We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

Upon arrival we were given a double upgrade which was good. Although I Havn seen the other holiday homes so cant compare. We payed 100 for a weekend. So can't complain. No chavs that I seen on the site. Overall it is a good place. For the money you can't complain. Goin bak again in April.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulJohnston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,039 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    774
    663
    338
    137
    127
See reviews for
1,493
128
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

Travelled with family including a 2 & 3/4 year old child, and had a lovely time. Booked a Prestige Van and found it to be very good, not brand new, should have gone for the new one, but it certainly was nice. En suite facilities off the main bedroom, 2 showers, 2 WC's, a small bath and a lovely fitted kitchen. Showers and heating in the caravan were excellent, although the main bed was very hard!
We were based a long walk from all of the facilities, not that this was a problem as we like walking, but if you want a van near to the entertainment it would be worth ringing in advance.
The site is massive, bigger than I thought, we found the site very quiet, despite seeing lots of other guests with families, in the shops, bars etc......and here's me thinking it would be quiet as the kids had gone back to school!!!!!
We didnt encounter any rowdiness at all, no shouting or swearing from "chavs" as some reviewers have stated, and trust me we would have noticed and have been very upset if we had seen this kind of behaviour!!!
Food on site was of good quality, the Mash & Barrel (pub) food was very good, a bit like Weatherspoons I suppose, service was good and quick, food within 20 minutes, and the food was of reasonable price. The food areas were very clean!. Burger King is it's usual rip off, but the Papa John's Pizza was great, again not cheap, but the Pizza was great especially as it was delivered to your caravan within 30 minutes of ordering.
Only went to the family show bar once, and found it OK, very full by 9.00pm, the entertainment is based at a young level for 3-8 year olds I would say. The bar prices were Ok, looking at £3.00 a pint but this was to be expected, captive audience and all.
The swimming pool area in the main entertainment complex was very good indeed, not massive but big enough, the pool was clean and warm and the slides ideal for children, our little one loved it. The changing facilities were catered families and again were clean.
The fairground was also good, but not cheap £10.00 of tokens seemed to go nowhere, but a great laugh for all the family.
The whole experience was very good, a very relaxing 4 night break. We are used to holidaying abroad, but we would certainly recommend Primrose Valley for a short break in the UK. Haven certainly has got it's act together to cater for the traveller wishing to stay in this country. Looking forward to another quick break here again next year.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpringGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Last time we shall be going on a Haven holiday. We paid £1,000 for a Mid-range caravan staying from Aug 6th to 13Th Aug. Our double bed was the most uncomfortable bed in the world, it felt like you were sleeping on tin cans, I woke with marks on my legs! The heating was good and the shower BUT you couldn't have both at the same time, and if the heating had been on we had to wait for the boiler to cool down before we could use the shower, stayed in plenty of caravans in our time but never had this problem before. As for entertainment well if your happy with entertainment purely for kids upto 10 then go for it, if like me your kids are older, 12, 14 and 15 they and you will be bored, bored, bored. Where is the 'good' entertainment, the few singers we saw were the Haven team (oh dear!). Swimming pool is really hyped up, our local swimming baths is better! We booked some pre-paid activity passes and couldn't use them as everything was fully booked! No security at front gate, anyone could just come in. Staff were friendly. We didn't feel we had our money's worth at all. Sorry Haven your past the sell by date.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights over August Bank Holiday weekend in 2011, with my wife and two young children (16 month old & 3 year old).
Caravan was a 3-bedroom "Platinum" model, on the "Lake View" area I think it was called.

Platinum grade gets an earlier checkin, from 1pm. Was painless. I imagine lengthy queues at later times - even at 1pm there was nowhere left to park near reception.

Caravan was a decent size. It had a "proper" lounge area, with sliding doors to shut if off from the kitchen, and normal free-standing sofa/chairs. Had central heating too. Own adjacent parking space. Acceptably spaced apart unlike the sardine-like cramming of the cheaper caravans.
Dining area, table & 4 chairs was cramped, just enough room for 4 people.
All seemed clean enough, although it could have smelt a bit fresher - smells like the carpets have got damp in the past.
NOTE: There isn't enough floor space in the 2nd/3rd bedrooms for a travel cot; unless you want to put it in the "master" bedroom you have to be a bit inventive....we took the mattresses off 2 single beds, pushed the bases together, laid some sheets of hardboard (that we brought with us for this purpose) across the bed bases, stood the travel cot on top and strapped it down to stop it tipping over...just the job...forward planning and all that.

Caravan was well used - none of the bedroom or bathroom doors would shut, as the bottoms of the MDF frames had swelled (presumably it's flooded at some point). Some door frames were actually coming apart too. Plinths under the kitchen cupboards were broken, a few catches were missing off the windows, and the main exterior door took a bit of a shove to shut properly.
Kitchen was quite sparsely equipped, and there's no frills like any DVDs to watch etc (guess they'd get nicked anyway!).
Overall still perfectly acceptable.
Kids loved it, running round and exploring all the rooms.

On arrival, previous guest bedding/laundry was still left outside all caravans on the ground in clear bags, for a day or two. Guess it was their busiest weekend but still...

It's a BIG park. Were were situated a fair distance from the main centre, probably 10 mins walk. Whoever reckoned it took them 25 minutes to walk there must be under 3 years old or missing a leg, it's not THAT far.

Facilities we used and can comment on:
Swimming pool - we used the second, smaller heated indoor pool. It was just fine, not too busy, changing facilities all OK.
Shop - fairly decent shop on site, pretty good range of stuff.
Mash & Barrell - nicer than we expected inside, couple of TVs on the wall, one showing CBeebies. Felt totally comfortable eating in with two toddlers. Drink wasn't too expensive - ordered a glass of wine for my wife, was told it was £4 and we could have a whole bottle for £9-something.
Kids outdoor play area - went there several times, good range of swings, climbing frames, slides etc.
Beach - nice big beach nearby, although take "direct beach access" with a pinch of salt, it's directly accessible in the same sense that Sheffield is "directly accessible" from London - quite a walk to get there.

Think it's fair to say you get a diverse range of clientele at a Haven site.
At times around the main complex the Jeremy Kyle fan club were clearly evident - chavy, fag-puffing, obese parents swearing at each other over a parking space dispute, presumably too lazy to get off their backsides and walk for a few minutes to get their daily KFC fix.
And who lets their 6/7 year old (ish) son play in the kids play area with a plastic replica hunting knife ?

There's a lot of traffic driving around the site, I wouldn't feel happy leaving a younger child outside to play.

Lots of other activities on site for older kids (& adults) to do.

All in all ?
Not as bad as I expected. Kids loved it, which was the main thing.
My advice:
- get the highest grade caravan you can afford
- pay the little extra for a new model if it's on offer
- take descriptions such as "the ultimate in luxury" and "in prime locations" with a pinch of salt, they're not *that* good
- consider renting a private caravan, probably nicer inside and you can often choose your location on the park.
- be prepared for a walk to the beach
- watch out for wasps everywhere around the main complex!

Room Tip: If you want to choose your location on the site, perhaps look at one of the privately-owned caravans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatbadger247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed at Primrose Valley for a mid-week break in June with my husband and two small children. Check in was quite a wait as we'd upgraded to a superior plus caravan and had to wait for one to be available. Was not a very good start to the holiday, but when we finally got into the caravan we were very impressed to see that it was brand new. We had no complaints at all about the accomodation, we had everything we needed and it was very clean.

It was quite a large holiday park, had a nice park for the children to play, two indoor swimming pools, arcades, fairground, two clubs and a pub/resturant. The splash pool was a bit on the cold side so preferred the other pool, the arcades were what you would expect from a Haven site but alot bigger, we never went to the fairground. The clubs were hard work with two little ones to look after! Now my youngest is walking and wanting to dance it was hard keeping track on the two of them in a busy club with one wanting to dance and the other doing a runner, and my other half at our table towards the back of the club! There seemed to be an issue of people taking others tables aswell, we saw one woman park her buggy by a table, took the half drunken drinks and coats off the seats and park herself there for the night! So when the "occupants" came back to their table a full blown arguement proceeded! The pub was the best night out when we had a meal and the kids coloured and played with a friend they met in there.

Our days were spent visiting the local sites like Scarborough, Whitby, Robin Hood Bay, the Moors and Goathland. It's such a lovely part of the country with some great places you must see. So we really did enjoy our break, although I have come to the realisation that Haven sites are not suitable for us anymore. As we always use them as a base to sightsee, my memories of each park seem to blend into each other! They are very nice for people with older children who like to get involved with what's going on in the entertainment, but not for families with toddlers.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmis_sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

Recently returned from a weekend break at Primrose Valley.
First Impressions – The site is BIG. We’ve stayed at haven and other caravan sites before…this is definitely the biggest we’ve experienced.
Location – Right on the coast just south of Filey. The site enjoys good views over the North Sea.
Accommodation – Basic. Clean and comfortable. No central heating though so even in August it was a little cold. Also, we were one of the furthest points from the main complex…this meant we drove to the complex to save a 25 minute walk. This didn’t bother us though…saved us getting wet!
Security – Nobody there as you drive on (no problem with that) but security in the main complex insist on seeing passes before allowing you through…quite reassuring.
Check in – Checked in smoothly before the 4pm time. Lots of staff checking in holiday makers so didn’t wait too long.
Facilities – The usual Haven stuff. Big arcade which we frequented several times. 2 swimming pools (but can’t comment as we didn’t go in them). Funfair. Can’t comment on entertainment either as we have 2 little ones who didn’t want to sit down and watch Anxious et al!!
Out and About – We used the site as a base really. We went to Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington for days out. We also visited Hunmanby (a small nearby village).
Other – Would love to go back. There’s so much we still haven’t done on the site. Would love to go on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HealthHazard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

We got a special price so paid haf price for a prestige caravan, probably wouldn't have gone if paying full price.
Travelled with 4 adults and 3 children from ages 3 to 12. Plenty to entertain them from first thing in the morning to midnight. Evening entertainment cheesy but good fun. Drinks reasonably priced : )
Great location, was lovely to walk along the beach into Filey, sandcastles, donkey rides and fish and chips.
We didn't eat onsite, food didn't look great and overpriced.
A great little family holiday. You do need a fair bit of extra spending money though as all the activities do cost you and the kids will want to spend pennies in the amusements which are right in the centre of the entertainment complex, so no avoiding them!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jogigibbons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
1.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
8.7 mi away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
7.4 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
1.2 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
7.4 mi away
Bay House
Bay House
#50 of 182 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven

Property: Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Address: Primrose Valley | Near Filey, Filey YO14 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Active families • Sports and water facilities and activities• Sea views and sandy beachJoin us on Yorkshire's holiday coast and experience full on family seaside fun. It's a short walk down to the 5 mile stretch of sandy beach below, or stay up top and discover why we thrive on being one of the largest and liveliest parks in the area. Try scaling our climbing wall or ropes course, choose one of our three swimming pools, race around our go kart track - we even have a family funfair. Why not change the pace with a boat ride on the lake or a spot of fishing? So much to do - is one break enough? NEW for 2015: Soft Play Area, Linkfield Grove Development, New Reception Offices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Hotel Filey
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing