We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent visit for dinner Bank Holiday May 2013”
Review of The Grapes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grapes Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I am surprised with the excellent reviews on this establishment. We visited for dinner and were very disappointed. While I note that the place has only recently been taken over and the new owners are starting a refurbishment plan some issues can be explained by this but things need to change before I would recommend to friends etc What caused my disappointment and concern was the fact that my dog was not welcome, except in the bar, so we had to eat at small bar tables, not easy for a 88 year old. It is only againt the law for dogs to be in food prep areas, not restuarants as advised. In this difficult economy establishments like this should be looking to maximise their client base. We also had to ask for napkins and my husband had to wait for a long time at the bar to order a drink, while the barman replenished the condiments in the restuarant. On a bank holiday perhaps more staff were required! When the food came it was okay, steak in steak pie a bit tough, gammon steak could have done with a bit longer on the grill, chips soft. On the plus side portions were huge. These things can be excused, and some of the issues I had can be put down to teething problems but the dirty tea towel being used to dry knifes and forks is a no no. Another party left before ordering because of this. Food finished at 8, longer serving hours may attract passing trade. I think the inn is in a very good location and if the new owners can resolve the issues this will be a very popular place. Owner did come and speak to us as we left, and was concerned that we did not enjoy our meal. I would suggest a visit to The Board Inn near Glaidalefor ideas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatBlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

My partner and I had given up on the Grapes from previous experiences. The pub and restaurant appeared to be unheated, the quality of the food was variable at best and the selection of drinks was poor.

Following a recommendation from a friend we gave it another try. WOW! We have now visited three times and it has improved each time. The stove in the bar has been replaced with a gorgeous open fire, both the bar and restaurant are warm and the staff are welcoming. The pub is obviously in need of some refurbishment but we have seen changes with each visit- it is a big building and I guess it will take time to complete.

They have really changed the bar, there is a much better range of drinks and the food is good value, just what you would expect in a pub. There was a problem with the chips on our second visit, they were very dark. On mentioning this to the staff they were very apologetic and explained that they had tried a different variety of potato.This last visit they were back to their original quality.

All in all a great place that we will visit again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

After reading the review below I was a bit nervous about going to eat at The Grapes last night. We had arranged to meet friends there at 6:30pm and could not change last minute.
One room does appear to be getting refurbished but we ate in the bar area which was fine. The barman was very welcoming and helpful. We ordered two pork parmesans, two chicken parmesans a childs parmesan and a beef stroganoff....you certainly WONT be disapointed! They were delicious. We waitied about half an hour which is what you expect when the food is cooked from fresh. The portion sizes were fab for us as we are all big eaters. My husband said his stroganoff was amazing.

The view is lovely overlooking Scaling Dam and we were fortunate enough to see the boats sailing about. It even managed to tear my daughter away from her ipad!

We enjoyed it that much we have arranged to visit again at the end of next month.

Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank paula l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Visited the grapes inn for an evening meal after checking out reviews.The pub is in need off refurbishment .We were the only customers eating in the restaurant.Weboth ordered steak that was cooked fine but the chips appeared to been warmed up and were nearly burnt.We left after our meal and will not visit in the near future.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Jammydodger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at The Grapes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Please accept our apologies for your poor experience with our restaurant. We tried using a different variety of potato for our chips. Unfortunately it didn't work out very well so we have returned to our original variety and we receive many positive comments about both our meals and specifically the chips. We are aware that the pub needs refurbishment and are working our way through this. Please bear with us as we do this, it will take some time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

What a warm welcome from the new landlord and landlady, Mark and Lyne.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and their staff.
The bed and breakfast was very good.
The meal in the restaurant was excellent.
Ask if Jeff the chef’s Mushroom soup is on the menu, it’s the best one I have ever tasted.
We will be back.
Marilyn & John

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We called into the grapes today as we were passing by,the sun was shining over the dam a beautiful part of the dales,we knew the grapes had been taken over a few weeks ago,so thought give it a try,the new landlords mark and lynn were very pleasant and very welcoming,they have fantastic ideas for the place,and im sure word will soon spread about the grapes, and the good days will return.the proof of the pudding tho was in the meal,OUTSTANDING,(real chips)the best i have tasted outside home, however many stars the place had.the ingredients,garnish,were top draw as was the chef, who cooked the meal.the price was very reasonable as well.mark said they were going to renovate the bar etc,new guest ales,which the place does need,but go there support them and see the place change before your eyes.we will certainly go back,well done mark and lynn for the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephenjohn508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Stayed here after a wedding at a local " Upmarket establishment ". believe me, this is the upmarket establishment. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Hospitality of the best. Breakfast is booked on booking in which means that it arrives at the time requested, freshly cooked and really good. Internet search shows it is haunted but nothing out of the ordinary for us. Nice looking restaraunt but unfortunately did not have time to sample the evening meal. I will be back though so watch this space.

Room Tip: One overlooking Scaling Dam
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank riponrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Grapes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Inn

Address: A171 Main Rd | Scaling Dam, Easington TS13 4TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Price Range: £45 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grapes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grapes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Guisborough
The Grapes Inn Easington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing