We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A special Celebration!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The General Tarleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Certificate of Excellence
Spofforth, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A special Celebration!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We chose the General Tarleton to celebrate my twin nephews' thirty birthday with family. Every time I visit the GT I am amazed at the quality of the service, their ability to offer the whole menu for a private party and serve it hot, and of course the quality of the food which is always outstanding. We had a superb evening - many thanks to Enzo and the team for looking after us so well once again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJuneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    98
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
46
203
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslingden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked for an overnight Saturday stay. Ideal location for Knaresborough and Harrogate.

Lovely rooms to a high standard. Superb restaurant featuring local produce - lots of game on the menu. Quirky layout. Also has brasserie in addition to main restaurant which lies in an indoor courtyard.

Not cheap but value for money at today's prices - would heavily recommend for a quiet country break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iankosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have not visited for 2 or 3 years and it is good to see that high standards are being maintained. Professional staff, comfortable and well decorated beds and bedrooms/bathrooms and delicious and generously served food in a cosy atsmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night (wish it were more) last weekend. We were flabbergasted how friendly the staff were, they were all so nice and helpful. The room was clean with lovely decor. Our TV wasn't working so we bought this to attention of management and within 30 minutes it was fixed. The food was stunning and coffee in front of the fire after a long trip was welcomed. Without doubt we will be returning.......!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I stayed here for an overnight treat in January as I had heard good things about the chef and kitchen; this wasn't just good, it was exceptional. The ambience, food, decor, staff were all excellent - could not fault a thing and every detail attended to. Perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryLouStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Stayed here last weekend, the accommodation was brilliant, we received a warm welcome and the evening meal was superb, the waitress very kindly moved us to a quiet table by the window and the staff were very helpful The meal was as I said superb, we had the moneybags for starters and I even purchased the cook book so I can replicate this recipe. well done to the Topham's they have the balance just right here, fantastic food and accommodation. reasonably priced. We will certainly be visiting again!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We have been to the General Tarleton on a few occasions and each time we enjoy the friendly staff, cosy lounge, nice restaurant and tasty food. Some might find the food a little pricey, but they do also offer a 2 and 3 course meal offer with limited (three) choices on each course - which is a great way to enjoy the excellent food at an affordable price (£15.00 for 2 courses).

We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jme_howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
16.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
15.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Tarleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Property: The General Tarleton Inn
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing