We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good base to see a lovely part of the country”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Good base to see a lovely part of the country”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at Primrose Valley for a mid-week break in June with my husband and two small children. Check in was quite a wait as we'd upgraded to a superior plus caravan and had to wait for one to be available. Was not a very good start to the holiday, but when we finally got into the caravan we were very impressed to see that it was brand new. We had no complaints at all about the accomodation, we had everything we needed and it was very clean.

It was quite a large holiday park, had a nice park for the children to play, two indoor swimming pools, arcades, fairground, two clubs and a pub/resturant. The splash pool was a bit on the cold side so preferred the other pool, the arcades were what you would expect from a Haven site but alot bigger, we never went to the fairground. The clubs were hard work with two little ones to look after! Now my youngest is walking and wanting to dance it was hard keeping track on the two of them in a busy club with one wanting to dance and the other doing a runner, and my other half at our table towards the back of the club! There seemed to be an issue of people taking others tables aswell, we saw one woman park her buggy by a table, took the half drunken drinks and coats off the seats and park herself there for the night! So when the "occupants" came back to their table a full blown arguement proceeded! The pub was the best night out when we had a meal and the kids coloured and played with a friend they met in there.

Our days were spent visiting the local sites like Scarborough, Whitby, Robin Hood Bay, the Moors and Goathland. It's such a lovely part of the country with some great places you must see. So we really did enjoy our break, although I have come to the realisation that Haven sites are not suitable for us anymore. As we always use them as a base to sightsee, my memories of each park seem to blend into each other! They are very nice for people with older children who like to get involved with what's going on in the entertainment, but not for families with toddlers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmis_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    773
    662
    338
    136
    125
See reviews for
1,489
127
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Recently returned from a weekend break at Primrose Valley.
First Impressions – The site is BIG. We’ve stayed at haven and other caravan sites before…this is definitely the biggest we’ve experienced.
Location – Right on the coast just south of Filey. The site enjoys good views over the North Sea.
Accommodation – Basic. Clean and comfortable. No central heating though so even in August it was a little cold. Also, we were one of the furthest points from the main complex…this meant we drove to the complex to save a 25 minute walk. This didn’t bother us though…saved us getting wet!
Security – Nobody there as you drive on (no problem with that) but security in the main complex insist on seeing passes before allowing you through…quite reassuring.
Check in – Checked in smoothly before the 4pm time. Lots of staff checking in holiday makers so didn’t wait too long.
Facilities – The usual Haven stuff. Big arcade which we frequented several times. 2 swimming pools (but can’t comment as we didn’t go in them). Funfair. Can’t comment on entertainment either as we have 2 little ones who didn’t want to sit down and watch Anxious et al!!
Out and About – We used the site as a base really. We went to Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington for days out. We also visited Hunmanby (a small nearby village).
Other – Would love to go back. There’s so much we still haven’t done on the site. Would love to go on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthHazard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We got a special price so paid haf price for a prestige caravan, probably wouldn't have gone if paying full price.
Travelled with 4 adults and 3 children from ages 3 to 12. Plenty to entertain them from first thing in the morning to midnight. Evening entertainment cheesy but good fun. Drinks reasonably priced : )
Great location, was lovely to walk along the beach into Filey, sandcastles, donkey rides and fish and chips.
We didn't eat onsite, food didn't look great and overpriced.
A great little family holiday. You do need a fair bit of extra spending money though as all the activities do cost you and the kids will want to spend pennies in the amusements which are right in the centre of the entertainment complex, so no avoiding them!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogigibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Myself partner and children 11, 10 and 6 went to primrose valley in july we arrived at our caravan and the smell was disgusting as was the whole caravan as the previous people had been with a dog the beds blankets and chairs were covered in dog hairs and smelled of wet dog also the benches were dirty and windows i really couldnt have stayed in that caravan as i would have had to buy a bottle of bleech and winow cleaner however haven where brill and moved us to a better caravan within half a hour. The entertainment for the children was good for the 6 year old but not for the older i didnt htink there was enough for older children. Every thing was so expensive the shop drinks food and fair and other activies also. The children loved it though but the amount of money we spent we might aswell have gone abroad .

Room Tip: Ask for a carvan which has had no pets
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hayley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burton on trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

just got back from primrose valley on a family holiday with a 16, 15 year old & 16 month old.had a great week. went mon to fri. the caravan was brilliant. we had upgraded to luxury. the two older kids had some great nites in the clubs & amusements.the beach at filey is beautiful. the only downside is the long walk from the park to the beach. it seems to take forever, when you are carrying lots of stuff to take to the beach. we will be going back for definate. really enjoyed our week there.

Room Tip: book direct through haven an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leigh t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We booked this as a last minute deal, 3 nights for £250 (it should have been over £600), Superior caravan.
This is the first time i have been on a haven holiday, i thought £250 pounds for 3 nights was a bit expensive but then I thought about all the activities that were included in the price, the thing is though not many of the activities are free. The fairground was very expensive and crazy golf, go carting and the boating lake cost extra, i can understand the fairground costing extra but would have thought the other activities would be included in the price.
The caravan inside was clean but there was a lot of cigarette ends around the outside of the caravan, also the bed was the smallest and most uncomfortable ever (a bit like sleeping on a trampoline), also the duvet was like cardboard and the caravan got very cold on a night, even with the heating on. There was quite a lot of utensils in the kitchen but the oven only had one shelf making it very difficult to make any sort of meal for a family.
We were given a caravan on eskdale which is probably the furthest away from the main entertainment, this was very difficult with small children (6, 5 and a 4 week old baby) but after reading another review maybe they would have moved us if we had complained.
I also wouldnt agree with their claim that there is direct access to the beach, it involved walking across a field and down a steep path.
There was a wasp problem when we were there although i dont think this was just confined to Primrose valley because we were also plagued on the beach.
There are quite a few activities for children throughout the day, we decided to take our boys to the breakfast with the characters that was supposed to be in the lakeside cafe, so we rushed there for 9 0'clock (im still not very organised) only to be told that it had been moved to Mash and Barrel, we had no chance of getting up there in time.

Room Tip: Bring your own bedding (and preferably bed as well)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2011

Been to Primrose Valley twice, so it must have been OK. The Park's large with lots of facilities. Two swimming Pools to chose from. Don't book a standard caravan - they look a bit desperate. Never go lower than deluxe if you want a decent van. However, I think Platinum level is overated and you don't always get what Haven says you should get - i.e. we didn't get a flat screen TV - It didn't matter to me, but it will to some people. It gets cold on the top of a cliff and so heating in bedrooms and bathrooms is always a good idea and worth paying for. If you're going to stay for a week, come to this park, 4 places to eat, more things to do. A good little fun fair for the kids, abeit an expensive one. Go to the older pool if you want to swim, the newer pool is manic. The main negative is the 2 mile hike to get to the beach - no direct access but apart from that its a good park. I imagine I will be returning here again.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DISNEYFANLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
8.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
7.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
1.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
7.4 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#50 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Primrose Valley | Near Filey, Filey YO14 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Active families • Sports and water facilities and activities• Sea views and sandy beachJoin us on Yorkshire's holiday coast and experience full on family seaside fun. It's a short walk down to the 5 mile stretch of sandy beach below, or stay up top and discover why we thrive on being one of the largest and liveliest parks in the area. Try scaling our climbing wall or ropes course, choose one of our three swimming pools, race around our go kart track - we even have a family funfair. Why not change the pace with a boat ride on the lake or a spot of fishing? So much to do - is one break enough? NEW for 2015: Soft Play Area, Linkfield Grove Development, New Reception Offices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Hotel Filey
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing