We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Gem!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Asenby, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
767Chris
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Little Gem!”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Hidden behind Grove House is the excellently appointeded Grove Cottage. In bygone days it was the housekeeper's residence.
Furnished to high standard everything was supplied for a comfortable and enjoyable stay. An excellent welcome pack greeted us and there was a good supply of logs and kindling for those 'boy scouts' who enjoy exploring the woodburner!
The surrounding area is saturated with tourist attractions for all ages and there are good restaurants within easy striking distance.
All in all an excellent property and well worth a visit.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melfarley
Marlow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage and amazing price”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My husband and I stayed at Grove Cottage for 5 nights with our Jack Russell. It is furnished to a high standard - with a fabulous wood burner and comfy bed. Location wise it's great for dog walks. Thirsk is only 4 miles or so away with some great pubs for lunch. Train to York only takes about 20 mins or so too.

Jeremy is an incredibly friendly host - providing lovely lemon drizzle cake on arrival and a rather tasty bottle of red.

There really is no wifi - be prepared. It's a god send if you're needing a break from work and there are plenty of free hotspots in the town!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laura w
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great stay at grove cottage”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here between xmas and new year for a relaxing couple of days.
Beautiful cottage and some lovely little added extras included from the owners, wine, sweet mince pies, fresh bread and butter.
20 min drive to Sutton bank national park.
A great Indian restaurant 10 mins along road. Collection only.
Close to thirsk.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenie19...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 6 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

The cottage was warm, welcoming, nicely decorated and well-equipped. We were delighted to find a Christmas tree and other Christmas decorations when we arrived, which made it seem even more cosy. It was in a good location for driving to Thirsk, Ripon, Fountains Abbey, etc. The spacious bedroom held a large comfortable bed and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was equally spacious and contained a large traditional-style bath with a hand-held shower attachment, suitable for a long relaxing soak after a day's walking. In addition to the usual equipment, the kitchen had basic supplies like coffee and tea, bread and butter, and cleaning materials, plus the welcome bonus of some tasy home-made mince pies and a bottle of wine. The only slight disadvantage was that we couldn't get a wifi signal or a mobile phone signal during our stay, but this was a minor inconvenience. We would certainly recommend this cottage, and would stay there again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne2014
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter week away”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Grove Cottage was a real find as we needed to be near Thirsk for a wedding. It was perfect so cosy & luxurious. Jeremy & Judith have thought of everything & the cottage is well equipped with many extra's. It is in a great location for walking & seeing lots quaint villages. We would definitely recommend this gorgeous cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie J
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Debbie and trevor Jones”
Reviewed 13 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a fantastic cottage and great hosts we had a very enjoyable time would recommend this cottage to anyone came home all relaxed after a much needed holiday

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlfieBean
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Half Term Break”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this beautiful cottage with my husband, 7 year old son and 11 year old dog. It looked exactly has it is shown in the pictures and was absolutely spotless. The little touches from the owners was a lovely surprise, fresh bread and butter, lemon drizzle cake, a pint of milk and a bottle of chilled white wine.

The cottage has a lovely wood burning stove which is all made up and ready to light, however, the central heating is so good and the cottage so toasty we didn't need it - must stay again when it is even colder.

The cottage is a fabulous base for visiting the local attractions, Studeley Royal Park & Fountains Abbey, Lightwater Valley or venturing into the lovely town off Ripon for a mooch round the shops.

The cottage has everything you need for a lovely relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

We would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing