We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Weekend in North Yorkshire” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crathorne Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Weekend in North Yorkshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of days to celebrate a birthday. The public areas and the grounds are very nice and made us feel comfortable. The food in the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast was excellent, beautiful presentation and great service. Our room although clean was on the small size and the bathroom was very small, the cracked toilet seat lid did not give the right impression. Overall a nice weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    578
    153
    60
    25
    20
See reviews for
157
398
6
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
131 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Excellent staff and service and the rooms are pretty good. It is expensive and quite a drive for another restaurant so luckily its good food. Overall a bit pricey but if you can get a deal its a good place to stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Man_o_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed at Crathorne Hall for 3 nights with our 2 children. Room had great views to the rear of the hotel. Room was spacious, very clean and had all the additional bits you would expect in a hotel of this standard. Staff at the hotel were very polite and nothing was too much trouble.  As the  hotel is relatively small we really felt at home after the first day. The food was of a very high standard and the full english breakfast was first rate. lots to do in the local area with a stunning coast line  and great beaches only 20 minutes away. Highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing family break.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

The hotel, its staff and the service it offers is a credit to the Management & owners. I stayed with my daughter for a night checking it out before we invite the rest of our family for a special occasion at a later date. We cannot wait for that date! Every member of staff acknowledged us throughout our stay, the service and food in the restaurant were first class, breakfast was an unhurried affair - just the way to start of the day. Our room was first class with balcony and overlooking the grounds. We both loved every minute of it, felt so at home and can't wait to return where we are confident the same professional, friendly and efficient service awaits. My new favourite Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review, I am delighted you had an enjoyable stay with your daughter and are returning for a special occasion! I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your bedroom and leisurely dining experience.
Myself and the rest of the team look forward to welcoming you back to your ‘new favourite Hotel!’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break at Crathorne Hall and we are already looking at dates for our next stay. This hotel was recommended by a friend and it certainly lived up to our expectations.

The hotel is perfectly positioned, with breathtaking views of North Yorkshire countryside and a short drive to the coast. Our room was spacious, homely and with all the mod coms you would expect.

The staff were extremely attentive and more than happy to take care of our every need. During our stay we had both afternoon tea and room service, and the food was outstanding in both cases.

My parents have seen the photographs and are planning on visiting next month.

Great hotel, great staff, great time!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelBaker390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are very lucky with our location being so close to the country side and North Yorkshire Moors as well as having great transport links. I have passed on your compliments to our kitchen team who work very hard to produce food to the 2 AA Rosette standard we have been rewarded.

I am pleased the team looked after you so well during your stay and that you had chance to enjoy our Afternoon Tea and in room dining options too.

I look forward to your return and hopefully to welcome your parents to us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We can concur with those who have written positive reviews of the Crathorne. This is a lovely large building set on over 15 acres of well landscaped grounds. You enter the estate via a nice road through pasture land to the main building area. The Hotel facility is well maintained, the staff very helpful and the rooms very English in nature. If your looking for a quality setting and an enjoyable stay at a country inn, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raberdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I have shared your feedback with the team and in particular our grounds man Chris, Chris works tirelessly in all seasons to make sure that all 15 acres of land are well maintained. At Crathorne we aim to provide professional and friendly service so it’s lovely to hear that this is enjoyed and appreciated by our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

Beautiful old. Building with well furnished bedrooms, excellent shower and bathroom facilities.
Individual service of cooked breakfast, after self serving juice and cereal.there was a party of us for dinner (about 20) and service here was also first rate.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ailbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkClayton, Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Many thanks for your kind comments, I am so pleased you and your guests had an enjoyable dinner & stay with us and having taken the time to recommend us to future prospective guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,384 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
17.5 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crathorne Hall Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing