We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

What a wonderful holiday we had, such a quaint and comfortable stay with a fantastic breakfast, lovely people and beautiful scenery. From the moment we arrived our hosts made us feel really welcome, showing us our well decorated, clean and spacious room, with soft bedding and fluffy towels - first impressions were great. Stairs are a bit steep and the beams are a bit low in places so be careful.

Not too fussed about the Traddock hotel just down the road where we went for a drink in the evening - felt a bit like we were intruding.

Breakfast was excellent, we ordered it the night before using a check list so that when we came down the next morning there was less faffing about. Nice breakfast room, very cozy with the other guests and our hosts are very knowledgable about the local area - we had such a great day out visiting the highest pub, the Wendsleydale Creamery and a number of different beauty spots in the local area.

A very quiet and comfortable night's sleep and all in all, a wonderful get away. Thank you

Room Tip: They're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateWill76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

This is a lovely B&B with very nice, clean and comfortable rooms. The owners are really friendly and knowledgeable about walks in the area. Great breakfast. Austwick is lovely. Ideal spot for a Dales holiday

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DitaMcP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here last weekend, while we did the Yorkshire Three Peaks Challenge. We had a great stay and David and Sue are very welcoming and attentive.

Upon arrival, we were shown to our room, where we then had a nice cup of tea downstairs with David and Sue. David has done the Three Peaks previously and offered to go through the route with us, which he knew like the back of his hand. He provided us with lots of tips and knowledge and helped restore a bit of confidence about our trek.

The B&B is also only about a 10 minute drive from Horton, where we started our challenge. Wood View also offer free car parking, for those travelling quite far.

Because we were leaving so early for the trek, meaning we'd miss breakfast, Sue made us a lovely packed lunch to take with us to make up for it. We had breakfast on our second day there though, where we had a choice of porridge, fry up, cereals etc...

Beds are very comfy, rooms are a good size and we had a lovely bathroom with a nice deep bathtub, perfect after our 11 hour trek.

Next door is a lovely little pub called the Game Cock Inn, which you can get 10% off food if you stay at Wood View.

We had a great stay at Wood View. Would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandamandypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We never want to leave Wood View it is just perfect, from the moment you are welcomed at the door you start to unwind. Austwick is an unspoilt village in the Yorkshire Dales, David and Sue offer excellent advice for walking, mountain biking and sightseeing. We should know we keep going back. Breakfast is truly amazing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

stayed 2 nights with my husband and mother
could not have wished for better care and attention
we stayed to take the steam train from long preston to carlise
it was all perfect.
the rooms are excellnt as was our breakfast and packed lunch
if you walk , cycle,paint,or want to take the train
i cannot recomend the wood view highly enough .
JUST GO!!!!!

Room Tip: all the rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

first time to the dales on a last minute break lovely village accomodate excellent ,had a superior room that had everything that you could wish for.the owners sue and david very friendly warm people.the breakfast was excellent nothing but praise for this place will definetly be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwoodcock182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

This was a last minute booking and what a find!
The accomodation is excellant, really clean, lovely well equipped & spacious rooms with a fantastic en-suite. This really was a very relaxed and luxurious stay, much appreciated as we had travelled 3.5 hours. They even allow dogs in - don't be put off by this as you would never know as the owners keep it so clean. The owners are warm, friendly and have a very good sense of humour and make you feel at home - breakfast is amazing and a must have!

The other guests were very friendly and thought the same about this B & B as we did.

Would go back & stay again

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GKTAIT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
5.8 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
618 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Holly House
Holly House
#1 of 2 in Stainforth
35 reviews
1.5 mi away
Game Cock Inn
Game Cock Inn
#1 of 6 in Austwick
130 reviews
3 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#2 of 6 in Austwick
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood View Bed & Breakfast

Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Price Range: £27 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wood View is one of Austwick’s oldest farmhouses (circa 1700), being an elegant Grade II listed building situated on the village green. Containing many original features such as open fires and beams, it is the home of Sue and David Dewhirst, who provide a high standard of accommodation for discerning visitors to the area. The village of Austwick nestles in a valley with a backdrop of magnificent limestone scenery in the Three Peaks area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. It is the ideal base for exploring this area of outstanding natural beauty by car, cycle or on foot, or as a stopping off point en route to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wood View Bed & Breakfast Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing