We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Austwick Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Austwick Hall
Ranked #4 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

the hall is lovely,but that is all.The evening meal was aweful.The starter was a teaspoon of mixed mushrooms on a hard blini.The main course not much better,the vegetables were hard,noticed other diners saying same,then had to wait over ten minutes for cheese board.No hairdryer in room.room cold had to have a bath early in morning as no heating on. Breakfast was even worse.one piece of fatty underdone bacon,one geasy sausage(cheap) one over cooked fried egg and underdone hard toatst.other diner mentioned mixed berries at breakfast were still frozen. will not go back as overpriced .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Louisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    5
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013

Stayed for (unfortunately) just one night in the beautiful Blue Room. It's as lovely as the website and will definitely return. Michael and Eric are excellent hosts, the food and service were very good, all the rooms are tastefully decorated with a multitude of interesting artefacts to look at, the snowdrop walk in their wood is pretty, I could go on... - book and go!

Room Tip: The Blue Room is beautiful - large and stunning; fab bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Bern, North Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Austwick Hall and were blown away. We had come to Austwick to trace some of my wife's family history and had no idea what to expect in such a small village. We were greeted by Eric and Michael and they brought us into a fabulously decorated house, warmed our bones with a pot of tea, and led us to a fabulous room. The Blue Room was amazing. So much space, a fantastic bathroom. The bed was lovely and gave a fantastic night's sleep. It was like a second honeymoon! Eric and Michael found out the reason for our visit and pointed out the walk to Clapham would have been how my wife's family would have traveled for christenings, weddings, funerals, and the like. We took the walk through some lovely snow-covered countryside, and when we returned, the gentlemen had pulled out the old estate records and showed us how my wife's family worked for the family that lived in the Hall. On top of that, they took us to a high window in the house to show us where the farm was. That is definitely what I call above and beyond the call of duty. We were so glad that we came here and would love to be back sometime!

Room Tip: The Blue Room is large, spacious, the furniture is comfortable and you feel like the Lord of the Man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2012

Our second trip to Austwick Hall was just as good as the first. The whole place is beautifully appointed with period furniture, sculptures and rugs and has a wonderful tranquil ambience. The gardens are also lovely, but poor weather meant we didn't have much chance to explore them. However, the stoves are lovely and warm if it's a cold day, especially if armed with a dram of whisky. Both evening meals and breakfast are of the highest quality. Service is friendly and attentive, but not overbearing.

Room Tip: The Blue Room is large and beautifully and tastefully decorated, with a great roll-top tub in the hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon9991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stayed here for one night following our Wedding. The place is a magical and quirky house furnished with Victorian furniture, we loved it.

We were greeted by Michael upon our arrival who was gracious, gave us a tour of the Hall and then tea and biscuits.

We stayed in the Four Poster Room which was clean, simarly furnished with a mis match of Victorian furniture and a lovely COMFY bed.

The bathroom was clean, of a high standard and very well stocked with luxury toiletries.

The gardens are lovely though we didn't manage to do the walk around the sculptures in the wood.

Breakfast was of a good quality with plenty of options though more choice of cereal would have been appreciated.

We didn't have an evening meal at the Hall so we can't comment, but the food served at the nearby Game Cock Inn was delicious. NOTE the walk back can be quite dark, torch recommended.

We are definately planning on returning to the wonderful place and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: We were delighted in the Four Poster Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake District
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Needed a night away to totally chill and found The Hall on line. Coffe and biscuits on arrival in a stunning drawing room followed by a stroll in the gardens. We stayed in the blue room, which we would highly recommend, and spent a fantasticly relaxing time pampering ourselves in the wonderful bathroom before going down for pre dinner drinks. Dinner was a very relaxed affair with perfectly cooked food delivered in a cheerful and professional way. A super breakfast, served at a sensible time and to walk some of it off, a stroll around the sculpture trail. Austwick Hall is a gem and you couldn't wish for better hosts. We will definitley return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batleybanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
Level Contributor
200 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Our first visit, and a more elegant B&B would be hard to find. Michael and Eric are very gracious and interesting hosts - happy to chat if you wish, but equally happy to stay in the background and just let you relax and enjoy the surroundings. We stayed two nights in the Blue Room and dined in on both evenings - the food was lovely - well cooked and tasty, supplemented by a nice wine list. Breakfast was also excellent.
Take time to wander round the gardens and chat to their two Shetland ponies - they also having an interesting sculpture walk in the woods which we enjoyed, and if you've got the energy walk to the very top of the woods for some lovely views. They are close to Malham and all its waterfalls and wonderful walks, so ideally placed for exploring that area of Yorkshire. There are also plenty of walks straight from their door if wished. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlummyDorking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.3 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
4.7 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
13.1 mi away
Stirk House Hotel
Stirk House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Gisburn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
8.9 mi away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austwick Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austwick Hall

Property: Austwick Hall
Address: Town Head | Via Lancaster, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Austwick Hall Hotel Austwick
Austwick Hall Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing