We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Me and my family stayed at the hotel following a wedding reception and the whole experience was fantastic!
The service was wonderful, and the rooms were very luxurious! I haven't experienced anything like it before. I can definitely recommend the Leven room! The views were wonderful and the lengths the staff went to to make sure everyone was comfortable and happy were lovely. My only complaint would be that I couldn't stay there for longer!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie9292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Ellie9292

Great review and fantastic to hear you had a delightful time with us at Crathorne Hall.

Lovely to hear the wonderful comments and the great news is......we will be here for a very long time so I am sure we will get the pleasure of being able to welcome you back soon. If you do, let me know so we have the opportunity offering a couple of glass of chilled champagne on arrival as you book back into the Leven room again!!

Take care and thank you!

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    165
    65
    26
    20
See reviews for
162
428
7
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Crathorne Hall is the perfect setting for a wedding. My son had his reception there this week and the whole experience was absolutely fantastic from start to finish. We were greeted with a glass of Pimms, shown to a beautiful venue and served a faultless wedding breakfast. Every guest commented on the quality of the food. The staff were delightful and the ambiance was one of grandeur and grace. It was a privilege to be a guest and I can honestly say it was one of the best days of life.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Amanda

Thank you for your lovely review and I was really pleased to read that the wedding was a great success for you, your family and of course your son and bride!!

My team will be delighted you had the time of your life and I know reviews like yours really puts a spring in everybodies step so thank you!

Crathorne Hall is a great place for your wedding with a wonderful settings and our service we offer certainly hit the mark by the sounds of it! We really do enjoy having weddings at the house because it is such a special day and we want to make sure the memories of this day will be cherished forever.

Hopefully we may see you another time, or even for the 1st Wedding Anniversary for a little get together.

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

When we arrived we couldn't help but be wowed by the building, it looked very posh and felt like the perfect setting miles from any hustle and bustle, which is exactly what we were looking for. However check in was a lengthy process, and the instructions on how to find the room weren't very clear, we even stumbled across another couple looking for theirs. The room was lovely, well set out, a nice sized bathroom, and free wifi. We then went to put our belongings in the safe before we left for a walk and it was locked. I rang straight down to reception to report it and they said they'd send someone up, after waiting for 45 minutes nobody arrived so we left for our walk. When we returned there was a smell of human waste, as we were rushing to get to dinner arrangements we didn't have time to hang about and wait for someone to come up again, and nobody had been to look at the safe in our time out of the room. On returning to the room that night the safe still hadn't been fixed, the smell was even worse, and they hadn't bothered to carry out the turndown service. There were also no slippers in the room, the mattress cover was put on so it didn't cover the whole mattress, and there was a very dusty bottle of shampoo under the wardrobe, definitely felt like no care or attention had been put into any housekeeping.
Service at breakfast didn't get much better. We came down 30 minutes before it finished and there was pretty much nothing left of the cold/dried choices. You then order anything hot through table service, which was a nice touch, but we were waiting quite a while. When it finally arrived my porridge was taken to another table, sent back, syrup was dropped on the floor, and then brought back to me once the waitresses had discussed at the back of the room, leaving us waiting for more syrup for me and my partner's breakfast.
I did write a list of complaints and presented it on check out. I was immediately given the excuse that the housekeeper thought we were in the room so didn't bother with turndown, seemed a bit odd that she would know this off the top of her head... She then asked if I would like a call from the manager which I said yes to. Then she tried to charge me for the room which I had already paid for on booking. The manager did try to call me four days later while I was at work and left me a voicemail to say he would try again, but he never bothered. Such a shame that such a lovely hotel is run in such a way, would have expected the finest level of detail and attention from the hotel staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, otherwise you'll be looking at the bins like we were!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your review and I am very concerned to hear your experience did not meet your expectations which at this stage I would like to formally apologise to you both.

Your comments have been talked through with the team and we fully appreciate the opportunity to see how our normal high levels of service have not been met when you stayed with us.

We are all fully committed to making sure our guests have the best of experiences and through your comments we will be reviewing how we effective look after our guests. I would like to invite you both back to Crathorne so we have the opportunity to restore your faith if you could contact me to discuss.

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We visited Crathorne hall with a view to booking an evening meal and overnight stay after our wedding at a different venue for next summer. Our numbers are small. We were shown the restaurant and rooms which were lovely. We left our contact details with reception to discuss our requirements and made a provisional booking to stay overnight at the hotel for next year. That was a week ago and still waiting for the hotel to phone us to confirm arrangements. I was assured the "manager" would ring last Tuesday. I wait in anticipation ! We have since made arrangements with a hotel in Darlington who were more than accommodating. Very disappointed

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mylittlefudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Mr Sims,

Thank you for your review and for speaking with me.

I am sorry that we did not get back to you as quickly as possible and I would like to reassure you that this is very abnormal for us as we appreciate the importance of all the opportunities from our guests.

It is sad that I did not get a chance to speak to you before you did this review as we are always striving to delivery our guests expectations every day. But on occasions 'human error' plays a part as in all businesses, and our procedures have been reviewed to make sure future situations like this do not occur.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I took my 87 year old mother to visit relatives and stayed at this wonderful hotel. My mother has limited mobility and the staff could not do enough to help us. Fresh milk in the room on arrival? no problem. Self service at the breakfast bar? Let me carry that plate to your table for you madam. A room that is spotlessly clean and comfortable, every member of staff giving excellent service and all this complemented by excellent food. YES we will be going back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Dennis

Thank you for your lovely review which was a pleasure to read and all the team are delighted by your words.

It is always wonderful to see your mother and wife stay with us as we continue to strive to exceed the expectations of our guests by making them feel special to create life long fans.

Please do not hesitate in contacting me if I can be of any further assistance and we look forward to seeing them soon and I hope you too!

Kind regards
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Crathorne Hall was a beautuful property. The rooms and staff were all exactly as they should be, lovely.
Rooms were large, clean and well appointed.
The selection at breakfast in the dining hall was well presented and varied, the service was good.
I really wanted to write an exceptional review for this property but I can't.
I left feeling a bit underwhelmed, but for no obvious reason.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Natalie

Thank you for your review and we were all pleased with your overall scoring.

Great to hear you thought the property was beautiful, with big bedrooms along with being looked after by all the profesional team and breakfast to finish off hit your expectation.

Crathorne Hall is a wonderful place to come and relax and indulge in some lovely food and wine while wondering what it used to be like in the old days when the house was privately owned.

I hope we will see you again as it would be lovely to welcome you back so we can make sure we look after you even more and make you feel that bit more special.

Kind regards

Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Hi would just like to warn people when booking a wedding at crathorne hall that if the wedding is cancelled they return no money that you have paid which is thousands. We give 6 months notice that wedding cancelled to be told if date taken they would refund half of our money. There were about 5 dates available for the same month , but they have all gone but our date is still there . The cancelled date is not advertised at any price or anything. The manager could not give a hoot . Crathorne are very good at taking money but could not care less at a very stressful time when your wedding has been cancelled. Just to warn people before they book

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Lkh9363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter L, General Manager at Crathorne Hall Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Please note for anybody who is reading this review that the details are incorrect and should not be taken as such.

As you would agree we are normally supported well by tripadvisor comments giving the hotel a certificate of excellence which is very hard to achieve and we are very proud to be given this accolade and our high rating by our guests.

We strive to exceed the expectations of our guests every day by making them feel special to create life long fans.

We are a professionally run business with caring and friendly staff, as all would know who have stayed with us, and we have no interest in upsetting any of our guests including this Bride & Groom

I understand this was a very sad situation and this review is a re-action to not getting what was wanted, but this was not from lack of trying to resolve the concern from our side.

From
Peter
A General Manager who has always had the guests interests at heart!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crathorne
12.1 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,479 reviews
9.3 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,516 reviews
15.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
212 reviews
23.0 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
5.7 mi away
The Cleveland Tontine
The Cleveland Tontine
#1 of 1 in Staddlebridge
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crathorne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crathorne Hall Hotel

Property: Crathorne Hall Hotel
Address: A-19 to A-67 towards Yarm, Crathorne TS15 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Crathorne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crathorne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crathorne Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1906, with captivating views of the Leven Valley on the edge of the Yorkshire Moors, Crathorne Hall is at once grand and stately, warm and welcoming. Owned by the Dugdale family until 1977, the hall has played host to politicians, courted royalty and delighted socialites over the decades. Yet despite moving in stately circles, the house has stayed true to its roots as a place of entertainment and relaxation. Now it is yours to explore. Enjoy an overnight stay in one of our 37 bedrooms (17 of which have recently been refurbished following a £4 million restoration of the Hall's East Wing), plan your perfect day and take over the hotel for your wedding or inspire your delegates with our meeting facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Crathorne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crathorne Hall Hotel North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing