We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home from home”

Review of Moughton Cottage

Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Moughton Cottage - a beautiful, bright cottage with many original features and all modern comforts
spacious lounge with cosy log burner and comfy sofas to sink into after a long walk
dining kitchen with views of the village green and the hills beyond
dishwasher, microwave and more than enough quality tableware
ensuite bedroom - twin or kingsize - with amazing views of Moughton Fell
light, spacious bedrooms and comfortable beds
the single bedroom with crisp white linen offering a deep sleep in the peace of the cottage
ensuite bathroom with shower
king sized bed with views of the village green
house bathroom with bath and shower
enjoy dining al fresco in the sunny walled garden
south facing back garden with a space for the car
view of The Green from Moughton's bedroom window
view of Austwick village from Oxenber.  One of the many walks from the doorstep of the cottage.
Beautiful Austwick Beck running through the village.  Ideal for fishing net activity!
entering the village approaching the humpback bridge over Austwick Beck
the road into Austwick offering tantalizing views of the incredible scenery you are now in
Moughton Scar is the view from the cottage.  A tempting walk on a clear day.
Austwick's children's playground in idyllic limestone landscape
Pen-y-ghent from the top of Moughton.  One of The Three Peaks.
the limestone pavements of Moughton formed during the last ice age by glaciers.  Clints and grikes -
Austwick Beck as it runs through Crummackdale high above Austwick
early morning view of Austwick from a five bar gate in the nearby hamlet of Wharfe
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Austwick, Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Louise N
2 reviews
“Home from home”
Reviewed 18 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Beautiful quiet pleasant village location perfect for walking. Cottage is cosy but spacious and has everything you would need just like home from home.
Absolutely love it will look forward to our next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma P
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, superb comfortable cottage”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

We stayed at Moughton Cottage in October and immediately felt relaxed. The cottage is well stocked with all the home comforts you need, is beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable beds and all set in a location which is great for exploring the area. Austwick is quaint and the Game Cock pub is superb - great beers, food and a relaxing and welcoming environment.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eva A
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Dr”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have stayed in hundreds of self catering properties but only had 4 cottages in our top 5 until last week. Moughton Cottage is on our top 5.
Clean, chic, and so very comfortable.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ruthderek
New Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Brilliant cottage in a lovely, unspoilt village”
Reviewed 24 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was a superb, roomy, and well equipped cottage in a great location in the Dales. It's furniture was extremely comfortable (including the huge double bed in the main bedroom) and all other furnishings were both useful and attractive - the family photos are fascinating. We were able to make good use of the garden given some spells of fine weather. It's south facing, so gets the sun all day (well past 7 o'clock in the evening), and allows good levels of privacy notwithstanding the cottage's central location in the village. The village is neither soul-less nor over-run by tourists, and we were able to do a good number of long and short walks directly from the cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayley B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another wonderful stay.... Gem of a holiday cottage”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We returned this April for another holiday at the lovely Moughton Cottage, Austwick. As always, we were not disappointed. The cottage is in a great location for some lovely walks and bike rides. The pub in the village (The Game Cock) is great. We had nibbles early evening with a glass of wine which was lovely. Kate is a wonderful host and everything you need is in the cottage. It's a real home from home, tastefully renovated with original features which bring a wonderful feel to the cottage.
There is a small park in the village and also tennis courts which can be booked at the post office.
We particularly enjoyed our bike ride to Elaine's Tearooms in Feizor which serves delicious home cooked meals - they are the best!
Everything about Moughton Cottage is just perfect and I would recommend this to anyone!
We will be back...Very soon I hope!
Thank you for having us Kate x

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anitasout...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect get away from it all”
Reviewed 10 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This cottage is superbly situated for good walks and the local pub is only a few minutes walk away and offers good food.Inside the cottage is spotless and comfortable with a very attractive walled garden.The kitchen is well equiped and the milk on arrival was very thoughtful.A lovely stay,thank you.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanderer0...
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 30 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for a weekend (wish it had been longer!) and loved the cottage. It's tastefully furnished, comfortable, and well equipped. The log burner makes it very warm and cosy. We would really recommend it as a perfect place to stay in the Yorkshire Dales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing