We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Delightful day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We called at Crathorne Hall after seeing some friends this afternoon. We had stayed here many times a few years ago and loved everything about the place, so we decided to call in for afternoon tea which was first class. We warmed ourselves in the drawing room in front of the roaring fire and all the staff were so pristine and attentive. Our tea was beautiful with delicious sandwiches, home made cakes and the scones were wonderful too. We met Elie who has been at the hotel for 25 years and he is so passionate about Crathorne Hall - when he realised we had stayed previously, he gave us a tour of the hotel and even took us to the room we stayed in all those years ago! Thank you so much Elie, you made a fabulous day amazing! We shall be back very soon to stay and we can't wait!! Excellent....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    156
    62
    25
    20
See reviews for
160
403
6
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I attended a wedding at this stunning establishment and can honestly say we had absolutely NO complaints. The staff were very friendly, courteous & welcoming whilst remaining extremely professional. The building & grounds were beautiful & very well kept.
All the bedrooms I saw (mine & friends) were beautiful & well maintained. The food was fantastic & the only thing I can think of which would have made the stay that little bit better, would've been a pool / spa. But we more than managed without & had a wonderful weekend.
Thank you!!

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank debs3096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Hotel has been opened as a conversion of the early 1900's stately home and is very grand. The grounds are huge and are very well kept. We shared our stay with a group who were dressed in WW2 memoribilia, complete with vehicles - very strange.
The hotel has no bar just a lounge for tea which makes it feel very formal - but it is still relaxed.
Rooms are good and very clean but there is no lift which would make access difficult for some.
Breakfast was great and overall we had a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My girlfriend and I visited the hotel back in July whilst on a drip down to England.
As is the norm with Handpicked Hotels, once we reached the entrance to the hotel, we drove up the impressive long driveway to the manor house.
Sara checked us into our room and then showed us up to our room, the Maltby Suite. What a room! Enormous double bed and a balcony which looked out over the grounds - which were beautiful on a sunny July day. The room also came equipped with a coffee machine which was very impressive.
Taking full advantage of the weather we ventured down to the bar for a drink. On the way there we met the barman who directed us to the outside tables and brought our drinks out to us - nice touch.
Dinner that evening was spectacular. We began with champagne and canapes in the bar area while we made our decisions on what to eat from the glorious menu. Matthew and Ant looked after us in the restaurant and were very friendly throughout. Every course which both myself and my partner ate was faultless - cooked beautifully.
Breakfast the following morning followed on from the night before - just fantastic. Ant was looking after us again which was nice.
I have nothing bad to say about this hotel at all. The only issue I had was that we didn't stay longer. Well done!

Room Tip: Ask for the Maltby Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zidane900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

My stay at this hotel was very comfortable and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The grounds are splendid.
There is some room for improvement with the restaurant however - someone seems over-zealous with portion control - particularly when the prices are at the high end of expectation. The oven baked waffle at breakfast does not live up to expectations.
It is unusual to find toilet paper still in the toilet on first arriving in a room - presumably after a thorough cleaning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with beautiful grounds. Excellent appointments, the rooms are large and comfortable. We had a wonderful well cooked dinner served by friendly and knowledgeable staff. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly and I would love to be able to stay there again

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank docsmissus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

All we wanted was a stop-off between southern England and Scotland, but we got luxury. The grounds are beautiful, the staff delightful and the bedroom very comfortable. If you like light and bright, don't go there. But if you like to be embraced by the splendour of an historical manor house, you will love it.
Attention to detail was also good. I do like quality toilet paper, as an example!
A swimming pool would have made it perfect, but beautiful grounds made up for that.

Room Tip: Old corridors always creak, so it was worth walking further for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,412 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,362 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crathorne Hall Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing