We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The General Tarleton Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The General Tarleton Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Took a friend here for a birthday supper. Haven't been probably for 20 years. It is wonderful.
The food was exquisite, the interior calm, beautifully laid out and decorated. The staff were attentive but not intrusive.

Best of all it was value for money - I had three courses, my friend two (cheapest mains I will point out), a soft drink each and a coffee - £54.

Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: If you haven't booked, get there early. We arrived at 6pm and had our choice of tables. When w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sooze123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    98
    41
    16
    10
See reviews for
46
202
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a stunning place! I stayed one night while in the area on business and will most definitely go back. The place is beautifully done, the rooms are spacious, fabulously decorated, comfy beds and luxurious extras such as the Molton Brown toiletries, hand baked biscuits and fresh milk for teas and coffees. The food in the restaurant was absolutely excellent, good wine selection and a very classy breakfast all served in a cosy and intimate setting.
I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose The General Tarleton for an intimate,small reception for our wedding. I had eaten here before with my parents and celebrated my grandads 70th there too and have always been impressed by the fab decor, amazing food and great staff. We chose to go with the private dining option which was a great deal for dinner, bed and breakfast for 26 people. Nothing was too much trouble for Enzo and his team, very accommodating (they didn't mind at all that we actually had 27 people) and personable. We had the most fantastic day and everyone commented on how gorgeous the inn is, how fantastic the food was ; one guest said "hands down the best food I've ever eaten at a wedding", and how attentive yet unobtrusive the staff were! Everything went perfectly and we all enjoyed a fabulous breakfast the next morning! We thoroughly recommend the private dining option, but can if you just fancy a yummy lunch/dinner you must visit here, thank you to all at The GT for making our day absolutely perfect! Cheers xxxx

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sal265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

This establishment is highly recommended- the building itself most charming- the staff attentive and delightful. Everyone is most concerned that one is having an excellent experience- wonderful customer care- at it's best! The king scallops are the best I ve ever tasted- succulent, beautifully presented and the squid superb- bravo. Starter of salmon superb too. The rack of lamb so beautifully executed- a work of art and superbly cooked, the sea bass a real treat- meaty and the gnocchi plus artichoke exquisite accompaniments . A fabulous lunch- thank you. We have booked a return venture already- please patronise- you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamond280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spofforth, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We chose the General Tarleton to celebrate my twin nephews' thirty birthday with family. Every time I visit the GT I am amazed at the quality of the service, their ability to offer the whole menu for a private party and serve it hot, and of course the quality of the food which is always outstanding. We had a superb evening - many thanks to Enzo and the team for looking after us so well once again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJuneG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslingden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Booked for an overnight Saturday stay. Ideal location for Knaresborough and Harrogate.

Lovely rooms to a high standard. Superb restaurant featuring local produce - lots of game on the menu. Quirky layout. Also has brasserie in addition to main restaurant which lies in an indoor courtyard.

Not cheap but value for money at today's prices - would heavily recommend for a quiet country break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iankosborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

We have not visited for 2 or 3 years and it is good to see that high standards are being maintained. Professional staff, comfortable and well decorated beds and bedrooms/bathrooms and delicious and generously served food in a cosy atsmosphere.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyGadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ferrensby
5.2 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Boar's Head
The Boar's Head
#1 of 1 in Ripley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Dower House Hotel & Spa
16.1 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The General Tarleton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The General Tarleton Inn

Property: The General Tarleton Inn
Address: Boroughbridge Road | Near Harrogate, Ferrensby HG5 0PZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ferrensby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ferrensby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The General Tarleton Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For fabulous food, outstanding service and a luxurious overnight stay, The General Tarleton is the perfect choice. We’re housed in a beautifully renovated 18th Century Coaching Inn, with views across open countryside in the pretty North Yorkshire village of Ferrensby. It’s handy for Harrogate, Ripon and Knaresborough and not too far from York.We have a firm focus on food, using high quality locally sourced ingredients. Our patron and award-winning chef, John Topham, creates fresh tasting dishes for a menu that combines modern exciting cuisine with some ever-popular more traditional and comforting choices. Whatever your want, whatever the season, The General Tarleton is sure to have something on the menu to whet your appetite. For more private dining our magnificent galleried private dining room is available, it’s perfect for birthdays, anniversaries or just for getting your friends together.To accompany your meal we have a wonderful wine cellar, many vintages often available by the glass and often at prices you will find surprisingly affordable. Our fabulous cocktail lounge is the perfect place to meet family and friends for a pre-dinner drink or coffee and liqueurs afterwards. With sumptuous chairs and sofas, and a welcoming log fire for the chilly evenings, you may find it hard to leave.Who really wants to drive after a delicious dinner and a glass or two of fine wine? So why not treat yourself and stay over? We have 13 stylish bedrooms, each individually decorated and appointed to the highest of standards, with little touches of luxury and comfort for a truly relaxing night. And of course, a hearty Yorkshire breakfast is included too.What is fantastic food without superior service? We’re committed to delivering service that is a little more special. Our staff are professionals dedicated to excellence so you can be assured of the highest standards of service in an easy, relaxed atmosphere. Whatever you might want, we aim to provide it, so if you have a special request, please let us know. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The General Tarleton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The General Tarleton Hotel Ferrensby
The General Tarleton Inn Ferrensby, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing