We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fantastic dining experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winteringham Fields
Ranked #1 of 2 Winteringham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Another fantastic dining experience!!!!”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have to say that our visit to Winteringham Fields today was another fantastic dining experience.This is our third visit since our daughters wedding reception there this summer.
From entering to leaving we were amazed by the very attentive,polite and courteous staff who contributed to the excellent food.
We had the Winter four course dinner menu followed by what must be the biggest cheese board selection I have ever seen.!!!!The Swiss Waitress who served us from the trolley [sorry name unknown] took great pride in describing every cheese available.
I had Pumpkin Soup with truffle and mushroom...simply amazing!!! followed by red mullet in a chorizo foam and then Roast Quail for Mains. This standard of cuisine is amazing value for the money we paid..
The food is simply amazing and I cannot recommend it highly enough.....The preparation and presentation is also a massive Wow factor. The ambience and surroundings together with the very attentive staff have made this a fantastic and memorable dining experience. .
Thank you very much Colin to you and your staff for another amazing dining experience.

We are now busily planning our Christmas visit and looking with great anticipation at the Christmas Menu........we cannot wait to return!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenBenjami19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wintfields, Owner at Winteringham Fields, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your very kind and detailed review. Your comments about my staff are very encouraging, and I shall pass on your kind words. We do take great pride in our cheese board here at Winteringham Fields and It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed it so, along with your menu. I am glad that we made your day one to remember and I look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the Christmas menu.

Regards

Colin McGurran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    39
    18
    8
    4
See reviews for
21
173
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winterton
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We decided to visit the Winteringham Fields restaurant after watching Colin McGurran on BBC's Saturday Kitchen. The 6 course surprise menu was amazing, so full of flavour and a real treat! Recommended

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Rossi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wintfields, Owner at Winteringham Fields, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your review. It’s a pleasure to hear you enjoyed your menu, and I do hope to welcome you back to Winteringham Fields in the not too distant future.

Regards

Colin McGurran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
162 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Booked an overnight stay for my Husband 50th Birthday. Stayed in the Turpin room, which was a couple of minutes walk away from the restaurant. Room nice but definitely not worth the £180 it cost. Cobwebs on the light fitting, bin broken. We have stayed at other well known chefs accommodation and this what not in the same league,but cost the same!! Only one biscuit(not even home-made) each to go with the instant tea/coffee & Long life milk. I think this need addressing. Nice toiletries. We had very noisy neighbours who insisted on playing loud music both in the evening and early Sunday morning.
Breakfast - continental was included in the room price, but not a good breakfast. Not much choice, and more pre package. My husband paid an additional £18 for eggs Benedict, which was rather pricey and not the best he has tasted.

The service and attention in the restaurant was faultless.
We had a glass of pink champagne at a cost of £18 each, but thought we would treat ourselves.
We chose the surprise menu with wine pairing and can not fault anything. It was sublime.
It would have been nicer to have been given a little more time between the courses. to let things digest a little. The ambience in the restaurant was a little strange. A bit stuffy. Felt like you had to whisper!
All in all we had a lovely evening. Would we return? probably not. The cost was more than we have paid for staying & eating at a 2 Michelin star restaurant.
Would recommend for others to try if a foodie!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarterFamily5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wintfields, Owner at Winteringham Fields, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Thank you for your detailed review, it is very much appreciated.
It’s such a shame to hear that you did not find your room to be of a high standard, as this is one of our most requested suits. We try to accommodate for all guest therefore this is the reason we supply tea and coffee to the rooms, we would have been more than happy to prepare some homemade biscuits or pastries for you had they been requested. I apologise profusely that your neighbours disturbed you, but again if we had been made aware we would have resolved the situation instantly on your behalf. Our continental breakfasts consist of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, breads and homemade pastries which I believe to be more than adequate considering we are a restaurant with rooms and not a hotel. Your comments regarding the menu and service are very kind. All our wine is carefully selected to compliment the flavours of each course, and I am pleased you found this to be the case. I do hope you will not write us off just yet and that we may welcome you back to Winteringham Fields in the future.

Regards

Colin McGurran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed one night here and had a evening meal. The food is excellent taster menu is exstensive with an amazing cheese trolly where you can pick cheeses from all over the world! The staff are friendly and helpfull. The rooms are very cosy and have a lovely comfie bed. The breakfast is exceptional, silver service everything you could want !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We recently stayed for two nights here and enjoyed some outstanding food and wines. The tasting menu was delightful, original and witty, and the a la carte, the following evening, yielded some extra taste experiences too. The mi cuit salmon, the spatzl, the liver parfait, the pre dessert mouthful, the quail.......We have left inspired and very well fed! Luckily we were walking with our dog so earned every mouthful! It is a remote and less visited part of Lincolnshire but well worth the detour.
Our bedroom was comfortable but lacked the usual plug socket, mirror and chair, all in the same place, which is a basic for drying your hair. Otherwise, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was great too. However it is for the wonderful dinners and their accompanying wines that we shall return! Even the dinner bread was wonderful (but please serve it at breakfast instead of the sliced cardboard).
We will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I treated some family members to the 6-course tasting menu for Saturday lunch. We had been once before and were looking forward to our return visit to share with our family who had never been. WF did not disappoint. We enjoyed a relaxed aperitif in one of the snugs where my brother and I tried the caviar and smoked salmon entrée. This set the standard for the rest of the meal, which from course one through 6 were sublime. We took-on the cheeseboard to finish, followed by retiring to a different snug for coffee and petit-fours - both of which we highly recommend. As with our previous visit, the service was truly outstanding. As their website describes, it was discreet and understated, delivered by attentive and knowledgable staff. Truly special. This place, led by head chef Colin McGurran is a real gem in rural Lincolnshire, which although highly recommended with its five AA Rosettes, is surely only a matter of time away from a first Michelin Star. The only question remaining in my mind is why it has to rely so heavily on its association with discount websites such as Vouchercloud, Living Social and Groupon. Is this iconic Lincolnshire establishment in need of a better PR / Marketing campaign?  Thanks for a superb meal WF, we will be back. 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Scunnymatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Our room was in the main building and was certainly comfortable with appealingly traditional decor but with benefits such as spa bath.

It is hard to be critical of WF, the staff are pleasant, efficient and knowledgeable. The standards are very high and we look forward to staying and dining again.

Can restaurant staff be too efficient? We had the taster menu and enjoyed the whole experience but I would suggest that the kitchen somehow slows down the evening. There are a lot of delicious tastes but they followed in such quick succession that there was barely time to appreciate the previous dish before the next arrived.

A moan. The room rate makes it clear that a cooked breakfast is extra -£18 as I recall. With a bill of several hundred pounds it just seems a bit tardy - better to hide it in the room rate. This is rural Lincolnshire not Royal Berkshire.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dazler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winteringham
5.3 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Hull
Hallmark Hotel Hull
#1 of 1 in North Ferriby
1,008 reviews
7.8 mi away
Village Hotel Club Hull
Village Hotel Club Hull
#3 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
1,078 reviews
9.6 mi away
Forest Pines Hotel & Golf Resort - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Cave Castle Hotel & Country Club
15.2 mi away
Beverley Tickton Grange Hotel
11.1 mi away
Kingston Theatre Hotel
Kingston Theatre Hotel
#2 of 18 in Kingston-upon-Hull
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winteringham Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winteringham Fields

Property: Winteringham Fields
Address: 1 Silver Street, Winteringham DN15 9ND, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Winteringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winteringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Winteringham Fields 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winteringham Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winteringham Fields Hotel Winteringham
Fields Hotel Winteringham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing