We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good meal”
Review of Game Cock Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Game Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Eric and staff have not failed again. We had a very enjoyable meal with good attentive staff, traditional French and English all served with pan ash, the plates are a pleasure to the eye as well as the pallet. Good Thawtes Ale and a nice Rio cha was the icing on the cake. We will be back..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaimlerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 122 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Arrived early and as it was a Monday the pub was shut.A local told us where the landlord lived ,but wasn't in.Fortunetly it was a nice day(we had cycled) The rooms were clean and roomy but we had to share a bathroom.It just lacked a few personal little touches .The food in the pub was good The young barman was marvalous.He serverd drinks, took food orders, served the food,cleared the tables all the time being pleasant.Austwick is a pleasant village lovely cottages nice walks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnes54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed here on the first leg of our journey on the Way of the Roses cycle route. We arrived to find the place shut and no one around to contact , but it wasnt raining and the guy apologised as his car had broken down. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy just lacked the little niceities that some places provide. Had to share the bathroom but that wasnt a problem as it was next to our room although it was a little noisy at times. We ate in and the food was brilliant, we were looked after by a young man that served on behind the bar, took orders for meals, served them and took the time to see if you were ok what a gem.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NettyWYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed here for one night after previously eating here a few years back when staying at Dalesbridge up the road.

For the price the rooms are spacious, clean and bed was comfy. It is a shared bathroom although this wasn't a problem as we were the only ones staying.

The staff are great and food is amazing. Also they have a good selection of beers. The only real gripe is that it closes in the afternoon. We went walking and was caught in terrential rain so headed back at 4pm to find the pub closed and nobody was in. We had to wait in a nearby bus shelter to keep dry.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradford_d_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Stayed for 2 night while doing some hillwalking in the Yorkshire Dales. The Game Cock surpassed all expectations. The rooms are far more comfortable than the price would suggest, all of the staff proved to be incredibly friendly and attentive and the food is impressive.

I would recommend the Game Cock to anyone who likes good food and beer in a friendly, relaxed and comfortable environment. Add to this the picturesque village in which it is located and the outstanding natural beauty that surrounds it on all sides and this place is hard to beat!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3peakswalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2010

For £25 b+b for v.friendly french folk , lovely room and breakfast in great walking location
we will be regular visitors and recommmend linking this in with great food which we did on the new year special

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lancasterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
609 reviews
1.5 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
556 reviews
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
321 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
507 reviews
5.9 mi away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Game Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Game Cock Inn

Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Price Range: £83 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Game Cock Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Game Cock Inn Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing