We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely stay again :-)”
Review of The Grapes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grapes Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Will definitely stay again :-)”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was initially sceptical about staying here but I'm so glad we did, yes some of the public areas need updating but judging by the notification signs this is a work in progress. On our arrival we were met by the very friendly staff and the landlord checked us in (faster than some hotels I won't mention) whilst my husband and son got drinks at the bar (one of the best, cleanest pints in my hubby's words) I went to look at the room, the landlord said it was the best room so I was pleasantly surprised by traditional decor rather than the modern clinical feel. The family room consists of double bed, double bunk, adequate storage for clothes, ensuite shower room and tea/coffee facilities with more just down the corridor if needed. We ordered food at the bar and ate in the restaurant, i have coeliac disease so again was happy to see that this was more than catered for which meant I could have anything I wanted and have to say one of the best meals I've had in a long time. When we booked the room we asked the landlord if he could arrange transport to take us to a wedding in a remote location, he apologised that he had not been able to get a taxi as whitby regatta had booked everything out but not to worry he had organised one of his friends to take us at no cost (excellent customer service). We had our own key to get in which meant we could enjoy ourselves without time restrictions. When checking in you're asked to complete a breakfast order form before going out, we forgot but was still asked (when breakfast was closed) if we wanted to eat. The location, view over scaling dam, food, room and overall fantastic customer service will definitely keep guests returning. Thanks to Mark and the team

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    23
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NE England
Level Contributor
391 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The interior of the bar and dining room were dark, dull and depressing, even on a bright summer's day. A few litres of light paint, some new soft furnishing and less dark wood work would go a long way to making this a more pleasant place to eat in.

The lunch menu was not very interesting, it offered the usual bar type meals, pie and chips, fish and chips, scampi, and steaks. There was a much more interesting choice on the vegetarian menu. We chose the fish and chips and the fish was good. The wine list is short, but the wine we chose to drink was good of its kind and well priced. The service was good.

The Grapes is situated in a pleasant location and there is a good car park.

All in all there were some good points, but the bar and dining room are in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at The Grapes Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this visit. We are aware that the pub is in need of substantial refurbishment. Unfortunately we took over a building that has been neglected for a number of years and it will take some time to deal with the issues we are constantly finding. Our menu is deliberately a pub menu with the pub staples, our specials board offers some more unusual alternatives on a day to day basis. Too many old pubs now are becoming restaurants, we are, and will remain, a pub that sells proper home made food. As we employ a chef we do have a limited ability to go off menu (given notice) and will always try to cater to special requests. We are grateful for all comments, both positive and negative, as they give us an idea of how to prioritise the work that needs doing from the customers perspective. Thank you for choosing to try us and also for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great bar, huge mixed grill, clean rooms, comfy beds, genuine hospitality, value for money, geese - what more could you ask for? I spend at least 60 nights a year in hotels and this one's thoroughly recommended...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo11ock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Husband and i stopped off early on fri 19th July for bar supper and were welcomed warmly by new owner Mark and we decided to eat in the restaurant. Lovely varied menu choice to suit all tastes. As huband and i had been out walking all day in the Moors we were ravenous so decided to do all three courses! Had lovely chat with Mark saying that we were in area on hol visiting from Edinburgh and our dogs were exhausted in car after our day of walking, to which he replied they were welcome in bar and he has a supply of dog chews for treats which is a lovely touch.
All of our meal was homemade from scratch by the chef and well worth waiting for, the fishcake starter amazing and all portions huge. Mark was amazed we ate all 3 courses, apparently we were the first ever since he took over to achieve this, to which we could only reply when food is this good a clean empty plate is all that can happen. Compliments to the Chef indeed. Thanks Mark for the warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toots40lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for one night last night as a last minute getaway, so we could be in the Yorkshire moors national park when we woke up, to make the most of a well deserved Sunday off.

We arrived around half eight as we were both busy all day, and when we asked about food, the chef was happy to wait for us to take an order, which was great, considering the time of day and it being a smaller pub/hotel.

The landlord and staff were really friendly and accommodating, the room was 'compact' as the landlord put it - actually it was more than adequate, really clean and comfy, the bed was fabulous and the view over the water was outstanding. Breakfast was included in the price, arrived exactly on time and the coffee is to die for! The landlord orders it from over three hundred miles away!

The initial beers didnt suit and the landlord put a fabulous alternative on....

The whole visit was so friendly. When we went down for breakfast we chatted with others staying, including a couple with a six month old baby, who was happily eating his breakfast in a high chair in this family friendly pub. Have to say, wasn't sure what to expect, but this stay was flawless and we will be back, without a doubt.

Just be aware the Canadian geese over the road can be loud, but it is a country venue...

Room Tip: If you sleep light ask for a room not at the front as the main road is there ... But really, the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I am surprised with the excellent reviews on this establishment. We visited for dinner and were very disappointed. While I note that the place has only recently been taken over and the new owners are starting a refurbishment plan some issues can be explained by this but things need to change before I would recommend to friends etc What caused my disappointment and concern was the fact that my dog was not welcome, except in the bar, so we had to eat at small bar tables, not easy for a 88 year old. It is only againt the law for dogs to be in food prep areas, not restuarants as advised. In this difficult economy establishments like this should be looking to maximise their client base. We also had to ask for napkins and my husband had to wait for a long time at the bar to order a drink, while the barman replenished the condiments in the restuarant. On a bank holiday perhaps more staff were required! When the food came it was okay, steak in steak pie a bit tough, gammon steak could have done with a bit longer on the grill, chips soft. On the plus side portions were huge. These things can be excused, and some of the issues I had can be put down to teething problems but the dirty tea towel being used to dry knifes and forks is a no no. Another party left before ordering because of this. Food finished at 8, longer serving hours may attract passing trade. I think the inn is in a very good location and if the new owners can resolve the issues this will be a very popular place. Owner did come and speak to us as we left, and was concerned that we did not enjoy our meal. I would suggest a visit to The Board Inn near Glaidalefor ideas.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatBlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 May 2013

My partner and I had given up on the Grapes from previous experiences. The pub and restaurant appeared to be unheated, the quality of the food was variable at best and the selection of drinks was poor.

Following a recommendation from a friend we gave it another try. WOW! We have now visited three times and it has improved each time. The stove in the bar has been replaced with a gorgeous open fire, both the bar and restaurant are warm and the staff are welcoming. The pub is obviously in need of some refurbishment but we have seen changes with each visit- it is a big building and I guess it will take time to complete.

They have really changed the bar, there is a much better range of drinks and the food is good value, just what you would expect in a pub. There was a problem with the chips on our second visit, they were very dark. On mentioning this to the staff they were very apologetic and explained that they had tried a different variety of potato.This last visit they were back to their original quality.

All in all a great place that we will visit again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easington
4.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
1.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club
#3 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
7.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
4.5 mi away
Cleveland Corner
Cleveland Corner
#4 of 6 in Staithes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Inn

Property: The Grapes Inn
Address: A171 Main Rd | Scaling Dam, Easington TS13 4TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grapes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Grapes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Guisborough
The Grapes Inn Easington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing