We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Manor House B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Manor House B&B
Ranked #2 of 4 Easington B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

What a lovely place, warm welcome large spacious room, very comfy bed nice and quiet. Los of little extras, fruit & biscuits with Glass of sherry and chocolate in the room. Pub down the road for food. Includes cooked breakfast has tea, coffee& hot chocolate in the room. Excellent value. Support local independent business and not travel lodges and premier inns get the personal touch. I do and always find a nice B & B by reading comments like these

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kew63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
durham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

The Manor House B & B is one of the best we have stayed in - a hidden gem. The house is beautiful, full of old world charm and intriguing features. Our room was delightful, with a bed
so comfortable it was hard to get out of. Little touches (glass of sherry, chocolate biscuits, fresh milk) enhanced our enjoyment even more. Dan and Jane could not have been more welcoming and helpful, even giving us a lift to our car parked on a nearby farm for the Jumpinhot Jamboree Festival (if this returns next year don't miss it!) The area itself is well worth a visit, with scenic coastal walks and fascinating Billy Elliot history. The Manor House itself is set ijust off the most
attractive village green of Easington Village. All in all, be sure to put this B & B on your list of
places to visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilliandurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Stortford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Although we had trouble finding it initially, when we did it was a port in a storm. We'd been cycling and had been rained on for the last 45 minutes or so of our trip and were drenched and cold. Dan and Jane's welcome was second to none - no fuss about our wet stuff dripping all over their house! The bedroom was huge and had an ensuite with a lovely hot radiator which dried all our clothes nicely! Lovely touches in the room, such as a selection of biscuits, fresh milk in a mini fridge, and a glass of sherry and chocolate each.
The full breakfast was, without doubt, the best we've ever had. We were so caught up chatting to them that we didn't leave until 30 minutes or so after we had planned!
When we booked it they were very easy going about the fact that we wouldn't be able to confirm definitely until the morning or our expected arrival that we would actually make it!
A fabulous house, a fabulous couple, would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The details of Manor House B&B were given to me by my nephew who lives in the area as we were going to a family party and I booked it on the internet and paid using PayPal which I like as I do not have to carry cash. We arrived just after 2pm and were shown straight to our room, we had to be somewhere else by 3pm. The room was nicely furnished with mainly antique furniture including a rocking chair and had a small en-suite shower room but the plumbing was a bit noisy. The usual tea and coffee making facilities were improved by the addition of a small drinks fridge but although the china cups and saucers were pretty and in keeping with the rest of the room I would have preferred a mug (a nice china one). Dressing gowns were also supplied. We were given a front door key so we could come and go as we pleased and we enjoyed the breakfast which we pre ordered. I have only stayed in a B&B once before as we usually stay in hotels but I must say this was an enjoyable experience and one I will probably repeat although I was slightly put off by the fact that we could not lock the bedroom door behind us when we were going out but as this is a house not an hotel it is probably the norm.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kanga41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012

Our hosts Dan & Jane welcomed us with open arms. I was travelling with my wife and my best friends, who were another middle aged couple. Dan showed us to our rooms and both couples were delighted. There are two rooms in the B&B, which are almost identical. Sherry & nibbles were also awaiting us.
After a good nights sleep in the very comfy bed, we enjoyed a terrific breakfast, having already indicated on the breakfast form what we wanted and when.To drink out of bone china cups in a beautiful breakfast room. I have to say that this place was recommended by a friend of a friend and they are still friends, because it was everything we wanted.
Excellent place to stay and good value for money.

Room Tip: Both rooms are identical
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherlock999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed at the Manor House B&B on the recommendation of a friend and had a lovely stay. we booked online and payed by PayPal which was an unusual but useful option

We arrived quite late and couldn't find the house immediately, but Southside isn't long so that was soon rectified. We were greeted by the host and shown to our room where glasses of sherry and some nibbles were waiting for us. The room was well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a perfectly serviceable ensuite and sensible bedside lights. Slightly quirky place due to it's age - many slightly uneven floors, and interesting decoration and furniture - but much more interesting than the bland budget hotels that work out about the same price. We pre-ordered breakfast before bed and came down in the morning to a very nice full english - superb bacon especially.

We enjoyed our stay and might well stay again next time we are visiting the area

Room Tip: I think there are only 3 rooms. Ours was at the front, facing the road, but was still very quiet, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

If you're looking for the modern boutique experience this isn't the place for you.The house is crammed with affordable antiques and character and has a cosy, homely feel. Its clean and comfortable but let down slightly by the shabby room decor and poor plumbing.
The hosts are charming and friendly and they serve up a great breakfast but the down side is that you feel like you're staying in someones home (which you are).
The price is probably fair and all things considered I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2HappyTravellersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easington
4.5 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
5.8 mi away
Highfield Hotel
Highfield Hotel
#1 of 1 in Houghton-le-Spring
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
6.4 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
Hardwicke Hall Manor Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hartlepool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Village Inn
#1 of 1 in Easington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Bell Guesthouse
The Bell Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Peterlee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manor House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor House B&B

Property: Manor House B&B
Address: Manor House South Side, Easington SR8 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Easington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Easington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Manor House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Manor House B&B Easington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing