We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday weekend stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite
Washington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Bank holiday weekend stay”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay here. The site itself is lovely very flat and well drained it rained most of our stay and we had no problems. The couple who manage the site are lovely very friendly and work extremely hard they are a credit to Dalesbridge. I have rated as average for one reason only the showers toilets which are combined need upgrading urgently they made our stay unpleasant. They were constantly being cleaned but they are difficult to use very little space to move around and difficult to get ready again as the floor is soaking. They are old and tired and as always other visitors fail to clean up after themselves which is not the sites fault. There are no curtains or blinds at the windows and as they are unisex I felt uncomfortable using them people trying the door even when its shut and locked unnerved me. The site was totally quiet after 11pm there was also a shop and bar although we didnt use these. I personally wouldnt return unless the facilites were upgraded but the site itself and the managers lovely, nice to see such great customer service they clearly enjoy their jobs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarabell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    10
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Used this place twice in the last few months.
CAMPING :- Camped once and bunked once. The camp site is flat, and i had a relatively good nights sleep considering the weather conditions. Sheltered from wind by the walls, and a short walk to the showers and toilets. Its been mentioned before that teh showers were cold, although they were not piping hot, they were certainly warm enough to wahs away the sweat from a long walk in the hills.
BUNKS :- On my second trip, I used the one of the bunk houses.They were fit for purpose and very comfortable. Bed had a fitted sheet and a covered pillow, so all i needed was my sleeping bag. Had a good nights sleep in here too. Although the bunks are a bit dated, they are certainly just right. I may even use a larger one for a group of scouts in teh future if I can get enough interest from the group. The bunk house had an ensuite shower and toilet, although I didnt use the shower, Im sure it would of been fine. There was a microwave and kettle available, but i opted to use my gas stove for brekky.. The heater only came on when the motion sensor activated, so if i was cold in teh night, i just gave a wave of my hand..

Price wise, slightly higher than other bunk houses in the area for solo hikers, but the camp site was very reasonably priced.

On the whole a very good stay both times and will be using them again in the near future.. Ive already booked for my July three peaks challenge..

5 stars i think for this one..

Room Tip: Theyre pretty much all the same so it depends on your group size.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We took over the main house on a self catering basis for our large group (adults, kids of wide age range and dogs) over new year and had a wonderful time. The house exceeded our expectations. We couldn't believe how lucky we'd been to find such a great fit at such a good price. The bedrooms (all with en suites...what a god send with so many in the house) were clean, warm and comfortable. The communal rooms were comfortable rather that smart - perfect for us as it meant we didn't have to watch the children every moment and worry. The location was excellent with walking routes (suggestions provided by the management) from the doorstep. Easy walking distance to Austwick and a nice pub with great food. The management team could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful. When we needed larger pans and more oven space for our New Year's Eve feast they raided other kitchens and even offered use of their own oven. This isn't the place to go if you are looking for 5 star luxury but is perfect if you want somewhere friendly and relaxing to stay. We're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmonty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

After a hard cold day waking the Yorkshire peaks, I was looking forward to relaxing and having a warm shower ..
This seemed an expectation too far .. We arrived and had a 100 metre dash to the bunk house in the dark as there were no lights .. Upon our arrival, bunk house 2 felt colder then attic conditions
. The heating didn't work and the shower would have frozen hell over .. Trying to get hold of the staff was near impossible . After hunting them down they gave us a heater which wouldn't / couldn't warm up a cardboard box .
About 30 phone calls to them later they finally picked up and seemed surprised that the heater / boiler wasn't working .. Give them there credit when I stated I wanted to move rooms they did and at least we were able to get hot water.

I didn't expect the ritz but basic amenities and clean ( hair free) sheets would have been a good start.
I wouldn't and won't recommend this lodge to other people . I have stayed in other hostels around the same price and have received a better service .

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonlad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon B, Manager at Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for your recent review.

I am sorry that you were not entirely happy with your stay at Dalesbridge, we all try to provide the best service for all of our guests and I can only extend my biggest apologies that your stay did not reach all your expectations.

Unfortunately during your stay we experienced problems with our new boiler, despite regular and recent professional servicing, again we can only apologise. We provided an additional heater when requested and on realising that the boiler had failed immediately upgraded you to another warm larger bunk house.

We can understand that our dark rural setting can feel intimidating to some of our urban guests but feel that it is part of the areas charm. Local villages do not even have street lighting, despite this we do have exterior lights on all our buildings.

Kind Regards,

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Really helpful and friendly staff. Rooms were really clean on arrival and the breakfasts were lovely. In the bed and breakfast. I've also stayed in the bunk houses which were also to a high standard of cleanliness.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Dalesbridge is in a great location. Friendly and helpful staff on arrival and check in who showed us to our pitch and then around the site. They also recommended where to go and visit and the best places to eat locally. At the time we were the site was quiet with ample toilet and showers which although not the most modern amenity on site served the purpose. Plenty of hot water. Would I return yes fantastic views, great pitches and friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaJP10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedale, England
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2013

My stay here was extremley enjoyable. The toilet and showers were immaculatley cleaned as was the kitchen. The staff were wonderful and very helpful during our stay and always had a smile on their faces! There was also lovely walks in the area with some incredible views. I'd recommend this establishment 100% !!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockyrobin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
592 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalesbridge House
Dalesbridge House
#19 of 20 in Settle
40 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orcaber Farm Caravan & Camping Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#2 of 6 in Austwick
84 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite

Property: Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite
Address: Dalesbridge, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Austwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group bookings for up to 40 people or individual Bunkhouse bookings are a great accommodation offer that gives you all the views and delights of camping, but with your own toilet and shower, plus electricity, a bed and heating! Ideal for large groups, school groups, D of E groups, friends or family bookings. The Dalesbridge Bunk Houses offer both individual and group self catering accommodation here in the Yorkshire Dales, Forest of Bowland area. They are positioned with an open and sunny aspect, overlooking the nearby fells and limestone crags. There is ample hard standing outside the bunkhouses - useful for loading and unloading. Vehicles may be left here overnight, allowing easy access for when you want to get out and take the 'Three Peaks Challenge', explore Settle, the Ingleton Waterfalls, Caves and nearby attractions. Here at Dalesbridge we have four 6-bed Bunk Houses and four 4-bed Bunk Houses, each adjoining the other. Each of the Bunk Houses has its own individual shower and toilet. Utilising all the Bunk Houses will provide accommodation for up to 40 people, in compact well equipped units. Ideal for large groups who may also want to take advantage of our function facilities. The 6-bed units have a kitchen area with a free standing cooker with oven, fridge, separate washing-up sink and en-suite shower and toilet. All crockery, cutlery and cooking pots are provided. There is a seating area in each of the rooms, where you can relax and dine. The 4-bed units have en-suite shower and toilet as well as toasters, kettles and microwaves; perfect for the smaller group or family bookings. Groups and individuals normally bring their own sleeping bags or bedding, however bedding packs and towels can be hired if required.Camping is also available for groups and individuals, some pitches have electric hookup and all are flat and well drained. There is ample hot water in the modern showers with undercover wash up areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing