We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grinkle Park Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Grapes Inn(Easington)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hunley Hotel and Golf Club(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brockley Hall Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Spa Hotel(Saltburn-by-the-Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunsley Hall(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Estbek House(Sandsend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,102)
Filter reviews
1,102 results
Traveller rating
773
237
62
21
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
773
237
62
21
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teaclassic lodgeson arrivalcream teacourse evening mealsconescountry house hotelrelaxing breakbridal suitebottle of proseccobed and breakfastbeautiful hotelfree upgradethe north yorkshire moorsno liftlog firewedding party
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
730 - 735 of 1,102 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

An exceptionally beautiful hotel set within acres of well cared for grounds.
Close to the market town of Guisborough and a stones throw from the historic coastal town of Whitby.
From the ballroom you can look east and see the seaand to the west you have the beauty of the vast North Yorkshire moors.
You would have to go a long long way before you could find a better location - it must be the most romantic location in North Yorkshire and makes for a perfect wedding reception.
The food was fantastic, the staff were even better, nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: The only complaint is that some rooms are a bit on the small side as such the double beds can be a bit narrow and too sort especially if you are taller than say 5' 10" and you and your partner are slightly over weight. but do not let that put you off they do have larger beds so my suggestion is to ask what size the room / bed is before you book
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIbbott, General Manager at Grinkle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

May I thank you for posting your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Its a truly beautiful hotel in stunning grounds and thats what makes it somewhat special, added to this the attention to detail and friendly team.
Come back and stay again soon. No excuses !!!!
Kind regards
Richard Ibbott and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I cannot speak highly enough of Grinkle Park Hotel. My daughter held her wedding reception there on 10th August this year and we couldn't fault a thing. All the staff were brilliant and Richard was great. It s a lovely hotel and many guests said it was one of the nicest weddings they had been to. The photographs looked gorgeous in the beautiful surroundings. We will never forget that magical day. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIbbott, General Manager at Grinkle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your Magical Review !!! We go to great lengths to ensure all our guest absolutely enjoy themselves and I am truly delighted that you all had such a wonderful time.

Keep coming back even if just for a natter and a cuppa - the kettles always on !!!!

See you again soon Richard and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Room (we stayed in Commondale) was warm, spacious, clean and quiet, with lovely views over the lawns (enhanced by a million pheasants). Grounds are beautiful, with established and varied trees. Good breakfast, and very enjoyable dinner on both of our evenings. Would recommend staying at Grinkle Park whilst exploring this part of the East coast. Many thanks to all the Staff who were most attentive during our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cobbs43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIbbott, General Manager at Grinkle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review. Sound slike you had a great stay. No excuses now - come back again soon
Always have alook at our website for some truly great "Offers"
Kind regards Richard Ibbott

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

What a lovely place to stay, full of character and charm. The building itself from the outside looks a bit imposing but inside is just beautiful with its sweeping staircase and big open fire place. We booked this using Tesco Clubcard vouchers, so didn't expect too much as it only cost an extra £80, but wow were we in for a nice surprise.

Our room "Snipe" was quite small but had all that we needed for a cosy weekend. It was immaculately clean and even though the building is about 300 years old it didn't smell damp or musty, even in the wardrobe!! They provide lovely fluffy white bathrobes and slippers to snuggle up in. We had lovely views of the garden and fish pond, and it was sooo quiet, no traffic noises....bliss.

There was only one thing that was a shame was when some plumbing in another room became blocked causing water to bubble up in our bathroom the first day. Eventually this caused a small flood in the other room and out on to the flat roof below our window. Staff came to our room to see where the blockage was in an effort to resolve the problem and it soon was sorted. Not really a problem for us.

The breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice, and a good time slot of 8am - 10am. The staff are so friendly and courteous.

All round a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Snipe overlooked the garden and pond. On the small size though.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gevap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIbbott, General Manager at Grinkle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your great review. I must apologise for the incident with the plumbing. If my memory serves me correctly it was 19th September when the plumbing decided to have moment of maddness, nevertheless, we quickly remedied it.
Snipe is one of our smaller "cosier" rooms but rest assured we have some gigantic rooms aswell. Give us a call when next planning on staying and we will do our utmost to allocate you a awesome room of cavenous proportioins
See you again soon
Kind regards Richard Ibbott and the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Because this hotel was once a family home the whole place has a very nice ambience. The rooms are not little boxes, the staircases are huge - really lovely, and of course only 21 rooms so feels intimate and friendly. The grounds are well kept and we saw pheasants and deer on the lawns. We took advantage of an Autumn Break special offer to stay two nights mid-week. We had the Hydrangea room and were impressed. Never spent such a quiet night in an hotel ! Food was good and staff friendly. Very handily place for Staithes, Whitby etc.
Not sure I would want to stay here when there was a wedding on - but hoping to persuade friends to have their reception here so will make an exception for that!
Hope to try out another of the Classic Lodge hotels at some time.

Room Tip: Were lucky enough to be upgraded to deluxe double but all seem good.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIbbott, General Manager at Grinkle Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2013

Thank you for your glowing review. Its always such a delight to read such favorable feedback. Please do come back and stay again soon.
Once again many thanks fot your review and indeed taking the time and trouble to post your review
Regards Richard Ibbott and all the Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews