We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub, lovely staff, fabulous food”

The Bustard Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Sleaford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £9 - £40
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Set in the peaceful Lincolnshire village of South Rauceby, just a couple of miles from Sleaford, The Bustard Inn is a beautiful Grade II listed Victorian building offering a warm, safe, friendly environment in which to enjoy fine dining in the spacious, well-ventilated restaurant or simply relaxing with a beer & sandwich in the bar or garden. A family-run business, we boast exceptional chefs who creatively offer up standout dishes across lunch, evening and Sunday services, as well as bespoke menus for our weddings & events. We cater for all appetites and dietary restrictions and source our food from local suppliers and flavours from our very own herb garden. Award-winning, we hold an AA Rosette and won Lincolnshire Restaurant of the Year 2021, voted for by the readers of Lincolnshire Pride. However you choose to spend your time with us – individually, with family, friends or as a party – our approachable front-of-house team will make you feel relaxed and very welcome.
Reviewed 20 September 2020

We have been to The Bustard for many post Dog walk drinks in the past and often commented on how delicious the Sunday lunches look. After seeing a full beer garden last weekend we decided to book in and have a post Dog walk lunch Instead of just a drink, and were in no way disappointed. The food was delicious- perfect sized portions and cooked beautifully. The Eton mess cheesecake is glorious and I’d have given this restaurant 5* purely for that. Even though it was very busy the staff were attentive, polite and very mindful of the social distancing etiquette without making it clinical. All in all, we had a wonderful lunch in lovely surroundings and will return many more times in the future.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Natty0103
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2020 via mobile

Hadn’t been to this restaurant since the beginning of COVID-19 lunch didn’t seem to be as good as previous visits although we think it may be new owners . COVID-19 safety quite good with one way system and well spaced tables although only some staff wore face masks. Service good and polite

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank philp580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
602LJL, Owner at The Bustard Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2020

Dear Sir
Thank you for taking time to write a review, both on your previous visit to us last year and from your experience yesterday. I will email you directly.
Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2020 via mobile

A lovely evening to celebrate my Mum’s 60th birthday. Lesley and staff made sure that the atmosphere was relaxed and safe. We all enjoyed it! Thank you. Food great as usual!

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank ThomKD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 September 2020 via mobile

Came here last night for dinner, nice friendly staff and good greeting.

Followed the covid-19 guidelines well!

Sat down at a lovely table of two overlooking the whole restaurant, wine list was well set out and very reasonably priced, catering for most people.
We ordered the panacotta and pigs cheek terrine, both were ok!
My only gripe is that the panacotta could have had the ingredients incorporated more, served in a glass, sprinkled with canned sweetcorn and some hot slices of chilli.

We then had the Hake Fish of the Day with crab rissotto, lovely fresh fish, crispy skin and velvety crab..... beautiful!

The chicken was ok, served with basil gnocchi, chicken was nicely cooked, however the hake was that good I wish we ordered two portions.

The dessert choice was crumble served with a ginger custard, nice way to finish the meal.

Overall a nice restaurant, friendly staff, good wine list and decent choices,

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank food4thoughtakq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2020 via mobile

Was out walking and came across this beautiful village pub. Excellent standards, fantastic service and delicious food! Save space for desserts - compliments to the chef!
Special thanks to Lesley and the team for such a warm welcome and service. Thank you for all you do in what is such difficult times. We will be back!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank aartitailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Bustard Inn & Restaurant also viewed

 
Grantham, Lincolnshire
 

Been to The Bustard Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.