We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend to remember”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just spent my honeymoon weekend and Crathorne Hall and still have a smile on my face. From the moment we walked through the door we were made to feel welcome and at no time did we sense that anything was too much trouble for the staff at the hotel. The bedrooms were beautiful and very comfortable, the food was superb, there was an excellent choice of wine and all in amazing surroundings. Even though there was a wedding in the hotel on the Friday evening it felt like the hotel tried really hard to ensure that 'regular' guests were not impacted. We'll definitely be back again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Phil_Linda04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
There are newer reviews for Crathorne Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

432 - 438 of 894 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Came here for my friends wedding the setting is amazing the grounds are to die for. The rooms are big and spacious the food... Amazing! A little pricey but the rooms are huge and the walk in cupboard was bugger than the bathroom. Lovely setting for a wedding or romantic getaway

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DCorbishley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Dawn C

Thank you for your very kind email regarding your recent stay at Crathorne Hall.

I was really delighted that you enjoyed your friends wedding and you are right that the Crathorne Suite has the best walk in wardrobe that is huge!

I hope we will get the chance to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Loved this hotel from the moment I hit the long driveway. This building is magnificent and a step back in time but with mod cons. Can't fault the service, food, room or bedding. Great for a romantic few days away or a weekend retreat. The public rooms are so relaxing to sit and read or drink coffee or pimms.

Room Tip: Choose the Maltby Suite for a stone terrace
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear VictoriaRach

Lovely to hear you had a great experience at Crathorne Hall and lovely to have you here.

Maltby is also one of my favourite rooms as it is a big room with a balcony overlooking the Leven Valley. I was also delighted to read you enjoyed our service which we care so much about in delivering our guests expectations by making you feel special to create lifelong fans.

The staff were really pleased you had a wonderful time and we all hope we will get the opportunituy of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Have only popped in to enjoy a lunch but what a delight. A 1903 late Victorian frippery of a Hotel with Georgian pretentions it delights in it's dedication to opulence. The food was fantastic and well priced. The staff friendly and engaging, services and things like current magazines and newspapers all made for an enjoyable sojourn. The grounds encourage reflective walks and solitude is easily fund if wanted. The hotel presents flawlessly and is a must do if anywhere nearby. Would also look into a meal or stay at the Tontine just down the A19 aways towards the M1. Equally nice.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grailinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Grailinvestment
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback on your time at Crathorne Hall.

it was a real pleasure to have you here and sounds like you not only enjoyed the hotel but also our wonderful grounds that are kept so well by our gardener Chris who keeps a watchful eye on our grass, plants and trees!

I was also delighted to read you enjoyed your food which is so important for all our guests in making sure you have a great time while delivering your expectation.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We had a couple of days away at this hotel last week and i have to say this place is out of this world
From the moment you walk though the front door you are made to feel special the hotel is delightful and full of charm.
Food is some of the best I've tasted the whole break was just perfect and as a special treat i will return for sure
The only downside to our visit was the fly's in the dinning room they where a pest when you where trying to eat it was warm both evenings so doors and windows where open but some fly spray would have come in useful.
don't let that put you off it would have been a one off I'm sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear David B

It was delightful to have you both stay at Crathorne Hall for a break away!

I am always pleased to recieve construtive feedback and yours certainly 'hit the mark' and I was really happy to read that you enjoyed not only our hospitality but also our 2 rosette food in the Leven Restaurant.

The staff certainly appreciated your comments as we continue to strive to exceed our guests expectations every day by making them feel special.

We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked a last minute trip through the Sunday night club deal including cream tea, three course evening meal, bed and breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at Crathorne. The staff were all very welcoming and made our stay very enjoyable and relaxing whilst the quality of the food was fantastic throughout. A highly recommended location and great value, we will certainly be visiting again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Andrew C

Great review and you are right to say that the Sunday Deal is great value and really pleased you had a wonderful time with all that is included! From the Creat tea to the lovely 3 course meal and great full english breakfast while soaking up the atmosphere of a grand old home with hotel services - a home from home!

We all appreciated your very kind feedback and we will continue to offer value for money while offering only the best of hospitality.

Look forward to welcomning you back in the near future when you need a getaway!

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My wife, daughter and i visited on a Sunday afternoon for Afternoon Tea. From pulling up at the hotel to leaving we were delighted with what we had. The hotel is lovely and the staff were very nice also. the Afternoon Tea was spot on. Lots of lovely food and surroundings. We could not eat it all so the waitress kindly boxed what was left for us to take away.
I would recommend this hotel and will def go back
Thanks :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Mr Quinn

Your review was a delight to read and I was really pleased you enjoyed your Full Afternoon Tea and Crathorne Hall.

Experience Afternoon Tea is always a treat and it was lovely to read that you enjoyed all the nice and naughty treats while enjoying the surroundings with your wife and daughter.

Service is everything and I will pass on your thanks to all my staff.

I hope we will have the chance to welcome you all back in the future.

Kind regards

Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,497 reviews
1.8 mi away
Judges Country House Hotel
Judges Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirklevington
572 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Wynyard Hall
Wynyard Hall
#1 of 1 in Billingham
1,095 reviews
15.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,265 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range: £132 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crathorne Hall Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing