We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Wecome”
Review of The Grapes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grapes Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Saltash, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm Wecome”
Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a warm welcome from the new landlord and landlady, Mark and Lyne.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and their staff.
The bed and breakfast was very good.
The meal in the restaurant was excellent.
Ask if Jeff the chef’s Mushroom soup is on the menu, it’s the best one I have ever tasted.
We will be back.
Marilyn & John

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    23
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We called into the grapes today as we were passing by,the sun was shining over the dam a beautiful part of the dales,we knew the grapes had been taken over a few weeks ago,so thought give it a try,the new landlords mark and lynn were very pleasant and very welcoming,they have fantastic ideas for the place,and im sure word will soon spread about the grapes, and the good days will return.the proof of the pudding tho was in the meal,OUTSTANDING,(real chips)the best i have tasted outside home, however many stars the place had.the ingredients,garnish,were top draw as was the chef, who cooked the meal.the price was very reasonable as well.mark said they were going to renovate the bar etc,new guest ales,which the place does need,but go there support them and see the place change before your eyes.we will certainly go back,well done mark and lynn for the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephenjohn508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here after a wedding at a local " Upmarket establishment ". believe me, this is the upmarket establishment. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Hospitality of the best. Breakfast is booked on booking in which means that it arrives at the time requested, freshly cooked and really good. Internet search shows it is haunted but nothing out of the ordinary for us. Nice looking restaraunt but unfortunately did not have time to sample the evening meal. I will be back though so watch this space.

Room Tip: One overlooking Scaling Dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank riponrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

We called in here on the way back from a day at Whitby after many times of passing by.
We were not dissapionted. The food was outstanding.
The pub is very county pubish, the service was wonderfull an the bar man was extremly helpful.
I would recommend this pub to everyone, and would recommend the pork stack too

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Upsydaisy2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at the Grapes in late November. We arrived in the dark and you seem to drive for ages in the dark across the moors before you find the pub - right there in the middle of the moors! We must admit we wondered where we had come too. After a bit of confusion over our booking - lots of people with the same initial surname had booked - we were taken to our room. It was small but ok with a tiny bathroom with one of those space saver toilets that makes a very loud sound when flushed!

The portions at dinner were huge - I had escalope of chicken and it was two chicken breast flattened plus loads of chips. Great at the end of an exhausting day on the moors.

Breakfast was also good with a choice of hot and cold items which you need to decide on the night before.

Great location for exploring North Yorkshire.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We have eaten here a number of times and it is so nice to go to a proper pub. I would advise checking the opening times.

The meal portion sizes are huge. Typical pub food - mixed grill, steak pie and chips, lasagne etc. The food always comes with lots of well cooked veg.

Outside they have a large play area for the kids

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASuttonRes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stopt here in late june 09 for lunch , staff were freindly , food was great , beutiful old pub. We asked if we could stay but all rooms were booked out. Lovely atmosphere

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haroldAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easington
1.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,035 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
516 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
810 reviews
3.3 mi away
Townend Farm Bed & Breakfast
27.7 mi away
No photo provided
Manor House B&B
#2 of 4 in Easington
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Inn

Property: The Grapes Inn
Address: A171 Main Rd | Scaling Dam, Easington TS13 4TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grapes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grapes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Guisborough
The Grapes Inn Easington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing