We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Relaxing Break”
Review of Westholme Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westholme Estate
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Relaxing Break”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in the Beech VIP Lodge, number 52 with a hot tub. Quick check in but can't gain access until 4pm. Very impressed with our real log cabin, although not all lodges are wood but prefabricated posh caravans. Our lodge had all the mod cons I.e. Double oven, microwave, large fridge freezer and even a dishwasher and washing machine. Plenty of crockery etc..... Bathrobes and slippers and large towels for use in the hot tub. Welcome pack on arrival of small loaf of bread and a pint of milk, some tea, coffee and sugar and a small bottle of olive oil for cooking. A cleaning pack which consisted of, scourer, dishcloth, black sack and a small washing up liquid. There were even a few dishwasher tablets but no soap powder for washing machine. A tea towel and oven glove were provided. The only thing we found missing was the instructions on how to use the oven which was quite frustrating at times. Very surprised to find that there wasn't a 2 pin socket for shavers/electric toothbrushes and had to scour the local shops to buy one (great shop in Richmond where we found an adaptor for £1). There are no shops locally to purchase food so best to take with you. Nearest Tesco was at Catterick Garrison approx 11 miles away. The hot tub was great and once in very private but getting in and out wasn't so private so would have liked a bit more privacy. Would return for a weekend break in a heartbeat. Some quaint little villages nearby and the waterfalls are a must. Would highly recommend a real log cabin for a break. Forgot to add no phone signal and wifi can only be obtained from the reception area. Can't commend on the restaurant food as we didn't use it, the only reason for this is that it isn't dog friendly.

Room Tip: Opt for a real log cabin with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    218
    104
    43
    36
See reviews for
247
349
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a lovely 4 night stay in the Sycamore VIP lodge no.54. It was in a very nice spot right next to the river and we were lucky as no one was in the lodge next to us so our hot tub was private. It would help to have more fencing around the hot tub to make it more private though. Our lodge was lovely, slept 4 even though there was only 2 of us we liked the extra space. The free view cable does need replacing but we were able to get it working. Dressing gowns, towels, slippers, milk, bread and a cleaning pack were all there when we arrived which was a nice touch. Also, one of the men on reception was very helpful and friendly, gave us a map of the area, and when we ate in the restaurant on burger night he asked the chef if I could have chicken as I don't like burgers and they were happy to do this. We also saw him when we ate at the Aysgarth Falls Hotel and happily chatted to us about our day. Would really recommend eating there, the chicken pie and sausage and mash were both delicious! Not having wifi or signal was really relaxing, we just visited the restaurant every morning to use the wifi. We had sunny weather and we're able to sit outside for breakfast every day, even though we did have to use chairs from inside as there were no outdoor chairs. Aysgarth falls is a lovely walk as is York if you don't mind the drive. We took plenty of food and drink with us which is a good idea as no shops for miles. We would definitely visit again in the future, lovely place, lodge and people!

Room Tip: Lodge 54 next to the river and quite private once in the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenJones12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely way to spend a weekend
No phone signal and no tinternet
Perfect.
Great place to stay to relax sat in the hot tub looking at the stars
The bar is very good
Food looks good too
The bread and milk was a nice surprise
The yappy dog next door might get put down later but it's great place
Back to the hot tub bye

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank duckegg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north lincolnshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

It was our first time here and we came for a week,stayed in Maple VIP lodge 28 (best views) the weather wasn't great but that didn't stop us from having a relaxing time,only gripe was that the teenage lads couldn't get any wifi,even when they went to the bar and used the code,maybe the weather!! It was a cosy and clean lodge,everything you needed,the hot tub was great always hot,we wasn't overlooked like some,had a cosy corner and little side garden that others didn't have,myself and husband will return again one day for quiet weekend but would only want the same lodge or lodge 29 next door..:)

Room Tip: lodge 28 and 29 on there own overlooking fields and hills with few sheep thrown in ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tylereth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night stay. We hired the Laburnum VIP and couldn't have asked for more. We have stayed here a few times and this was by far the best accommodation we have had. Bathrobes and slippers in each room and the hot tub right outside the doors. We stayed with our family who are over from Australia and they loved it just as much as we did. We ate at Hendersons on burger night and the meal was excellent. Can't praise the place highly enough. Yes there is no phone signal and no internet, except in the bar, but we were on holiday so it was good to get away from it for a couple of days. We will definitely be back for more.

Room Tip: Lodge 41 has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorks
Level Contributor
126 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We booked the Maple VIP with the hot tub which was good value compared to other similar lodges we have stayed in. The lodge (really is a fake timber clad caravan ) is situated in a great location with surrounding walks, and pubs (recommend the George & Dragon) within walking distance. The Henderson's on site bar/restaurant is lovely, we had a good meal there and used the lounge area often to access Wifi to check emails etc. Hawes and Masham (on market day) are good places to eat, walk and restock with fresh bread and cakes!
Negatives...Take coat hangers there were 2 in each wardrobe, the mattresses are not comfy and the ensuite door into the shared bathroom is a pain, you have to lock both doors when using the bathroom facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireHotFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Westholme for four nights in May, with my husband and two sons aged 6 and 8. We stayed in a Maple VIP which was clean, modern and comfortable, with the big bonus of a lovely hot tub. This was especially welcome after our climb up Whernside! Staff were welcoming and friendly. Although we brought all food with us, we did visit Hendersons for coffee and desserts which was no problem for the staff there, and were delicious! A relaxing break in a place we would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeToyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
8.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
0.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
606 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
11.7 mi away
Flowery Dell Luxury Pine Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westholme Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westholme Estate

Property: Westholme Estate
Address: Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westholme Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westholme Estate is an exclusive selection of contemporary; log built, leisure lodges, nestled within a sensitively landscaped estate deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Phase 1 consists of 4 lodge styles; each model is fully equipped and furnished offering superior levels of elegance and comfort. Westholme Estate provides you and your family with the opportunity to escape from the everyday world, whenever you desire, to your own secluded holiday home set amongst some of the finest scenery nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Westholme Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westholme Estate Hotel Aysgarth
Westholme Estate Aysgarth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing