We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too relaxing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Westholme Estate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Westholme Estate
Thornaby
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too relaxing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed Monday to Thursday. Found it difficult to locate main gate, due to its seclusion. Seclusion was my goal so this wasn't an issue. Neither is lack of phone signal, it's actually sobering to realise how reliant on these thing we are. Wifi is free in the clubhouse/restaurant. No chef my week 24th June. But I bought a self catering holiday so i expect to fend for myself. The welcome is first rate. Bread and milk provided. my lodge no17 was faultless, even had a dishwasher!
I love this place so much while enjoying a masham made real ale, I used their wifi to book another stay in July this time with hottub.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Johndoh1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    209
    101
    41
    33
See reviews for
239
333
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Let's start with the positives..
Easy to find, lovely location. Nice and peaceful. No phone or internet access (I see this as a plus because we wanted a complete break). Great to watch the wildlife in the morning from the hot tub or the patio. Nice little welcome pack on arrival. We were able to take our cat, not many places accept cats so that was a big plus point! Some nice villages to explore if you have a car. Lodge was a bit on the small side but we had most things we needed. We were provided with towels, slippers etc, nice touch.
Now the negatives...
If you don't drive you will be stuck for things to do.
The restaurant was closed all week, my parents who hired a lodge near us had not brought any food so were stuck. We weren't pre warned that the restaurant would be closed all week.
On arrival we were greeted in our lodge by a huge, full ashtray! Mm nice! And my parents were too! Attention to detail is needed. Within half an hour one of the outdoor chairs on the patio had broken, think because they are left out they are rotting, and should be checked regularly.
There were no instructions for the cooker, not an easy item to operate. Or the shower.
Shower head was grossly mouldy, have they not heard of Legionnaires disease?
No instructions for the hot tub either. Some of the lodges were not very private for getting in the hot tubs, ours was screened but others weren't. A member of staff came to check on the hot tub and add chlorine each day, would have been better if he hadn't had a cigarette hanging out of his mouth all the time.
Some of the furniture needs replacing as it looks tired and some DIY work needs doing too. Our door frame was splintered and the door wouldn't close properly.
About the area...
It's in a nice location, some nice surrounding villages. Go to West Burton and have a meal at the Fox and Hounds, very nice. Also went to the George and dragon up the road, the locals were very friendly and so were the staff. We had an impromptu singalong with a man on an accordion. A great night!
Don't go to the white pub up the road called the Wensleydale heifer, it cost us over £130 for 4 meals!!
Overall a pleasant stay, they just need to take care with their attention to detail.
Would visit again but ask for a larger lodge, we stayed in a cedar VIP lodge. We could hear every word the people next door were saying and watching on TV.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger lodges, but don't get the ones that are glorified caravans with cladding on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnb2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

We were a bit wary of going as we had a call to say the hot tub wasnt working at our lodge (hot tub was why we booked), but when we got there we were greated nicely by the owner, he assured us that the hot tub was working and back up to the correct temepature. He then gaves us our keys and showed us on the map how to get to our lodge. There was parking right outside our lodge which meant we could unpack our things and not have to worry about finding somewhere to park every time we got back to the lodge. As we got into the lodge we were very surprised as it just looked like a home inside. we had milk, bread, tea and coffee there for us, also it was lovely and clean with fresh bedding and clean towels.

The only downside was that there was no instructions on what to look out for if the hot tub was low in temp as it didn't say what the temp is meant to be. Also there was no phone signal for EE or orange in or around leyburn.

Place to go and see is forbidden corner and Aysgarth falls they are amazing

We will definitely recommend it and we will go there again!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

we came here for four days on a last minute deal and while happy with what we paid had we paid full price we would have been disappointed. the location is fab although on a very short but steep climb to the nearest village it certainly is quite and peaceful however the log cabin ( number 19) wasnt a log cabin just a mobile home clad in pine and although very nice, roomy and clean with some decent furniture fridge freezer and dish washer it did fall down with a very basic selection of cooking equipment and no hot tub as advertised. the web page had details of the restaurant menu but when we arrived all that was available was a barbecue with the restaurant closed, the next day it was also closed with only a curry available and the next day there was just a sign saying restaurant closed-, apparently the cook is on maternity leave for a while. All in all an amazing location but slightly let down by a rather too laid back attitude by the staff

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed in the Beech VIP Lodge, number 52 with a hot tub. Quick check in but can't gain access until 4pm. Very impressed with our real log cabin, although not all lodges are wood but prefabricated posh caravans. Our lodge had all the mod cons I.e. Double oven, microwave, large fridge freezer and even a dishwasher and washing machine. Plenty of crockery etc..... Bathrobes and slippers and large towels for use in the hot tub. Welcome pack on arrival of small loaf of bread and a pint of milk, some tea, coffee and sugar and a small bottle of olive oil for cooking. A cleaning pack which consisted of, scourer, dishcloth, black sack and a small washing up liquid. There were even a few dishwasher tablets but no soap powder for washing machine. A tea towel and oven glove were provided. The only thing we found missing was the instructions on how to use the oven which was quite frustrating at times. Very surprised to find that there wasn't a 2 pin socket for shavers/electric toothbrushes and had to scour the local shops to buy one (great shop in Richmond where we found an adaptor for £1). There are no shops locally to purchase food so best to take with you. Nearest Tesco was at Catterick Garrison approx 11 miles away. The hot tub was great and once in very private but getting in and out wasn't so private so would have liked a bit more privacy. Would return for a weekend break in a heartbeat. Some quaint little villages nearby and the waterfalls are a must. Would highly recommend a real log cabin for a break. Forgot to add no phone signal and wifi can only be obtained from the reception area. Can't commend on the restaurant food as we didn't use it, the only reason for this is that it isn't dog friendly.

Room Tip: Opt for a real log cabin with a hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fifi421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a lovely 4 night stay in the Sycamore VIP lodge no.54. It was in a very nice spot right next to the river and we were lucky as no one was in the lodge next to us so our hot tub was private. It would help to have more fencing around the hot tub to make it more private though. Our lodge was lovely, slept 4 even though there was only 2 of us we liked the extra space. The free view cable does need replacing but we were able to get it working. Dressing gowns, towels, slippers, milk, bread and a cleaning pack were all there when we arrived which was a nice touch. Also, one of the men on reception was very helpful and friendly, gave us a map of the area, and when we ate in the restaurant on burger night he asked the chef if I could have chicken as I don't like burgers and they were happy to do this. We also saw him when we ate at the Aysgarth Falls Hotel and happily chatted to us about our day. Would really recommend eating there, the chicken pie and sausage and mash were both delicious! Not having wifi or signal was really relaxing, we just visited the restaurant every morning to use the wifi. We had sunny weather and we're able to sit outside for breakfast every day, even though we did have to use chairs from inside as there were no outdoor chairs. Aysgarth falls is a lovely walk as is York if you don't mind the drive. We took plenty of food and drink with us which is a good idea as no shops for miles. We would definitely visit again in the future, lovely place, lodge and people!

Room Tip: Lodge 54 next to the river and quite private once in the hot tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurenJones12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

What a lovely way to spend a weekend
No phone signal and no tinternet
Perfect.
Great place to stay to relax sat in the hot tub looking at the stars
The bar is very good
Food looks good too
The bread and milk was a nice surprise
The yappy dog next door might get put down later but it's great place
Back to the hot tub bye

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank duckegg20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
8.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
19.7 mi away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.4 mi away
The George and Dragon Inn
0.3 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westholme Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westholme Estate

Property: Westholme Estate
Address: Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3SP , England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Westholme Estate 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westholme Estate is an exclusive selection of contemporary; log built, leisure lodges, nestled within a sensitively landscaped estate deep in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales. Phase 1 consists of 4 lodge styles; each model is fully equipped and furnished offering superior levels of elegance and comfort. Westholme Estate provides you and your family with the opportunity to escape from the everyday world, whenever you desire, to your own secluded holiday home set amongst some of the finest scenery nature has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Westholme Estate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westholme Estate Hotel Aysgarth
Westholme Estate Aysgarth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing