We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Frankie and Benny's

Frankie and Benny's
Ranked #66 of 164 Restaurants in Scunthorpe
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Scunthorpe
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely brilliant. Food service and atmosphere. I didnt used to rate this place but has massively improved in recent months. The management of the restaurant and attitude of the staff is very good. Cannot fault it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lindz b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    74
    82
    47
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“First timer, very happy ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here for the first time, drove from grimsby, was very impressed, first impressions of the place we're positive. Service was excellent. We ordered dough bread sticks and dip for starter and a new York pizza to share, the pizza came and my partner did not realise it came with onions, we wasn't going to complain but the staff could see that we was unsure and insisted that they changed it, the manager then brought out our replaced pizza, it was beautiful and a nice touch to see that the manager gas an involvement with regards to complaints, we even stayed for dessert. Overall the visit was pleasant and exceeded our expectations. Which was great as we was out celebrating new jobs and a new promotion. Keep up the good work.

Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and quality”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Visited as a group for a birthday. Mix of adults and children.
The table we were given, although large enough, was poorly thought out. Two tables pushed together, which meant two of our party were almost blocking an aisle!
Service was slow, drinks orders were only partly fulfilled, and when we complained there was still no sign of the missing drinks!
Table booked for 7:30 and ordered quite quickly and yet main courses only appeared at almost 9 o clock, which with children attending is not ideal. The restaurant wasn't even busy that night (it was a Saturday).
Food quality was adequate at best, seems like they should focus on one area and do it well, instead of a vast menu that's nothing special.
It was chosen (by others) mainly for the children, but ours have asked not to return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad breakfast, watery hot chocolates topped off by poor service.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

6 of us visited Frankie and Benny's this morning for breakfast. Our drinks took a long time to arrive when they did one of the hot chocolates was missing the cream that had been asked for and the drinks all tasted watery. The breakfasts arrived and tasted very rubbery and small portions. The drinks refills we ordered arrived just in time as we paid our bill. We have had great breakfasts there before so it was disappointing our experience this morning was so poor. I believe we did have some drinks discounted after we fed-back to our waitress however we won't be rushing back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barnabysim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disgusting !!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Wanted somewhere nice to eat and Frankie and Benny's seemed a good idea . . . ordered food great, wasn't waiting long for our starters and they seems nice. I sat and watched our main on the counter for a good 5mins while the staff chatted away. Then once it came I was disgusted ! It was swimming in grease ! No joke it had a layer of about 2cms deep of grease told a member of staff to be told the manger would come across but 5mins later the waiter came back and said because it had bacon it was supposed to be like that ? Never in my life have I seen so much grease !! When I pick some pasta up with my folk you could see the grease filling the space it ! Utter disappoint . . will not be spending my hard earned cash here again !!!!

Helpful?
Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frankie and Benny's also viewed

Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Frankie and Benny's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing