We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who knew i liked the outdoors - great value accomodation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
northwich
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Who knew i liked the outdoors - great value accomodation”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is the first time I've stayed in a bunkhouse (or been on a walking weekend to be honest) and I have to say i was pleasantly surprised. It was a very spacious room with 6 beds (in bunk bed style) around the edge along with a table, kitchen, seating area and our own bathroom. It was all very clean and well kept and while not the most attractive looking accommodation from the outside it was perfect for the needs of our group - 12 work colleagues on an impromptu get-away.

Although we had our shower and bathroom in the bunkhouse i preferred to use the communal facilities as there was more separation between the toilet and shower and less chance of soaking all your clothes. Some of these facilities are a little tired and have clearly been very well used but it's clean and functional and better than several of the camp sites I've stayed at before. The water also seemed to be warmer there too. The kitchen was very well equipped.

The site is very well maintained and there's lots of plots for camping/caravans too. The staff were super friendly and helpful and we were able to hire a BBQ for our last night which let us make the most of the gorgeous weather. The weather turned the next day and I can honestly say that staying in a bunkhouse (eg a building) rather than being under canvas was very much appreciated,

The location is perfect - very close to a wide variety of walks including Ingleborough, one of the Yorkshire dales' three peaks, and easy to find by car (less than an hour off the M6) It's situated just outside a lovely little village called Austwick where there was a great pub (The Game Cock) with a gastro-pub type food and a general convenience store. You can also buy essentials on site too.

I'd definitely go back - great value, beautiful location, friendly staff and good facilities. All you need for an outdoorsy-adventure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thestrother36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    18
    9
    5
    6
See reviews for
16
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have just returned from a three night stay at Dalesbridge. The pitch we were given was well sheltered and the drainage was good. It had to be really as it rained heavily for most of the time we were there! The staff were friendly, helpful, but not too intrusive. The location itself is brilliant with a half mile walk to the really quaint local pub.

The camp facilities are great for the price with hot showers available anytime. The showers and toilets were cleaned daily and the site it's self is very well kept and clean.

There is also a small shop, cycle storage facility and Bar on the site. I can't comment on these facilities as I didn't use any of them.

We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Nice campsite with amazing views great location for a good walks. We walked Ingleton falls and it's 5 minute drive.
Dog friendly family friendly site.
The showers are free and warm get in early before the hot water runs out! We would go back again

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SARITA O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Camped here as a base for Y3P challenge. Found the team running the site very helpful, especially as I seemed to be ringing every other week changing the number of pitches needed.
On my arrival they had sorted area for us all to be together and were happy for my one late arrival to just pitch up and sort out paying in the morning.
Toilets and showers are about average for this type of site, the showers had plenty of hot water and not rationed or charged extra for.
I enjoyed the rural setting and found the facilities more than adequate. The surrounding area is fantastic and this is a good base to explore from, lots of local walks.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRKEITH2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We camped here for four nights in July. The owners are friendly and very helpful and nothing seemed to much trouble. I wanted to rate this site three and half out of five as it was better than average. The only reasons I didn't give it five was the bar was not open any of the four nights when were there which was probably because the site was not busy, also the toilets and showers were ok but could have been cleaner however I have seen a lot worse. Lovely walks and quaint little villages in the area. Food at the New Inn pub in clapham and the game cock in austwick were nice overall a lovely camping trip and would return to this site if in the area.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lynda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed in a number of hostels when cycling and overall I would say this was the best.
Good sized building to lock the bikes in, large rooms, well maintained, good beds and mattresses, good showers.
Would say that the owners were helpful and had a smile on their faces.
Would stay there when not cycling too if I was around these parts again.

Also recommend the local pub - 5 mins walk away, The Game Cock, great food, beer and friendly locals.

Room Tip: We were in tunstall I think, a good twin room, great beds, good shower, warm and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_30something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend stay here. The site itself is lovely very flat and well drained it rained most of our stay and we had no problems. The couple who manage the site are lovely very friendly and work extremely hard they are a credit to Dalesbridge. I have rated as average for one reason only the showers toilets which are combined need upgrading urgently they made our stay unpleasant. They were constantly being cleaned but they are difficult to use very little space to move around and difficult to get ready again as the floor is soaking. They are old and tired and as always other visitors fail to clean up after themselves which is not the sites fault. There are no curtains or blinds at the windows and as they are unisex I felt uncomfortable using them people trying the door even when its shut and locked unnerved me. The site was totally quiet after 11pm there was also a shop and bar although we didnt use these. I personally wouldnt return unless the facilites were upgraded but the site itself and the managers lovely, nice to see such great customer service they clearly enjoy their jobs.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarabell73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
4.4 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Clarendon Inn
Clarendon Inn
#3 of 4 in Hebden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dalesbridge House
Dalesbridge House
#19 of 20 in Settle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite

Property: Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite
Address: Dalesbridge, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Austwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Group bookings for up to 40 people or individual Bunkhouse bookings are a great accommodation offer that gives you all the views and delights of camping, but with your own toilet and shower, plus electricity, a bed and heating! Ideal for large groups, school groups, D of E groups, friends or family bookings. The Dalesbridge Bunk Houses offer both individual and group self catering accommodation here in the Yorkshire Dales, Forest of Bowland area. They are positioned with an open and sunny aspect, overlooking the nearby fells and limestone crags. There is ample hard standing outside the bunkhouses - useful for loading and unloading. Vehicles may be left here overnight, allowing easy access for when you want to get out and take the 'Three Peaks Challenge', explore Settle, the Ingleton Waterfalls, Caves and nearby attractions. Here at Dalesbridge we have four 6-bed Bunk Houses and four 4-bed Bunk Houses, each adjoining the other. Each of the Bunk Houses has its own individual shower and toilet. Utilising all the Bunk Houses will provide accommodation for up to 40 people, in compact well equipped units. Ideal for large groups who may also want to take advantage of our function facilities. The 6-bed units have a kitchen area with a free standing cooker with oven, fridge, separate washing-up sink and en-suite shower and toilet. All crockery, cutlery and cooking pots are provided. There is a seating area in each of the rooms, where you can relax and dine. The 4-bed units have en-suite shower and toilet as well as toasters, kettles and microwaves; perfect for the smaller group or family bookings. Groups and individuals normally bring their own sleeping bags or bedding, however bedding packs and towels can be hired if required.Camping is also available for groups and individuals, some pitches have electric hookup and all are flat and well drained. There is ample hot water in the modern showers with undercover wash up areas. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dalesbridge Bunkhouses & Campsite Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing