We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Crab Manor Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Asenby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crab Manor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Ruka lodge & all I can say is it's amazing. The staff both in the manor house & restaurant were professional & polite. Our lodge was clean & decorated to a very high standard although it is quite pricey I would certainly go back again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (741)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

370 - 376 of 741 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

As it was our tenth year anniversary we wanted to do something special and had always wanted to stay at crab manor so we booked a one night stay in the Raffles Room. When we arrived we were shown to our room by a polite person who gave us a demonstration of how to use the sauna and hot tub. After a nice walk and drink in the bar we went back to the room for a couple of hours and made the most of all of the luxuries in the room. The room itself was very nicely decorated in theme with the raffles hotel in Singapore with nice pieces of furniture and artwork. It was very spacious and private unlike some of the other rooms we noticed. The hidden beer tap was a nice touch as were the complimentary water, snacks and biscuits. We also dined at he crab and lobster hotel after canapés and drinks in the lounge. The experience was very different and I can see why it's so popular. We've got our passport and hope to make a visit back there soon.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We paid a top (very high!) rate for one of the 'special' rooms. It turned out to be an all-round average experience, with poorly-trained staff offering a so-so service. Shortly after arrival we ordered drinks in the lounge. They were delivered in their bottles, with glasses; we had to pour them ourselves. The order was incorrect, too, and had to be sent back. There was no sparkling wine to be had, no newspapers (either to read, or to purchase), coffee came with little UHT milk cartons, the evening canapes were just placed on the coffee table with no explanation, and again, no reasonable sparkling wine to be had, just an expensive champagne, take it or leave it.

The pathways are laid to gravel; deep gravel, so ladies, beware. Our room was some distance from the main hall, so we experienced sinking into the gravel quite a few times. The bathroom at first glance looked lovely, but it turned out to be one of those where you need an engineering degree, and a crystal ball, to work out how to use everything. Why don't they give instructions? Similarly with the private outdoor hot tub facility - it was lovely, but its operation was by trial and error. Several other aspects of the room were a triumph of design over practicality - drawers and cupboards difficult to open but the handles looked o-so-lovely, etc.

And no room service; they simply don't offer it.

All in all, it wasn't too bad a stay, but the price is OTT for what you get. It was a similar experience with their restaurant - see separate review.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank connery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014 via mobile

Crab Manor was really lovely. We stayed in the Belaggio Vegas room which was glam and opulent with a beautiful big bathroom. The outdoor hottub was great, we used it 4 times in 2 days. It was so warm, very clean and had flashing coloured lights at night which was silly but great fun! Breakfast was really good, lots of choice and large portions. The bed was so large and comfortable. I loved all the outdoor seating areas with flowers in bathtubs and plam trees around the restaurant. The old manor house did canapes and drinks between 7-8pm before dinner. The house was very quirky and had a secret beer tap you had to look for to get free beer. Very original experience.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TracyMacMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Crab Manor before so we knew what to expect, we were not disappointed. We stayed in the Mount Nelson room with a very comfortable 4 poster and en-suite with colonial bath and fittings. Everything you need for a luxury treat.
We had drinks on arrival, the Copper Dragon Ale was spot on and required a second..
We ate in the Crab & Lobster restaurant which was full on a Tuesday night, not surprising given the quality of the service and food. I had the beef fillet and my wife the haddock, both excellent and so filling that we then skipped pud and went straight to the cheese and biscuits washed down with a lovely pineau des Charentes.
Breakfast was equally enjoyable, kippers with hot toast.
Another very enjoyable stay, excellent quality of service and food.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank CaptainSlog0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have stayed here before 2 years ago and we loved it! We recently stayed on sat 9th August sadly it never reached the same expectations!!!!! The room we stayed in was Burj Al Arab-Dubai ..... The room had no shower as it had broke, also the room was not as clean as we expected very dusty and unclean! We paid £170 and never got a penny discount! We were told the manager would ring us? That was a week ago heard nothing!!!!! You don't expect to pay all that money for the service we got? We went for a drink in the restaurant on the afternoon, in the ladies toilet was empty toilet rolls and someone's bottle of water!!! When we went back on the evening it was still, in there???? Not good enough the cleanliness is letting it down!!! Food in the restaurant was fab, it's just spoilt what should have been a special anniversary weekend! We will not be rushing back!!!!

Room Tip: The ritz room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank karen f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

One night stay with dinner in the Crab & Lobster restaurant. We had the Burge al Arab theme room on the first floor. We arrived early on a hot sunny day and were able to enjoy the landscaped gardens. Very comfortable and different to the all the identikit chain hotels. Great for a special treat. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Well cooked breakfast. A very pleasant stay we hope to return soon

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggeordie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asenby
14.3 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,764 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Angel at Topcliffe Hotel
11.8 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
22.5 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
192 reviews
4.7 mi away
Golden Fleece Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab Manor Hotel

Address: Dishforth Road, Asenby Y07 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Asenby
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Asenby
Price Range: £150 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Crab Manor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Crab Manor Asenby
Hotel Crab Manor
Crab Manor Hotel Yorkshire/Asenby, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing