We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crab Manor and Crab & Lobster restaurant”
Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crab Manor and Crab & Lobster restaurant”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We first visited this delightful place about seven years ago. Having returned regularly, in 2011 we got married there. Luckily the staff booked the sun and we had a day we will never forget.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant is what keeps us coming back. It is absolutely first class. Can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    530
    92
    28
    17
    17
See reviews for
44
496
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice log cabin , even better your own private hot tub ,, we stayed for a friends wedding fantastic stay ,, massive down side ,, ground maintenance men at 07:20 on the Monday morning using a petrole leaf blower 3 meters from our log cabin that's supposed to be private , after a call to reception ,, we got piece then again at 07:40 leaf blower back louder than ever ,, took reception 10 mins to answer the phone ,, pointed out that this time of morning ,, people would be expected,to be asleep , especially after a function ,,,, No apology from reception staff at all neither at booking out ,,, fantastic stay spoiled by two maintenance men ,,, thanks

Room Tip: Log cabins are very nice apart from ground maintenance men who take no regard to if your asleep in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darkangel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were staying here for a Birthday treat for my husband Paul. Due to work commitments we don't have a lot of quality time together so that's one of the reasons I booked this. we stayed in the Raffles Room which was beautiful, private hot tub and sauna in bathroom.
The bed is one of the comfiest I have slept in, and the food is fantastic. If you love seafood you are in your element but there is meat on the menu as well. The gardens are lovely to walk around and the staff cannot do enough for you.
we have stayed here previously last year, and have already booked for next year's birthday. The price is for a special occasion but its definitely worth paying!

Room Tip: All of them look good but Raffles is fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have just had a delightful weekend with 8 friends and enjoyed every minute , super rooms lovely gardens with lodges if you prefer , and best of all super food well done all concerned .the seafood is especially good and a trip to thirsk is quite near in fact lots of little villages around to visit .

Room Tip: Any but romantic lodges
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammy078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Excellent. If you want to do something special, then Crab Manor Hotel is the place to go. The Taj Mahal room was wonderful & spacious. The food excellent. The grounds are beautiful. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Taj Mahal was for us the best room. The rooms are all themed. The rooms in the grounds all have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from an overnight stay at Crab Manor- it has to be the best night away we have ever experienced. Sheer luxury and relaxation! We had the Ruka Lodge- imagine stepping into a swiss log cabin, complete with private hot tub, not overlooked by anyone. Service was amazing, couldn't do enough for us. Nothing was too much trouble. Secret beer tap which if found provides free Fosters lager- much to my boyfriends joy! We ate in the Crab and Lobster restaurant attached to the hotel and it was superb. Quirky and unique restaurant serving fabulous food, garlic lobster is highly recommended. Boyfriend had fish, chips and curry sauce- best he has ever had. You have to go! Well worth the money.

Room Tip: Lodge with a hot tub is a must.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We look forward to the annual trip to Crab Manor. I wish everywhere was as consistent as this place. My wife and I treat each other for our wedding anniversary to a trip to this venue. We regard this as the bench mark for all other visits to hotels / eating establishments. The standards never slip. A fine balance of excellent menu choice/ well prepared. But what stands out above all is service. Everyone knows their role and it is all customer focused. We stopped in the Bellagio suite and attended the bar for a lunch prior to booking in. When mentioned to staff that we were staying, we was informed that our room was ready to check in. This stood out as all staff regardless of role, understood how the whole complex was running and was focused on the customer. The rooms never cease to surprise with their attention to detail. Molton Brown products in the bathroom, good quality tea / coffee / nibbles / water in the rooms. The private hot tubs are fantastic. In essence I am trying to explain why we have attended for the last five years. In life you pay for what you get, not the cheapest establishment. But in our opinion worth every penny. Looking forward to next year.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asenby
14.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
24.4 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,229 reviews
14.4 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
19.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Property: Crab Manor Hotel
Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor
Crab Manor Hotel Yorkshire/Asenby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing