We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a delight”
Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Always a delight”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the ritz to celebrate my 30th birthday. The room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Through the hotels excellent reward scheme i had a complimentry bottle of champagne on arrival which made it feel extra special. It is a little pricey but i feel worth every penny, especialy with the amount of larger my husband drank from the hidden beer tap.

Meal at crab and lobster was yet again amazing!! Yes it is a little on the pricey side but its fine dinning and never disappoints.

A real treat from start to finish cant wait to come back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsJ84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    95
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
45
506
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the bird island suite and what a fantastic experience. The rooms are immaculate, with private sauna and hot hub. The staff are very friendly and efficient. The food was without fault. And to cap it all one of the most comfortable beds.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evey1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here In August 2013 and must say what a great romantic getaway. Our room was 5* we stayed in the Ruka Lodge and couldn't have asked for anything more. I wouldn't hesitate to book this and will be booking again very soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SAFC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Returned to Crab Manor for our first wedding anniversary ( we held our wedding there last year ) . We had a lovely weekend, stayed in the themed room Bora Bora which is a lovely spacious room with a very comfortable bed and large bathroom and private hot tub. The staff were polite, efficient, friendly and helpful and remembered us from our wedding and gave us complimentary glasses of champagne which was very nice ! We had a meal in the restaurant which was up to its usual high standards and the portions are rather large. The chocolate truffles served with the coffee are divine. It was a lovely relaxing weekend, up to its usual high standards.
Two weeks earlier my sister held her 50th birthday party there, in a private room upstairs with a champagne served on the balcony. Again, the food and the service was excellent and a lovely evening was had by all.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judy062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Very last minute decision to come here for hubbie's birthday but so glad we did. Stayed in Bird Island with superb private sauna and private hot tub. Incredibly comfy bed! The website photos don't do the decor justice, it's beautifully done inside, and we're sorry we couldn't stay longer.
The gardens are stunning, full of bird life (we saw a wren several times whilst sitting in the tub) and make it very peaceful. I would say the suites in the garden area are more private and nicely located than the ones by the manor house, whilst also being less distance to walk to the Crab Lobster for dinner! I'd definitely stay in Bird Island again, loved the greenery around the patio area (some of the other hot tub areas in the other garden suites had little or no greenery so looked less picturesque and intimate (ok, just being picky here!). The Taj Mahal suite would be next on my list, furthest away in the garden and looks very private. The 2 wooden lodges look nice, but personally I think the ones around the garden are more nicely situated.

It is expensive for a suite, but the whole point of the place is the luxury and you do get what you pay for. Plus, its no more expensive than other similar hotels - we stayed at the Yorebridge last year which was similar in price and quality.

Dining at the Crab & Lobster (separate review) is a must!

The only very slight negative (if I really had to find one) would be it all lacks a bit of the personal touch (in terms of customer service, not decor!), and the staff weren't especially smiley or talkative, although all were extremely courteous and helpful.

Fab moulton brown toilettries, and it's worth getting the turndown because with it comes a few more!

Hope to return one day to try a different suite, maybe hubbie will bring me for my birthday????

Room Tip: Garden suites better located than lodges. Bird Island has one of the best outside hot tub spaces (lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rena77uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I don't usually write reviews however I felt compelled to for the price of our stay. Just returned from a stay in the bellagio suite for the night. The suite itself was a good size with large bathroom and the hot tub was a nice bonus too. The room was spotlessly clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The manor and gardens are beautiful also and we were lucky with the weather so got to enjoy them.
Compared to other hotels like it I would say it was one of the better we have stayed in however I do think very expensive for the night. We added another £100 onto our bill in the restaurant on the evening - an astronomical price considering we each ate two courses, were forgotten about towards the end and waited 40 minutes for our coffee and bill. The food was lovely but I don't think it warranted the huge price. I didn't reflect this in my review, however anyone staying and booking dinner reservations, be prepared for a very large bill. Breakfast the following morning was nice although both tea and coffee were cold and portion sizes were quite small.
Overall a very nice stay but I doubt we will stay again due to the price which didn't really include any "perks".

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What can i say? If you are looking for a real treat, then this is the place to go. The log cabins are individually named and set up accordingly and add a touch of luxury with your own personal sauna and outside hot tub, dressing gowns are provided along with total privacy. The food in the restaurant is equally to a high standard. All in all, the grounds, room, quiet location and food is well worth the price you pay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asenby
0.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
14.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,566 reviews
14.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#1 of 5 in Ripon
1,257 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#2 of 5 in Ripon
459 reviews
19.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Property: Crab Manor Hotel
Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor
Crab Manor Hotel Yorkshire/Asenby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing