We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New Years Eve Wedding”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We decided to take exclusive use of Crathorne Hall for our wedding on New Years Eve 2013. We could not have be happier with our choice. The surroundings are gorgeous with fantastic views of the grounds from the rooms at the rear of the property. They are well furnished and comfortable, the Bridal Suite is amazing. The food is delicious, of a high standard and even for almost 80 guests was served in a timely way and hot.

The staff our outstanding - Jamie and Rachel were our wedding planners, Eli the concierge is really helpful and even cleaned my wellies! Alan the Chef went the extra mile to really look after our guests and even let us have a pudding not on the menu. He was happy to adapt the menu to suit us. Our own MC was guided through the day by the Crathorne team ensuring everything ran smoothly.

The rooms are all individually decorated and named which makes it feel unique - some of our guests even extended their stay. We spent quite a few nights there during the planning stage and felt at ease and taken care of.

The wedding team recommended the Sunshine Daze Band and Impact Technical for our fireworks both suppliers were first class. It is not easy arranging a wedding when you don't live nearby but Jamie and Rachel were always there to assist.

To summarise our wedding could not have been better, our guests had a fantastic time as did we! We will never forget the amazing efforts of all the team from the housekeeping staff, who managed to turnaround all the rooms by 1300 so our guests could get ready after long journeys, to the waiters and waitresses who were still smiling at 0130!

Peter the GM leads a great bunch of people at a lovely historic venue. If you are choosing a wedding venue or a night away go for Crathorne Hall - many of our guests said it was the best wedding they had ever been to.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear RBBucks

What a great wedding this was at Crathorne Hall on New Years Eve!!

It was a real pleasure to meet you both before the wedding and the team and I were over the moon with your review.

A special day for a very special couple and we wish you all the best for many years to come!

I hope we will meet you both in the near future.

With Best Wishes

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    158
    63
    26
    20
See reviews for
162
414
7
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed for dinner bed & breakfast at Craythorne.

First of all the grounds and rooms are beautiful. Immaculately kept and a friendly atmosphere. The hotel itself has historical heritage with lots of old paintings.

The highlight of the stay was the food. This was beautifully cooked and presented. We were served by Rachel for dinner who was very professional. Afterwards we had drinks in the bar mainly served by daniel who i couldnt praise enough. He made our evening. Very polite and makes a fantastic cocktail. This guy needs a pay rise ;)

We ate breakfast in the restaurant too and again service was fluent and friendly.

All in all a very nice stay, and we look forward to another visit soon.

Thank you.
Shaun

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rustyspoon85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Rustyspoon85

Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent visit to Crathorne Hall.

It was a real pleasure to have you both here and I was delighted that you both enjoyed the Levens Restaurant with it's 2 Rosette awarded food and the Chefs were really pleased with your comments

Rachel and Daniel were also really pleased with your comments about them and are shining stars with a natural and friendly personality which is what Crathorne Hall and other Hand Picked Hotels are all about when it comes to offering the best of experiences for our guests.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
140 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed one night during the wettest month on record in the UK and arguably the windiest/coldest night in January. The room 'Appleforth' was on the top floor and very exposed to the elements. The central heating battled and the warm towel rail was certainly set to luke-warm. The room could have done with a good dust and there was no soap provided. We arrived late afternoon on a Friday and found it difficult to attract any attention in the lounge to order tea. We didn't take dinner, instead opting to drive into the delightful town of Yarm. Breakfast was a highlight of the stay. We both opted for the Crathorne Hall Full Monty, a very tasty full-english breakfast. The black pudding and fried bread were notably good. The double espressos were disgusting, avoid. I'm not sure this is a hotel that I'd like to stay in for an extended period, one or two nights is probably optimum for this little gem that really needs some polishing.

Room Tip: Pay a few quid extra for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkirkbri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for your very kind review regarding your recent stay at Crathorne Hall.

It was a pleasure to read through the detail and great to hear you enjoyed your Full Breakfast which is always a very important meal to enjoy and I will be picking up on the other points you mentioned with my team so we continue to strive to offer the best of service.

I hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a fantastic stay at Crathorne Hall this past weekend.

I chose to upgrade our room when booking one of the dinner, bed and breakfast packages and was not disappointed. The suite was very spacious, the bed really comfortable and the roll top bath was a nice touch.

The staff in the hotel made our stay very special. Robert, who showed us to our room, was very knowledgable and Gloria who hosted us at afternoon tea and breakfast was fantastic.

Would strongly recommend a stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank griff81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Great to hear you had a fantastic time at Crathorne Hall.

Lovely to read that Robert and Gloria looked after you and I will make sure them and all the team know that you appreciate your stay with us.

Sounds like the upgrade was a 'hit' and I hope we will have the opporunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My husband and I had a great weekend. Lovely hotel with attentive, friendly staff. Food beautifully cooked. Our room was comfortable and looked out onto the grounds so very quiet. I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finerthings45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Lovely to hear you had a great stay at Crathorne Hall.

Sounds like you quietly enjoyed your night away and my team looked after you in an attentive and friendly way that made you feel at home.

The kitchen team were also really pleased to note that you enjoyed the food and I hope you will allow us to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My friends and I met at Crathorne for a festive afternoon tea on Christmas Eve, we had this in the restaurant which had been set for other afternoon tea's. The fire was lit and felt very cozy and Christmasy, a really great atmosphere. The afternoon tea was fantastic, delicious tea fancies with a Christmas theme and plenty of scones & tea for us to enjoy! I would definately recommend this to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your very kind comments about afternoon tea at Crathorne Hall.

Sounds like a lovely way to spend the afternoon and one that I am sure you will be looking to enjoy another time and remember that we do change the afternoon tea naughty pastries throughout the year!

I will pass your thanks on to the team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The hotel is set in open country side, although it is only minutes from the A19 so access is very easy. The hotel grounds could do with a little TLC, however we stayed in January so an allowance should be made here for winter weather.

The public areas of the hotel are well maintained, and comfortable the staff are attentive and friendly though not to the point of obsequiousness. We stayed in a mid range room which was very pleasant, and most importantly to my mind had a comfortable bed.

The evening meal menu was well put together with a choices to suit most tastes, and was cooked well. The breakfast menu was wide ranging, we had the standard full English which was lovely.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

As a point of feedback to the hotel, I would suggest you maybe need too revisit the pricing on your wine list, we recognise that you need to came a profit, however charging £34 for an £8 bottle of wine seems a little excessive.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your very kind comments from your stay at Crathorne Hall.

I thought your review was very well balanced and it was great to hear that you would have no hesitation to recommend us to all to indulge in lovely food while relaxing in style.

I will be passing your thanks to my team and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter Llewellyn
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
1.9 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
547 reviews
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,448 reviews
10.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,448 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
384 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crathorne Hall Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing