We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clay Oven Restaurant

Clay Oven Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 164 Restaurants in Scunthorpe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$41
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Our fully experienced staff will see to your every need. We have the facility of sectioning the restaurant off as a standalone function room with capacity of 60 diners, perfect for small gatherings complete with dance floor, DJ room and karaoke facilities..starting from as little as £12 a head to as much as you want to make it a memorable night for both you and your guests. Official sponsors of "Scunthopre United Football" team.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

Had a meal with parents who live near here after eating Indian food in the west of Scotland didn't think it could be beet but have to say food,staff and restaurant were all of high quality

Helpful?
Thank June T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    18
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

took my son here on his 15th birthday, we went at 7pm on a saturday evening, so was pretty quiet, excellent service and food, good clean modern surroundings, reasonable priced and overall very enjoyable meal

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank marie1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Decided to try the restaurant after reading the reviews, the staff were attentive and polite, however the manager could find some benefit in a course on customer relations. The food was a complete disappointment, starters dull and unappetising and the main courses which were chosen from the restaurants " Speciality Dishes" consisted of over cooked, dry chicken with some nearly raw onions and peppers covered with some kind of sauce flavouring. We had selected three different chicken dishes and each looked and tasted the same. The portion size was generous however this only made a poor dish worse.
First and last visit, try an alternative if you want an Indian meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never again!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Extremely rude staff..... Food quality & taste were average.... We were very disappointed with the team..
Never visiting this place again!!!

Helpful?
6 Thank Mickster08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Much Improved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Had a meal on saturday night and it was one of the best Indian meals i have had in Scunthore,this is not my usual Indian but i thought i would go here as it was nearer to home so i went
Had a delicious lamb jalfezi and a chicken tikka massala with rice ,chips and nan breadsplus 2 prawn puri staters for under £35 for 2 people.all the food was delicious and the meat and chicken content were very generous
recommended to all

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank keninlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Clay Oven Restaurant also viewed

Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Messingham, Scunthorpe
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 

Been to Clay Oven Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing