We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must try!”
Review of River Don Tavern

River Don Tavern
Ranked #59 of 163 Restaurants in Scunthorpe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Traditional country pub with seperate restaurant.Pub menu and specials board,excellent Sunday carvery served 12-7 30pm.Booking advisable especially on Sundays.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must try!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I absolutely love this place, lovely warm friendly people and the food is the best we have found. They simply cannot be beaten on their carverys, 100% fresh meat and veg, none of that frozen stuff. You must must must try this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster
Level Contributor
71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not dissapointed”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Couldn't resist going to try.the steaks - very tasty. Good-sized portion - no room for sweets.
friendly service
real ale.
we have already booked a return visit - just to give Foxy a fuss

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank accordionman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb that is the only word for the place and services offered.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I was actually advised by a friend of mine about this little place in Eastoft, while it is out of the way from Scunthorpe I had never been there so my friend and I decide to call in,

I have to say I was amazed from the moment I stepped in the door, the smiles were all around, I found it a very warm atmosphere, the locals were accepting of my friend and I and the food was very good value for money and the portions was very and I mean very large, it was that big I was going to get a pudding but there was no space for it,

I can highly recommend this public house, and at some point soon intend to have Sunday Carvery, I live in Scunthorpe town and it was a nice even refreshing change to the usual town food that is served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deanpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent traditional tavern with modern accommodation”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here on business, having booked through Late Rooms without doing any research. Price for B&B was very good indeed but I wasn't sure what to expect. I needn't have worried ; the accommodation is very modern and clean (with toiletries and a chocolate - nice touch), the service was very good and friendly (bar and restaurant) and the beer lived up to its CAMRA awards. I had dinner in the evening and it was traditional pub fayre and lots of it. Breakfast in the morning was also very good. Could not fault the service, including the fact that they made a special effort to enable me to check-in at 3pm (which is before the pub opens). Would definitely return on business or for leisure. So much better than faceless chain hotels and probably cheaper too, despite headline rooms rates which the chains advertise.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Telford-Three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent steaks and service!”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

My wife and I had had a busy day and decided at the last minute to eat out and visited the River Don in Eastoft. On entering we were met with smiles and log fires and from the varied menu we ordered two steaks, a rump and a sirloin. Both cooked to perfection. Service brilliant - drinks also brought to the table. What was amazing was that there was only one other couple eating! This is a traditional village pub - we also had a look at the accommodation - superb - a hidden gem!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tartantitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Don Tavern also viewed

Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Been to River Don Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing