We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Parkmore Hotel(Stockton-on-Tees)
US$139
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cleveland Tontine(Staddlebridge)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Hotel(Middlesbrough)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Durham Tees Hotel(Darlington)
US$63
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wainstones Hotel(Great Broughton)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St George Hotel(Darlington)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (957)
Filter reviews
957 results
Traveller rating
650
187
68
31
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
650
187
68
31
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teacream teastately homewedding partywedding breakfastsconesdrawing roombridal suitecountry housebeautiful hotelcleveland hillscoffee machinebirthday treateggs benedictevening mealnorth yorkshireno lift
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
531 - 536 of 957 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at this beautiful hotel. It was part of our Golden Wedding celebrations.
On arrival we were shown to the lounge area as our room was not ready but we had arrived quite a bit early. After a short time the General Manager of the hotel came and introduced himself and welcomed us. This is the first time that I have ever met a General Manager of any hotel that we have stayed in. He is a very pleasant man. Our luggage was taken to our room and we were shown to it. The Crathorne, absolutely lovely and so big with marvellous views of the grounds and the river. There was a handwritten note from Mr. Llewellyn the manager congratulating us on our 50th alongside a box of chocolates. What a kind touch. Our stay was fantastic. Every one of the staff was marvellous and the food delicious. On our last night we had dinner and finished with a cheeseboard which had ' Happy 50th Anniversary ' piped on to it. A lovely gesture which was very moving for us. We highly recommend this hotel as our experience was memorable.

Room Tip: We had ' The Crathorne ' which I believe is the best room in the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear John,

What lovely feedback from your stay at Crathorne Hall!

It was very much appreciated and for me a personal thank you for mentioning my name as this makes me feel proud that myself along with my team do offer the service and standards that is why Crathorne is a long standing 4 red star AA rated hotel along with 2 rosettes in the restaurant.

I remember you both well and how you have come to visit us and after the last few months I was pleased to know that you had just the 'tonic' to relax and unwind.

Thank you again for coming to stay at Crathorne and I hope you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a night with my wife and then because it was so nice we booked in for another night. Couple of issues but soon resolved quickly by the staff. If anyone is looking for a place to stay away from the rat race this is it. Afternoon tea is very popular and is a must if visiting this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mark7242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Mark,
Thank you for your kind comments and it was a real pleasure to have you both here to get away from the 'rat race' of life!

Lovely to hear you enjoyed your experience for all the right reasons and you managed to indulge and unwind while also enjoying our naughty afternoon tea!

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This is our second Handpicked Hotel visit and it didn't disappoint. As with all hotels in this group it is in a lovely location, at the end of a long private driveway and the building itself is very grand. However this doesn't mean things are too formal. The staff, without exception, were very friendly and helpful without being "in your face". We were made to feel very welcome.
Our room, we were upgraded to an executive room, was very nice with a large stone balcony with a brilliant view of the Yorkshire countryside. The only minor fault was the bathroom was a little small for the size of the room.
We were on the Winter Escape package which was great value for money and whilst we would have liked to upgrade to A la Carte (wasn't available at that time) the Table d'hote dinner was excellent. Our waitress Lucy was very knowledgeable and sociable, we really liked her. What was also impressive was that even though they had a party of 12 in the restaurant at the same time as us this didn't affect our level of service.
Breakfast was good, not outstanding but our waitress, think it was Gloria, was a gem.
We would definitely go back there, ideally in the summer, when we can sit on the balcony in the sun with our glass of champagne. That's if we don't try a different hotel first.

Room Tip: We were in the Borrowby, one of only 2 rooms with a balcony.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magstoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear reviewer,
Thank you for your very kind feedback regarding your recent experience at Crathorne Hall.

It was a real pleasure to have you both stay with us and enjoy the Borrowby room which is a lovely room and it sounds like you already have plans to return in the summer and sit looking over the Leven Valley with a chilled glass of wine.

The staff you mentioned, Lucy and Gloria were both really pleased to see that you had an enjoyable time and I will pass on your thanks to the rest of the team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Crathorne Hall soon.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

great location for a weekend in Yarm...short taxi ride there and back. Room was beautiful: huge with everything that you would expect. Didn't eat there but breakfast was excellent with friendly staff. The bad service was in the bar as it was very slow to get served and the staff didn't seem to be that concerned. The rest of the staff were great though especially the porter who had lots of stories to tell!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndySING73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Crathorne Hall.

I am always pleased to recieve feedback and it sounds like overall you had a lovely time and it was a pleasure to have you both here. I appreciate your point regarding the lounge service which is normally to a high standard and has ben resolved but overall I was pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast as we know this is such an important part of our guests stay.

Look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Old world charm with wonderfully friendly staff. Nice, quiet, luxury hotel which is reasonably priced. Rooms are great but definitely prefer rooms at the rear overlooking the rear gardens. Service is exceptional from the staff and everything is up to scratch and will not disappoint. No gym or pool is a disadvantage if this is your thing but if you want great service and a peaceful night, look no further.

Room Tip: Any room facing to the rear is preferable and I prefer the those well way from any function room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JourneymanYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Guest,

It was very kind of you to send such lovely comments regarding your experience at Crathorne Hall.

The team and I are really pleased you indulged and felt at home as we all feel Crathorne is a 'home with hotel service' and this was captivated in your stay which we were all pleased to read.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to soon.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews