We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maple VIP Lodge - Fantastic”
Review of Westholme Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westholme Estate
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Maple VIP Lodge - Fantastic”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a two night break earlier this week. The site itself is very well cared for and we commented on this as we drove down the drive to reception.
As the weather was so bad, torrential rain, we arrived early and asked if it was OK for us to gain access to our lodge - this wasn't a problem as everything was ready for our arrival and we were welcomed and given our keys.
The lodge was spotlessly clean and much larger than we had anticipated so we were more than happy and it was nice to see the fresh towels nicely laid out on the beds. As there were only two of us we had the luxury of a bedroom each, which was lovely. The soft furnishings were of excellent quality and gave a modern feel. The lounge/kitchen was well equipped with sufficient seating, a flat screen TV and even a dishwasher although I must say we didn't figure out how to work the grill as it was integrated into the oven - this didn't worry us as we used the frying pan for our bacon instead! The only downside to the kitchen was the quality of knives found in the knife block, not really very sharp at all, so I would suggest maybe take your own small sharp knife and bread knife too - that being said, we did manage with what was there.
I was slightly disappointed to see that the hot tub wasn't under cover, and was situated at the side of lodge, towards the rear, with only a small privacy screen - however when we did venture in, even though it was raining, the quality of it was outstanding and we had a very enjoyable time in it.
It was nice to see that we had been given a small 'starter pack' of cleaning items and that there was tea and coffee provided - as we only stayed for two nights the cloths and washing up liquid were sufficient for our needs, but people staying for longer will need to provide any extra - this was clearly stated in our confirmation email, so shouldn't be a surprise to anybody.
The lodges are fairly close together but we had no problem with noise or feeling lacking in privacy - the main window has blinds and there are curtains to all windows, so you can shut everyone else out if you so wish.
The surrounding area is fabulous as you would expect in the Yorkshire Dales and with Asygarth Falls being a mere 5 minute drive away and then Hawes also very close by the location of the lodges is fantastic. We didn't venture to Leyburn but that is also very close in an Easterly direction. From our base at the lodges we visited Hawes and the Wensleydale Creamery, the Dales Countryside Museum and also Hardraw Force (entrance gained through the Green Dragon public house in Hardraw village) along with driving through some picturesque villages such as Askrigg, Bainbridge and Semerwater. The scenery is stunning and it was nice to take a slower pace and admire the many views and lambs gambolling around the lush green fields.
The food on offer at Henderson's was of a very good standard and we enjoyed a meal on our first evening, as the restaurant is small it is vital that you book a table - we were advised to do this when we arrived.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again.

Room Tip: It is definitely worth paying the extra charge to have use of the hot tub - and as we can attest, yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    218
    104
    43
    36
See reviews for
247
349
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Had a three night stay in the Cedar VIP lodge, was well worth every penny, the rooms and facilities were fab and the hot tub was even better, aysgarth falls only 5/10 minutes away and is a must see, really enjoyed our time here and will definitely be returning again .

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bscholes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with a groupon deal and was very impressed.We paid a little but extra for the hot tub and it was money well spent. The lodge itself was clean and comfortable with an en-suite in the master bedroom. The living area was large enough for a family of four however you are very close to the other lodges and with no net curtains you can see into everybody else's lodges so privacy is very minimal. When you do arrive ensure you check the inventory of cutlery as when we arrive we were alot of items missing. The estate was well sign posted and the grounds were well kept. You cannot check-in until 4:00pm and they appeared quite strick on this rule aswell. Aysgarth falls is only 5/10minutes away along with some other beautiful villages and countryside.All in all though it was an enjoyable stay and with the groupon you got good value for money.

Room Tip: Spend a little extra and go for a hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomRach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
112 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed in Maple VIP and it was nice enough but as stated previosly the lodges are not ver private and you overlook your neighbours! We wanted privacy and peace and quiet and didnt really get this as lodges so close together and if peole out in the hot tubs you can hear them easily. The beds were very uncomfotrable and the sofas a joke... Terribly uncomfortable! All in all we did have nice time but I dont think Id return as we have been to much nicer sites. Mobile phone didnt work either.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feeby_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mytholmroyd, Hebden Bridge
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Paid full wack for a 3 night stay, so I was hoping it was going to be as good as it sounds.....and it was. Absolute quality staff, very welcoming, knowledgeble and none of the usual corporate smarm.
We had one of the old solid wood lodges, it was huge!, 2 en suites and top quality fixtures and fittings, cleaning kits and tea coffe and sugar were nice touches. The hot tub was also massive and our veranda was very private, in fairness most hottubs were located and fenced to make them as private as possible (far better than other places we have stayed) .
The restaurant and bar is great, not that cheap, but the quality of staff and food was simply brill!!!
In all a top place to stay, and I cant praise the staff enough !

The only thing I would say is that externaly our lodge could have done with a spring clean, i.e get rid of all the cobwebs, and gathered vegitation around the perifery of the lodge, however this is a mild observation and does not stop me giving it 5/5.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHeatons02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with a groupon deal and we were not disappointed, the lodge was lovely and very very clean, we loved the outdoor hottub. The restaurant served really nice food and wasn't overpriced, we would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgizmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed here as part of a groupon offer which was really good value for money.
The lodge was nice - although I probably say it is more of a posh caravan than a lodge. The bed was comfy - sofas were comfy enough but a but small. This didn’t really matter though as most of the time we were at the lodge we were in the hot tub! The hot tub was excellent.

There were a few little things I would add to the lodge to improve it slightly - something to hang up hand towels in the bathroom would be useful as would an extra mirror in one of the bedrooms/communal areas. There are only mirrors in the bathrooms which was ok until I needed to dry my hair (no plug near a mirror) or I needed to use the mirror when the bathroom was in use. These are only minor things and didnt have an affect on our overall enjoyment, although would have made it slightly easier. I would also say that the sofas would need rearranging if there were 4 of you staying - as they are they are not very sociable and you can only see the TV from one of them. This didnt matter fo us though as there were only the 2 of us.
The kitchen was well stocked, had everything that we needed.

We had lunch and dinner at Henderson's restaurant - this was lovely both times and the service was good in here. The only negative I would say is that the restaurant lacked a bit of atmosphere - especially at night time. There were candles on the tables but the lights were not dimmed at all so these were a bit pointless, and just dimming the lights would have really improved the atmosphere. The is no character in the restaurant - it could be anywhere in the UK. I think a few more pictures etc from the local area would really add to this. The food was lovely though and service was excellent. Good choince on the menu.

The local area was lovely - we had a walk at the nearby Aysgarth falls, however as we were really lucky with the weather we spent most of our time there in the hot tub.

Another negative I would have to add is that check in time (4pm) was a bit late and check out a bit early (10am) particularly as the clocks went forward the weekend we were there so in effect we were having to check out at 9am which meant we were really only there for one day, despite having 2 nights there.
Very little phone/internet signal - but were prepared for this as it is in the middle of no where!

These are only minor negatives however, as overall we had a lovely weekend and would definitely think about returning. I don’t know if I would pay full price for two people, but for 4 people in the lodge it would be good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
8.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
392 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
606 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
11.7 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westholme Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westholme Estate

Property: Westholme Estate
Address: Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westholme Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westholme Estate is an exclusive selection of contemporary; log built, leisure lodges, nestled within a sensitively landscaped estate deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Phase 1 consists of 4 lodge styles; each model is fully equipped and furnished offering superior levels of elegance and comfort. Westholme Estate provides you and your family with the opportunity to escape from the everyday world, whenever you desire, to your own secluded holiday home set amongst some of the finest scenery nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Westholme Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westholme Estate Hotel Aysgarth
Westholme Estate Aysgarth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing