We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dog-Friendly B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Austwick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 6 Austwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, Somerset
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Dog-Friendly B&B”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Very friendly welcome with tea/coffee and cakes (no problems catering for my wheat intolerance either!). Lovely, spacious room with all home comforts and big comfortable bed. Excellent breakfasts with plenty of choice to suit all tastes and appetites. All in all, can't fault this B&B for friendliness, service, comfort, cleanliness - you name it, it was spot on.

Brilliant location too, we'll definitely be back to this part of the country and Wood View too. Pippin the Jack Russell was made welcome and can't wait to go back either!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_piplet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    4
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
74
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Ideal place to stay
From the moment we arrived, very warm welcome, made sure they knew what we wanted from our stay, and provided it.
Did the Yorkshire 3 Peaks so up too early for breakfast (which we were adivsed on booking) but they provided excellent packed lunches to make up for the missed breakfast.
On return they were really interested in how we have done, and it seemed quite happy to sit and chat about whatever we wanted to discuss.
Absolutely first class, will be visiting again on our next trip tio the area.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want when booking - some rooms have showers, others baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlynnOswestry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Just home after a lovely weekend staying @ Wood View:
David & Sue could not have been more accommodating with fitting us all in, giving us advice on walking routes, etc.
Their hospitality combined with great enviroment cannot be more highly recommended - including after walking the Yorkshire 3Peaks we were treated to homemade scones & tea in front of the log fire!
Our group will be definitely recommending Wood View to anyone heading to the Dales.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktc_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2013

David and Sue are wonderful hosts. They made us very welcome and invited us to share birthday celebrations for another guest (Sue baked a cake for the occasion). Our hosts' good humour made it a real pleasure to spend time with them, and we appreciated David's guidance on where to walk, where to eat, what to do - this really helped us get the most out of our stay. Our room at the top of the house was comfortable and extremely spacious. Our only regret was having to leave - three days was not enough!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jutain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We readily concur with all the excellent reviews of Wood View B & B as we have been visiting over a number of years now on an average of three times a year. As we are both in our mid eighties their compassion and hospitality was outstanding in September 2012 when I took ill on the day we were due to leave. They arranged a doctor's appointment and took care of us for four more nights until we could travel home. Altogether a house where one feels at home on stepping inside, in the presence of a wonderful couple Sue and David.

Room Tip: Room 1 is superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Just got back from a lovely stay at the Wood View in Austick. Although the temperatures outside were around freezing, the welcome from David and Sue was warm. The room was delightful and the log fire in the lounge was a welcome site after a day's walking. My wife and I would highly recommend the Wood View and we will be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John186376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Our first stay in Austwick at Wood View was everything we expected from previous reviews. Very friendly and helpful advice from David and Sue. The scones on arrival and home made biscuits were lovely. Everything was first class and faultless. Our 3 night stay was most enjoyable and we even had good weather to add to the satisfaction. Highly recommended. The Buckleys

Room Tip: We had king sized room on top floor but all rooms seemed to be very spacious and well equipped. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Austwick
1.4 mi away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
517 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
577 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Lion at Settle
The Lion at Settle
#4 of 4 in Settle
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#3 of 4 in Settle
328 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
297 reviews
1.5 mi away
Scar Close Farmhouse
Scar Close Farmhouse
#2 of 6 in Austwick
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood View Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood View Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wood View Bed & Breakfast
Address: The Green, Austwick, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle LA2 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle > Austwick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Austwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wood View is one of Austwick’s oldest farmhouses (circa 1700), being an elegant Grade II listed building situated on the village green. Containing many original features such as open fires and beams, it is the home of Sue and David Dewhirst, who provide a high standard of accommodation for discerning visitors to the area. The village of Austwick nestles in a valley with a backdrop of magnificent limestone scenery in the Three Peaks area of the Yorkshire Dales National Park. It is the ideal base for exploring this area of outstanding natural beauty by car, cycle or on foot, or as a stopping off point en route to the Lake District. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wood View Bed & Breakfast Austwick, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing