We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slipping ...”
Review of The Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Scunthorpe
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Slipping ...”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Quite sad to write this review because I am a fairly regular patron and review it from time to time but not every time I stay. There seems to have been a procession of different staff at check in over the last year and its not clear to me who is actually running the place any longer . My last stay was mid week quite unusual for me as I am mostly there over the weekend. Seeing the remnants of wedding 'confetti' on the stairs and landing worried me a tad - either they had a midweek wedding (possible) or this was left over from the weekend , benefit of the doubt. I was in room 3 a room I am familiar with and have stayed in many times. The carpet was in an awful state and very badly stained. So badly stained that you wonder how or what made such a mess, not in one place but in many places. (Quite clearly someone has made this mess and shame on them for leaving such a mess) I was quite taken aback but then you can't help but look at the cleanliness of the rest of the room... And that was questionable. However the bed was comfortable, I slept well . On check out I raised the issue of the carpet and they were aware and had no carpet cleaning machine / shampoo / deep cleaning facility. Well to the management at good night inns - you have hiked the prices, the quality of the cleaning and general service is variable and you need to stop the slide. Writing this gives me no pleasure at all as my previous reviews have been positive and I have loved staying in the Royal, but it won't have my repeat business unless it improves.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    44
    44
    31
    46
See reviews for
46
55
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

Reminded us of station hotels in France. People who slate the place want something for nothing. If they spent £1 million on it the room rate would shoot up. It's basic accommodation at a fair price, we have stayed in a lot worse for a lot more. Only warning, if you want an early night on Saturdays (Karaoke) forget it. Music goes on till midnight. Breakfast perfectly acceptable. Overall, don't go with high expectations of plush sumptuous surroundings and you won't be disappointed. Spend that £20/30 per night saving on a nice meal.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxkolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Maxkolb,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that overall you were pleased with our facilities.

Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

very tired and drab rooms that don't seem to get cleaned very often. lots of dust around the bedroom and mould in the bathroom. The bed was well past it's sell by date with springs sticking through it. The bar food was poor at best. Staff just did not seem interested in their customers. Overall very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HOD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Dear HOD1980,

Thank you for your review, the feedback you have provided will be passed to our management team to help improve the standards we offer at the Royal Hotel.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scunthorpe hotels

england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The room smelt of a stale smokey taste, the bathroom wasn't very clean with grime around the sink taps and the bath. There was no room between the toilet and the bath, decor was drab and gloomy. On checking out I noticed the reception here was covered with a thick layer of dust. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone, won't be going back again.

Room Tip: wouldn't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank publican_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear publican_10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your reveiw, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received whilst visiting the Royal Hotel. We would like to investigate your comments with our management team and have sent you a direct message to discuss this further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This hotel is old fashioned, and a little faded, but somehow quite nostalgic. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was fine except for being cold, and it was a very cold day when we arrived. There were 2 heaters in the room so we put them both on, and slowly it warmed up, but the bathroom was arctic (no heating in there). There was plenty of hot water, but the tile grouting around the shower needed a good scour to remove black mould. We had a meal in the pub (a John Barras group) and the food was good, typical chain pub grub. By the time we got back to our room it had warmed up and we got a good night's sleep. we told the duty manager about the cold room in the morning and he apologised. I should have reported it straight away the previous evening really and vowed always to make any shortcomings known immediately in future. Overall for the price we were happy enough with the Royal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseananne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Roseananne,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, your feedback has been passed to our management team to ensure that your comments regarding the room temperature and grout of the tiles can be addressed.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

We stayed overnight at the Royal because we were going to a concert at the Baths Hall, a 2-minute walk away - having read the reviews on here we were a little nervous to say the least about what we'd find when we checked in!

However, we had no problems at all, our room was fine, perfectly clean and the bed was comfy. The bathroom was clean and everything worked too.

Yes, its a basic hotel - a pub with rooms - so you have to find someone behind the bar rather than there being a staffed reception, and there are no frills - but the price we paid for the room reflected that.

We would stay here again, especially if we were going to the Baths Hall, as its just across the road and the bar prices in the Royal are even better than those at the venue.

I particularly liked the pictures in the rooms and corridors; rather than being generic pieces of abstract art of landscapes like you find in most hotels, they were all views of the local area; both industrial and rural, but they really reflected the place of the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 'deluxe' room for an extra few pounds, it was huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhirlpoolGrimsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear WhirlpoolGrimsby,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that the Royal Hotel was able to meet your requirements and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Not impressed with this hotel. Bedding had mold spots on them radiator not working small heater in the room which warmed the room up. Bathroom well what can I say about the toilet Hubby had to fix the toilet every time we had to flush it lucky for us it was only one night.
Staff was lovely breakfast was good enough for me as I only have cereals and toast, Hubby's cooked breakfast was very nice.
This place lets the staff down

Room Tip: find a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquiwoodward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Jacquiwoodward,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are soory to hear of the issues you received whilst visiting and have asked our management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scunthorpe
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Scunthorpe Hotel
0.7 mi away
Wortley House Hotel
Wortley House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Scunthorpe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
5.1 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Arties Mill & Lodge
Arties Mill & Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brigg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.9 mi away
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Hotel
#2 of 12 in Scunthorpe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
6.0 mi away
The River Don Tavern And Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hotel

Property: The Royal Hotel
Address: South Humberside Doncaster Road, Scunthorpe DN15 7DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Scunthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished contemporary modern hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your The Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing