We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - particularly for water sports enthusiasts”
Review of The Grapes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grapes Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Bingley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location - particularly for water sports enthusiasts”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The Inn is situated opposite Scaling Dam, a lovely expanse of water that can be walked around. The rooms were small but very clean with comfortable beds. The food was lovely and staff friendly. The decor needs updating but with a new owner at the helm, The Grapes can only move upwards.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    23
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
19
35
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for one night and really enjoyed our stay the room was clean and tidy and was good value, the meals and breakfast was 100% spot on and the staff where nothing but friendly. Stunning views over Scaling Dam and Whitby is not that far a drive away. This Pub is a traditional coaching Inn and is full of Character and charm it doesn't need much altering as i did notice on one of the feedback from someone that they had said it was dark and dingy this is rubbish this pub and restaurant is just perfect the way it is! Thank you for our lovely stay and i would definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rarebrowndog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I was initially sceptical about staying here but I'm so glad we did, yes some of the public areas need updating but judging by the notification signs this is a work in progress. On our arrival we were met by the very friendly staff and the landlord checked us in (faster than some hotels I won't mention) whilst my husband and son got drinks at the bar (one of the best, cleanest pints in my hubby's words) I went to look at the room, the landlord said it was the best room so I was pleasantly surprised by traditional decor rather than the modern clinical feel. The family room consists of double bed, double bunk, adequate storage for clothes, ensuite shower room and tea/coffee facilities with more just down the corridor if needed. We ordered food at the bar and ate in the restaurant, i have coeliac disease so again was happy to see that this was more than catered for which meant I could have anything I wanted and have to say one of the best meals I've had in a long time. When we booked the room we asked the landlord if he could arrange transport to take us to a wedding in a remote location, he apologised that he had not been able to get a taxi as whitby regatta had booked everything out but not to worry he had organised one of his friends to take us at no cost (excellent customer service). We had our own key to get in which meant we could enjoy ourselves without time restrictions. When checking in you're asked to complete a breakfast order form before going out, we forgot but was still asked (when breakfast was closed) if we wanted to eat. The location, view over scaling dam, food, room and overall fantastic customer service will definitely keep guests returning. Thanks to Mark and the team

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level 6 Contributor
410 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

The interior of the bar and dining room were dark, dull and depressing, even on a bright summer's day. A few litres of light paint, some new soft furnishing and less dark wood work would go a long way to making this a more pleasant place to eat in.

The lunch menu was not very interesting, it offered the usual bar type meals, pie and chips, fish and chips, scampi, and steaks. There was a much more interesting choice on the vegetarian menu. We chose the fish and chips and the fish was good. The wine list is short, but the wine we chose to drink was good of its kind and well priced. The service was good.

The Grapes is situated in a pleasant location and there is a good car park.

All in all there were some good points, but the bar and dining room are in need of refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellerNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, Owner at The Grapes Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to meet your expectations on this visit. We are aware that the pub is in need of substantial refurbishment. Unfortunately we took over a building that has been neglected for a number of years and it will take some time to deal with the issues we are constantly finding. Our menu is deliberately a pub menu with the pub staples, our specials board offers some more unusual alternatives on a day to day basis. Too many old pubs now are becoming restaurants, we are, and will remain, a pub that sells proper home made food. As we employ a chef we do have a limited ability to go off menu (given notice) and will always try to cater to special requests. We are grateful for all comments, both positive and negative, as they give us an idea of how to prioritise the work that needs doing from the customers perspective. Thank you for choosing to try us and also for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Great bar, huge mixed grill, clean rooms, comfy beds, genuine hospitality, value for money, geese - what more could you ask for? I spend at least 60 nights a year in hotels and this one's thoroughly recommended...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bo11ock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Husband and i stopped off early on fri 19th July for bar supper and were welcomed warmly by new owner Mark and we decided to eat in the restaurant. Lovely varied menu choice to suit all tastes. As huband and i had been out walking all day in the Moors we were ravenous so decided to do all three courses! Had lovely chat with Mark saying that we were in area on hol visiting from Edinburgh and our dogs were exhausted in car after our day of walking, to which he replied they were welcome in bar and he has a supply of dog chews for treats which is a lovely touch.
All of our meal was homemade from scratch by the chef and well worth waiting for, the fishcake starter amazing and all portions huge. Mark was amazed we ate all 3 courses, apparently we were the first ever since he took over to achieve this, to which we could only reply when food is this good a clean empty plate is all that can happen. Compliments to the Chef indeed. Thanks Mark for the warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toots40lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed for one night last night as a last minute getaway, so we could be in the Yorkshire moors national park when we woke up, to make the most of a well deserved Sunday off.

We arrived around half eight as we were both busy all day, and when we asked about food, the chef was happy to wait for us to take an order, which was great, considering the time of day and it being a smaller pub/hotel.

The landlord and staff were really friendly and accommodating, the room was 'compact' as the landlord put it - actually it was more than adequate, really clean and comfy, the bed was fabulous and the view over the water was outstanding. Breakfast was included in the price, arrived exactly on time and the coffee is to die for! The landlord orders it from over three hundred miles away!

The initial beers didnt suit and the landlord put a fabulous alternative on....

The whole visit was so friendly. When we went down for breakfast we chatted with others staying, including a couple with a six month old baby, who was happily eating his breakfast in a high chair in this family friendly pub. Have to say, wasn't sure what to expect, but this stay was flawless and we will be back, without a doubt.

Just be aware the Canadian geese over the road can be loud, but it is a country venue...

Room Tip: If you sleep light ask for a room not at the front as the main road is there ... But really, the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheBigF101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easington
1.2 mi away
Grinkle Park Hotel
Grinkle Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Easington
1,051 reviews
4.6 mi away
Cliffemount Hotel
Cliffemount Hotel
#1 of 2 in Runswick
525 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,051 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
3.3 mi away
Townend Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grapes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grapes Inn

Property: The Grapes Inn
Address: A171 Main Rd | Scaling Dam, Easington TS13 4TP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Easington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grapes Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The Grapes Hotel Guisborough
The Grapes Inn Easington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing