We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$120/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The BW Crown Hotel(Boroughbridge)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$129/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (768)
Filter reviews
768 results
Traveller rating
595
102
35
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
595
102
35
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrab and lobsterprivate hot tubthemed roomsle manoirbeer tapspecial occasionbirthday treatthe ritzlog cabinwedding coordinatorcrispstaj mahalkedgereethe main housefree standing bathunderfloor heatingroll top bath
Filter
Updating list...
749 - 754 of 768 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2007

I have been their twice in the past couple of years. The first time was for my boyfriends 21st birthday. I decided to surprise him with a night in The Bora Bora suite. We had a wonderful time, the bathroom is amasing, drank champagne in the room all night and had a wonder ful dinner in the restaurant.

It's quite a strange place really the restaurant decor can take a little getting used to, but it adds to the feeling that you will never be in a place like it again!

The 2nd time we went with friends who introduced us to the place. We had a wonderful time and would love to go again, however it's not cheap and can be hard to get the room you really want.

If there was any problem I would say the reception seems a little crazy. Bearing in mind that I'm the head receptionist of a hotel myself, I tend to notice things more. I wasn't too impressed when the last time we stayed and checked out we stood at reception and spent about 5 mins listening to the girl in front of us slagging off another member of staff to someone else while we where trying to pay her what we owed. Not very professional.

I think when you pay over £200.00 a night every little thing that happens counts towards the deciding factor of would you come back and pay the price again.

Depsite that the answer would still be YES.

Hope anyone that reads this goes xx

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2007

Just catching up on some reviews of hotels we stayed at last year. My son & I were in Yorkshire for the Ebor meeting at York racecourse. After looking at the overpriced hotels in York we decided to stay at The Crab again. Good decision! We had two rooms on a single occupancy basis. Both excellent, a little quirky of course, but that is what The Crab is all about and it is exactly as advertised.

Good facilities in the good sized rooms, Hospitality trays, decent T.V. and all the usual nice touches. A very spacious, clean bathroom.
Use of a Hot Tub in an enclosed area in the gardens. Some rooms have a private one. The Restaurant is one of the best of its type that we have been to. Breakfast was 1st class.

All in all a very pleasant hotel in a very nice area. A fair distance from York racecourse - but worth it - and we will be staying there again this year when we go racing at York.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2007

Me and my husband stayed here on 26th December for my birthday, a treat i will NEVER forget. We stayed in the Bora Bora which is in the beach house. Superbly decorated and with its own private hottub set in a decked area we couldnt of asked for more. Yes.....even though it was boxing day we spent a lot of time in that hottub drinking champagne. The manor itself is also a fantastic place to look around with all the weird an wonderful things decorating the place. The secret beer tap is a must, just to say you have found it!!!
We had lunch at the crab and lobster and this is not the first time we have visited the pub and again we were served with excellent food not one bad word can be said about the food here. The breakfast choice is brilliant, as soon as we sat down i was served coffee and a basket of toast and coissants were placed on the table. Full English, Kedgeree, kippers even steak and hash browns grazed the menu amongst other things i cant remember, along with help yourself cereals fresh orange, apple and grapefruit juice and a never ending supply of coffee and tea!!!
This is now going to be a once a year trip i think for my birthday! wish it could be more often but then it wouldnt be as special.
I would definately recommend this to anyone wanting a "special" night away from it all, you really do forget youre in Yorkshire in fact we forgot we were in England!
ENJOY

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank debs077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

The rooms and style of the hotel are lovely but the service poor. we stayed for our first night after getting married and the reception was comparible with that of being recieved at a travel lodge. we gave 20 hours notice for an early continental breakfast and were left cornflakes and milk, not even a cup of coffe from a flask! very poor effort at £160 a night and feel we would have been made to feel more welcome at any B&B.
Dont spend you money here stay at the Ripon Spa where the staff are wonderful

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jlouhogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2006

this hotel is a must for any special occasion. stopped for 1 night in the raffles room to celebrate our 19th wedding aniversary and could not complain about anything the room itself is based on the raffles hotel in singapore from the 1940s and has its own sauna and the decor is fabulous you also have your very own hot tub outside your room. the grounds themselves are immaculate with plenty of seating to take in the surroundings you won't believe your in yorkshire i promise!. we booked into the hotel restaurant for evening meal and it was absolutely beautiful and i must give the staff some praise as they were excellent through out. so you may ask at what price, well i can tell you we spent around £320.00 all told thats with your room champagne evening meal, wine, drinks and breakfast (which was excellent) it may seem expensive for one night but it will be a night to remember i promise. and dont forget the hidden beer keg in the manor house hall way find it and its yours to drink.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank belesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews