We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bikers welcome”
Review of Game Cock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Game Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
W Yorks
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bikers welcome”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here on the first leg of our journey on the Way of the Roses cycle route. We arrived to find the place shut and no one around to contact , but it wasnt raining and the guy apologised as his car had broken down. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy just lacked the little niceities that some places provide. Had to share the bathroom but that wasnt a problem as it was next to our room although it was a little noisy at times. We ate in and the food was brilliant, we were looked after by a young man that served on behind the bar, took orders for meals, served them and took the time to see if you were ok what a gem.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NettyWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    29
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
47
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for one night after previously eating here a few years back when staying at Dalesbridge up the road.

For the price the rooms are spacious, clean and bed was comfy. It is a shared bathroom although this wasn't a problem as we were the only ones staying.

The staff are great and food is amazing. Also they have a good selection of beers. The only real gripe is that it closes in the afternoon. We went walking and was caught in terrential rain so headed back at 4pm to find the pub closed and nobody was in. We had to wait in a nearby bus shelter to keep dry.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bradford_d_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Stayed for 2 night while doing some hillwalking in the Yorkshire Dales. The Game Cock surpassed all expectations. The rooms are far more comfortable than the price would suggest, all of the staff proved to be incredibly friendly and attentive and the food is impressive.

I would recommend the Game Cock to anyone who likes good food and beer in a friendly, relaxed and comfortable environment. Add to this the picturesque village in which it is located and the outstanding natural beauty that surrounds it on all sides and this place is hard to beat!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3peakswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2010

For £25 b+b for v.friendly french folk , lovely room and breakfast in great walking location
we will be regular visitors and recommmend linking this in with great food which we did on the new year special

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
590 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
533 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
337 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
311 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Royal Oak
The Royal Oak
#15 of 20 in Settle
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Game Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Game Cock Inn

Property: Game Cock Inn
Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Game Cock Inn Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing