We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery”
Review of The Beckwood

The Beckwood
Ranked #44 of 164 Restaurants in Scunthorpe
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Carvery”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Just had a Sunday Carvery and it was very good. Choice of meats, loads of different veg including cauliflower in a sauce, fresh carrots, fresh broccolli mashed swede and carrot, runner beans, peas and gravy to die for. At £6.95.
If you are a child or pensioner you can get a smaller plate which cost you less. £3.95.
The sweets are home made.
If you dont fancy a carvery there are other options.
THey are open for food from 12 pm til 9pm EVERY DAY.
NIce comfortable seats and spaciously placed.
Quite impressed.
THe only 2 item I was disappointed with was that the roast potatoes were a little greasy and I think they forgot to cook the cabbage, but otherwise lovely.
Very busy lunchtimes so advise to book.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolg1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    20
    4
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beutiful Traditional Cooking”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Visiting family in the area I was taken to The Beckwood having heard tremendous reviews. The service was charming and polite and the food was homemade, delicious and brilliant value. I would recommend anyone and everyone to visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Regular, never been disappointed”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Since Mike took over last year the place has transformed into something special. Great food everyday, great service, great vibe and well priced. You wont find a better local pub around the area that serves quality food with a great atmosphere! Ive been a local drinker for 15 years and this is the best the Beckwood has been.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveWright316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Value!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

After a long wait we now have a local that feels like a second home! Mike & Sandra are awesome. As well as a welcoming friendly atmosphere, the food is fantastic and you won't get better value for money locally. Curry night (Wed) is brilliant and,if you like a big meal, try the carvery (Thu & Sun) for a huge plateful at a great price. Try it, you won't be disappointed :-)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TigerSteve1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scunthorpe
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you like proper home cooked food at good value you will love this place”
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

I have eaten here on many occasions, hosted family meals, had the curry night, carvery and bar menu and I have never been disappointed.

I appreciate one person may of had a bad experience but I have been regularly and also on Mother's Day and i could never complain.

The staff are friendly and welcoming and can never do to much. Even when we ask for bar nibbles at 9pm :-)

To me this is a must eat venue

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wrightmoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beckwood also viewed

Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
 
Scunthorpe, Lincolnshire
Messingham, Scunthorpe
 

Been to The Beckwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing