We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are terrible, service is a word, local area is not Disneyland.”
Review of Hotel Clamart

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Clamart
Ranked #9 of 12 Scunthorpe B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Arrived to not an enthusiastic welcome plus there was a smell of disinfectant on your entry to the building. I was given a small single room with an old style tv that was not mounted to its wall bracket with cables hanging loose. I complained, and given another room with someones clothes hanging up in the wardrobe.Do your best to find somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slyarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2013

Clean and comfortable two of the three most important things for a hotel. The other? Quite is a good requirement. Noise from outside is fairly low. But noise from the room next door is not so good and you can hear the television next door not loudly but it is there. But please don' let that stop you from staying at this hotel. The car park is in fact a pay and display one that is free after six at night so be warned. All in all I would have no problem in returning there. They do have free wifi. Oh yes there is another good security point the police station is just behind the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daves_b4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I stayed here on business for 2 nights whilst attending a conference in a much bigger local hotel that was fully booked. Whilst the exterior does not impress the interior bar/dining area is bright and airy and a little quirky. All staff that I met were friendly and helpful. I didn't eat in at night but the breakfast was good and arrived quickly after placing my order. My room was clean and comfortable, views to the rear of the building across a flat roof of an office block and police station but the area was quiet, particularly as the weather during my stay was hot and I needed the windows open at night. The bathroom was a shower only and very small but served it's purpose. Parking is a public car park opposite the hotel which is free at off peak times. Worth noting is the fact that next door is a very attractive looking pub. First of all don't mistake this for the hotel as I did, however the landlord couldn't have been more helpful in directing me next door, however the pub has very nice gardens for a drink in the summer and I assume does food also.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Not the most impressive attractive building from the outside but very clean & functional inside. The staff can't do enough for you very impressed with their desire to please. I only stayed for 1 night but found it very good value perfect for a base if you were working or just visiting the area. Parking is across the road in a public car park and free between 6pm & 8am.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mozzyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Came to the town to visit family and stayed 2 nights. The room was light and airy. Breakfast was a plentiful buffet and hot breakfasts were cooked to order. As we visited family we did not have dinner in the restaurant. The staff were friendly and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
During my stay I managed to cut my foot quite deeply which required a visit to the local hospital. The staff called for an ambulance and when it didn't arrive they arranged for a taxi to take me there. I would like to thank David, the owner, Neil and Helen for all their kind help and assistance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suziesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Travelled to Scuthorpe to visit 20 21 Gallery exhibition and stayed at Clamart. The food (steak pie) was excellent and the hotel is very convenient for the town centre. The landlord was also very friendly and welcoming too. Would recommend to others visiting the town!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharonsimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

This was probably once quite a vibrant place, and probably a bit of a radical concept on someone's part a few years ago. How about a bistro with rooms! In Scunthorpe! Quite a good idea actually and pretty well done originally in a basic but last, last season IKEA-ish kind of way. But if it was a bit top-end once, it really feels down at heel and past its sell by date now . The staff are pleasant. The breakfast is fine. But the place just feels bleak and unloved. And it's marooned in a not-particularly-nice location, frequented by people like me who gave it the merest of glances on its website and thought 'that'll do'. It's not expensive either, for Scunthorpe. But when you get there the first reaction is a downbeat kind of 'Oh.....'. And the second is, 'Will any bits of the car still be in the car park by morning?' (They were).

I arrived very late after a very long drive and the room I was given (no. 2) was big enough but very cold with damp, flaking patches around the windows and on the wall. The partition walls are very thin and sound travels from adjoining bathrooms - so you get to share your neighbours' nocturnal tinklings, and worse. The IKEA prints and furniture are depressing and ever so functional. My bed had a squidgy, memory foam kind of mattress which felt weird but wasn't particularly uncomfortable, or comfortable. Just odd. Squidgy is not what I'm after in a mattress.

So, it was all a bit depressing all round and I moved to another hotel. But I do recommend the San Pietro restaurant in Scunthorpe. A pearl in the oyster that is Scunthorpe.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TorchlightLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scunthorpe hotels
0.0 mi away
Larchwood Hotel
Larchwood Hotel
#3 of 12 in Scunthorpe
19 reviews
6.7 mi away
Budleigh House
Budleigh House
#1 of 1 in Susworth
90 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal
The Royal
#4 of 4 in Scunthorpe
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Scunthorpe Hotel
0.4 mi away
Wortley House Hotel
Wortley House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Scunthorpe
152 reviews
0.5 mi away
San Pietro Hotel
San Pietro Hotel
#1 of 12 in Scunthorpe
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Clamart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Clamart

Address: 7 Shelford Street, Scunthorpe DN15 6NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Scunthorpe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Scunthorpe
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New family owned hotel in town centre, spacious and comfortable rooms, WIFI, digibox, bar and bistro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Hotel Clamart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing