - the answer will be no, just plain cafetiere coffee, so you ask for a pot of tea instead and still end up with a cafetiere of coffee anyway - and all this seemed so much trouble you don't even fancy taking it back and facing more of the same service. Extotionate bar prices - glass of wine, £6.20, pint of Peronni £4.50, no wonder the bin in our room was full of empty bottles and cans at the end of each day!

The food, though fine on quality, is taken from a very limited menu - and if you don't like something, don't bother asking for it to be left off the plate. My wife hates parmessan cheese so we asked for the parmessan shavings to be left off of her starter. When it arrived, sure enough, there was parmessan shavings all over the meal (then the waitress tried to tell us that the shavings was actually the sauce). So, with the limited menu, if you didn't like cheese, you are pretty much stuffed as the one of the other two options had blue cheese in it.

Breakfast did make up for it partly, but even then there were problems - you can't have a reasonably full restaurant and bring out just two slices of toast to the buffet!! But again, what was there was of good quality.

The Superior room we had was clean and tidy but incredibly warm. If like us, you're inclined to relax in the room with a film on TV then this does have a major drawback. The room is very large and the TV is very small so opera glasses are essential!

All in all, nice to get away from normal life for a couple of days but, after staying here, nice to get back to normal life too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iffy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

My wife and I booked a KGB 2 night deal to get away for her birthday.
What a disappointment this hotel was.
The bar prices are extortionate £6.45 for a pint and a half of beer and £16.60 for the cheapest bottle of wine.
The breakfast was adequate, I can live with a self service buffet, however, I would expect tea, coffee and toast to be served to the table not have to wait at the buffet for four slices of toast to arrive.
We ordered a bar meal in the evening, this was a disaster. The fish and chips were cremated the lasagne dry and tasteless. I complained to the bar manager, who to his credit, eventually agreed that we should not pay for the meal. However, the experience was not very pleasant.
To be fair the hotel has some good points. The room was clean and comfortable, most of the staff pleasant and helpful, the health centre well equipped.
Would we go back? Definitely NOT

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moira34WestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marston
3.1 mi away
Belton Woods Hotel
Belton Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Belton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,553 reviews
5.3 mi away
Urban Hotel Grantham
Urban Hotel Grantham
#3 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
9.5 mi away
Stoke Rochford Hall
Stoke Rochford Hall
#1 of 1 in Stoke Rochford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eden House Hotel
Eden House Hotel
#8 of 9 in Grantham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Angel & Royal Hotel
5.5 mi away
Premier Inn Grantham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Resort Grantham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Resort Grantham

Property: Ramada Resort Grantham
Address: Toll Bar Road, Marston, Grantham NG32 2HT, England (Formerly Wyndham Garden Grantham)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Grantham > Marston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Marston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Resort Grantham 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ramada Resort Grantham is a stylist retreat conveniently located approximately 1 mile from the A1. The hotel is a great base for exploring the many local attractions the area has to offer or for a relaxing break away from it all. It is also the perfect location for conferences, catering for 2 - 300 delegates in one of its 5 conference rooms, all in the peaceful surroundings of the Lincolnshire countryside. At the end of a hard day exploring or working you can relax in the Health Club with its indoor pool, steam room , sauna, Jacuzzi and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Superbreak UK so you can book your Ramada Resort Grantham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olde Barn Hotel
Olde Barn Marston
Ramada Resort Grantham Marston, Lincolnshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing