We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was tasty but unfortunately not hot only luke warm all meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thorold Arms - CLOSED

Thorold Arms
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Seating
Description: NG32 2HH
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Food was tasty but unfortunately not hot only luke warm all meals”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Tasty Sunday lunch but could be a lot hotter. Service was average and the choice could of been a bit better. Not too child friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank porsche996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely friendly atmosphere and host.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed nearby for my girlfriends birthday weekend. Found the host (Kim) very friendly, the chef was happy to cater for individual requirements and the food was fresh and delicious. Unique feel to the place with the shop within the building and nice relaxing atmosphere to enjoy a few drinks. The locals were friendly and willing to share information on the surrounding area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gavin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

Stopping nearby and the Thorold was recommended - lovely little pub, mismatch furniture, open fire, friendly locals - food was superb, had to wait a while but you could tell it was all home cooked when it arrived so worth the wait

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank andyjoYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

We were staying nearby for the weekend but could not get a table for our evening meal so ventured out.......and wow.......we're we happy we did so!

A truly remarkable little pub that is clearly the centre of village life as it has the local shop built into it. We turned up unannounced and asked if there was any possibility of a meal. Give me half an hour or so was the reply. No problem. The excellent landlady gave us the restaurant menu and said to give her the heads up if we wanted the pie.

Not an enormous selection - five or six main choices. The portions are brilliant. We had so much we were stuffed full by the end of the evening. I recommend the pie- half a plate with chips and peas - phew remarkable. The value was tremendous. My wife had chicken goujons and they were splendid. Great home cooked food. Thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GraemeMaidstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Just been there for a pub dinner and it was superb! Great food with decent portions and at a good price. Great range of beers and a charming barman to serve it.
Great food, great beer, great service.
We will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Page92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thorold Arms also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing