We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Please don't overlook the obvious !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The General Tarleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Please don't overlook the obvious !”
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I know I'm not letting any cats out of the bag here ; the General Tarleton has (quite rightly) been a renowned favourite for a long time, and its many attractions are very well known and widely reported. But it's one of those lovely places where a familiarity (however much appreciated and enjoyed) can breed a little forgetfulness. So, please don't overlook the obvious if you're looking for good food in an area where competition is fierce.

We called in for lunch one day last week, as we occasionally do, and were reminded just how civilised and generally (no pun intended !) excellent it continues to be. The smiling welcome was warm and genuine, the service was sharp and consistent, our choice of food was (by the standards of the house, I guess) relatively simple but nonetheless perfectly presented. The Black Sheep bitter was in perfect fettle ; the overall cost was modest. Ninety minutes slid by comfortably and we left having been reminded of just how good the G.T. continues to be.0

We've known the G.T. for many years and look forward to many more visits. Again, well done to the Staff Team for maintaining the highest of standards. A consistent delight.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    194
    99
    41
    18
    10
See reviews for
47
207
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Following a significant refresh of the reception and dining room, the General Tarleton is a much improved proposition if you intend to stay for a few days - something which can be recommendend without hesitation. A new lounge, stylishly furnished with sofas and chairs, a brand new bar, wood burning stove and an eclectic choice of furniture is a delightful place to enjoy pre-dinner drinks, your post-dinner coffee or to while away an afternoon enjoying a good book. It, and the revamped reception, now offer comfortable areas to sit and relax and add to the overall experience even if you are just coming to the GT for a meal.

The quality of the food coming from John Topham's kitchen is excellent and he and his team are capable of producing interesting food which tastes superb and looks delightful. Our most recent visit confirmed their capabilities with a Sole Bonne Femme dish being particularly good. Excellent range of wines (and advice from Enzo Scibilia) help create a truly enjoyable evening.

For those staying overnight, the breakfast is as good as any. Beautifully ripe fruit, natural yoghurt, cereals, tasty preserves, viennoiserie and a choice of cooked dishes set up up for the day.

The bedrooms are fairly simply but tastefully decorated and very comfortable with the amenities that most clients would require - no morning papers but this is an area to get out enjoy the countryside and it is nice not to see the ubiquitous couple at breakfast each pouring over their own paper oblivious of the attentions of the friendly and efficient staff. Thoughtful touches such as the fresh milk available for your morning tea in your bedroom and homemade biscuits in your room lift the GT into a superior category.

This is all achieved at a very attractive price so ............... make a journey to the GT and I doubt you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank All_Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of a large party and had an excellent dinner where we were looked after extremely well by the delightful and helpful staff under Dino.
The rooms were clean and very well equipped as was the bathroom with lots of love soaps etc.
My only complaint would be that the bedroom walls and floors are rather thin and it didn't help that the vegetable delivery lorry parked outside my window (engine running) at 5.50 am
But overall,well worth a detour, even if only for lunch

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car-park (not the back) and better still, on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George-the-Pug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We stayed at the GT on the 18th and 19th December, it was all rather chaotic when we arrived as it was Sunday afternoon and there were at least three multi generational birthday parties taking place.
The staff must have been rushed off their feet but were enormously welcoming and looked after us well, some of the best hotel staff we have ever come across , nothing too much trouble for them and very attentive.
Food in the restaurant was excellent but I probably shouldn't have scoffed the home made biscuits in the bedroom first.....
Lovely breakfast, my husband highly recommends the gypsy toast.
Altogether a top experience, thoroughly recommend a stay here. You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: ask for a room that over looks the car park and fields , at the back it is rather unnattractive and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2011

Called in at the General Tarleton for an early doors drink on the way through Ferrensby and decided to have a bite to eat. The staff were all very welcoming and the new sitting room was warm and comfortable with a great ambience. I wasn't desperately hungry so ordered a starter of French onion soup and a "lite bite" dish of scallops and pork belly; my companion ordered fish and chips. The soup arrived and was delicious - no complaints there. Then my "lite bite" arrived ... and "lite" it certainly was! ONE scallop sliced into three discs and a piece of (what turned out to be VERY dry) belly pork that, at most, was probably 3cm square, and four TINY mushrooms! All served on a plate approximately 1' long - it wouldn't have filled a saucer! Can't remember the price - somewhere between £7 and £9, so a healthy profit was obviously made! Luckily my friend generously shared his fish & chips and the staff brought extra bread - I think they felt sorry for me! Lovely place - shame about the portion size!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My partner and I have stayed at this wonderful place before; it was a break to celebrate his birthday, which falls between Xmas and New Year. Knaresborough is beautiful, and we had a room overlooking open fields, which was breathtaking, even on a winter's day! There was a well-stocked tea tray in the room, and we were told that there was a fridge on the landing with fresh milk, to which we could help ourselves! Much nicer to collect the little mini churns each morning instead of using the dreadful uht milk which is usually provided in hotels, so a nice touch there. Bed and (spacious) room were very stylish, clean and comfortable, and the restaurant was great, with the most scrumptious food and wine, a good and varied choice too. The one reason we have not been back was because there was one thing missing to complete the experience - a bar! Now we have had an email from the Tarleton, saying that a new cocktail lounge had been added, and I can't wait to revisit, unwind at this new bar, and sample what this new addition has to offer!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2011

We were lucky enough to come across the GT when coming down A1 in dreadful weather we decided we had to stop for the night. What a joy to find this stylish, comfortable hotel with such charming and welcoming staff. Our dinner was superb and in many ways more creative and delicious than one we had eaten at Gordon Ramsey in Chelsea. I am amazed the GT does not have a Michelin star serving food of this quality. The breakfast was the best I have ever had in a hotel..again beautifully cooked! Great find so sorry its 3 and a half hours up the A1 away from where I live. Julia Hunter

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,495 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
16.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
15.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Tarleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Property: The General Tarleton Inn
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing