We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Country Pub”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The George and Dragon Inn
Ranked #5 of 9 Aysgarth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Country Pub”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We felt very welcome in this place, by staff and locals alike, which is not always the case in this part of the world. It felt like going back in time, with the traditional country pub decor and smell of a proper wood fire.
The menu was surprisingly good, featuring old classics like homemade pork pie ploughmans and steak and ale pie, but also more modern stuff like roasted veg with pesto and gnocchi. We had the beer battered fish and chips with mushy peas, which was very tasty, and well cooked. We really enjoyed our experience here and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Twinklestar_shel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    94
    14
    11
    15
See reviews for
43
176
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We popped in here for our dinner and were impressed!
When we arrived we were shouted over to the bar, we hadn't booked a table but were given one straight away (we were very early in the evening)

The prices were a bit ott, but the food we had was lovely. The pork was amazing, and the drinks were fairly cheap. They also have home made ice cream which was delicious.

The service was really fast, we waited about 3 minutes between courses!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlieCupcake21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We visit this area frequently and have visited the George and Dragon on two occasions. Both times the person behind the bar gave us no welcome whatsoever . Last night we had booked in for a meal. The woman behind the bar was not happy to see us. She made no eye contact no smile, no welcome whatsoever. My husband then waited a considerable period of time before he was served with a drink. I wanted to walk out at this point. However we stayed, got our drinks and ordered our meals. The food itself was good, though not over large portions for the cost, but we had to wait a very long time. We won't be going back again.
There are many other lovely pubs to eat in, I can only think this place is busy because of its location on the main road through Aysgarth
Someone needs to train the staff that you give everyone a smile and a warm welcome no matter how busy, or how miserable you feel!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Verity99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Whilst staying at a cottage in Aysgarth we ate twice at this lovely little pub which was just a short walk across the fields. Always a bonus when places will let well behaved dogs sit under the table in the bar! Delicious fish and chips and Whitby scampi. Good sized portions and value for money. Range of well kept cask ales and wide choice of wines, many available by the glass. Will definitely be back when we visit again in the autumn!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayhemRossonWye_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We were looking forward to a little visit to the inn 1st walked in with good impressions, then not really knowing who to ask about our room, the landlord was a little cold towards guests, not really accommodating, we got booked in and went to our room looked average had a quick nap from driving to wake up with red bite/marks all over, went for a shower then came down stairs for dinner extremely over priced food, I mean fish and chips with mushy peas £14.95 fish tasted like water flakes then I had the runs and upset stomach all night, not nice, to top it off, the bed wasn't comfy and kept tossing and turning all night, in the morning wanted a brew opened the kettle to find it full of white powder and rust, breakfast was nice and the morning service was also nice, shame about the rest, never to return !

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I have eaten at the George and Dragon on two occasions and have thoroughly enjoyed the food both times. We found the quality and quantity of the food to be great and some of the best food we've tasted in the area.

The only reason it's not five star is I find the service to not be as warm and welcoming as many other places in the area, and whilst in no way was is bad, it just didn't stand out compared to other places.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A generally nice hotel. The room was comfortable - although the bed so squeeky that we woke up each time we turned over. The bathroom was lovely - all newly fitted with a great shower. The bar is cosy and, as a result gets very busy. The food was top-notch - good menu, good service and delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shedeeWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aysgarth
6.3 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
7.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
Aysgarth Falls Hotel
#2 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
2.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
4.9 mi away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon Inn

Property: The George and Dragon Inn
Address: A684 | (between Hawes and Leyburn), Aysgarth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Aysgarth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aysgarth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The George and Dragon Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George and Dragon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Aysgarth
The George And Dragon Inn Aysgarth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing