We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Filey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Reviewed 30 April 2014

First time we have been to Haven there were 4 adults and 4 kids and we stayed in a superior caravan which was very clean, the only problem was the pull out bed not large enough as my husband is quite tall. The entertainment was great and the kids loved the arcade. The beach was beautiful and clean and it was a good walk to Filey would definitely go back again, the food was quite expensive but overall a great family holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2015tod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Public Relations Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello Joanne S,

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us here at Primrose Valley. I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It was great to see that you and your family loved the entertainment and arcades here. The entertainments team work really hard to provide fun activities for the whole family. We are extremely lucky to have such a beautiful beach with direct access. I especially enjoy a walk along the beach with my little girl to Filey for Fish and Chips.

I do hope that you come back to visit us again soon. Please give me a call on 01723 513771 and I will be more than happy as to advise on a suitable caravan for your family’s needs.

Kind regards,


Verity Hull
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,286)
There are newer reviews for Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,625 - 1,631 of 2,286 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We booked well in advance, with it being my daughters birthday. We was taking a friend who is disabled when booking we asked to be near the complex, they made a note on booking form, when we paid they final amount we checked the note about a disabled person was on form.. was told yes....With my 2 children at school we didn't get to the park until after 5, went to reception was greeted by a lovely lady was given keys to caravan, we booked prestige as prefer the better caravans, from past experience. to our shock we wasn't near the complex we couldn't have been further away from it, was told it had been over looked the disabled note...after much discussion in the back room was given a upgrade closer, still too far for the person to walk, but was told with it been late on there wasn't many caravan left as they are all allocated in the morning...so every time we wanted to go to complex had to drive friend.. staff are very friendly and a credit to the park, especially I think he was called Gary in the funworks amusements, he had so much time for my little girl and she thought he was great....the caravan say was a platinum wasn't as good as most of the prestige I have stayed in at other parks, the bed mattress was bad could feel springs but was so tired, the dvd player didn't work with kids its ideal for the early mornings, it was replaced quickly though, grill didn't work on oven, had to tell them one of the tvs was missing from bedroom as well as didn't want them to think we had taken it. Things were apart from the odd hic cup were good, but the last night spoilt everything, we was queuing for entertainment in jesters, apart from the kids pushing it which we did expect, got to the front my little girl was dancing with in 5 mins had cut her knee on broken glass on the dance floor, we did pick up the piece of glass off the floor,.. told a funstar who said she couldnt give a plaster but would get a 1st aider, my little girl in tears as her knee was bleeding and her tights ripped from the glass...next min she came back with a plaster no 1st aider, my little girl still in tears we briefly checked for glass and put plaster on, had a great night but had to properly clean and check her knee once at caravan... Would come back again, as the park is good but there are a few things need sorting

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Guest Relations Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello julie b,

I would firstly like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments about your recent holiday with us here at Primrose Valley.

It was a delight to read that you found the staff a credit to the park. We pride ourselves on having a “bright and breezy” team who strive to deliver 5* customer service. I will personally pass the lovely feedback about Gary in the FunWorks to the management team.
It is a shame that you had a couple of “hiccups” with the caravan, but I was pleased that we managed to resolve these issues promptly.
I note that initially the allocation of your caravan wasn’t suitable but I am pleased that we found somewhere closer for you despite it not being entirely ideal.
I have spoken with the Entertainments Manager about your little girl who fell when she was dancing. We do our very best to keep our complex areas clean and sparkling for our guests. As a result of your feedback the team on FunStars have had additional training in dealing with these rare situations.
I was pleased to read that you will visit us again. When you are ready to book please give me a call on 01723 513771 and I will personally deal with the allocation and any special requirements you may have.
Thank you again for taking the time to leave your feedback.

Kind regards,

Verity Hull
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Another fabulous holiday at haven. Good sports and leisure facilities with friendly staff . Lots of hot dogs but where's the onions? Entertainment ok but bingo is over priced at 7.50 for three books as most of the books only play for a line!! Activity pool cold but kids enjoyed it. Need to sort the two way locker system out in changing rooms lots of people stood cold wondering if they were empty. Kids loved the arcades and the burger bar was good value for money. Papa johns expensive. Stayed on bayview in a deluxe caravan was gorgeous. Look forward to going again in June.

Room Tip: Bay view had lovely sea views
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Guest Relations Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello mandy h,

Thank you so much for the 5* review about you holiday with us here at Primrose Valley. We are extremely proud of our sports and leisure facilities and the team that run the activities. They will be delighted to read your feedback. I will of course also pass on the feedback with regards to the lockers, we always act upon comments from guests where possible. Bay View is a beautiful area with some really luxurious holiday homes. I am so pleased to see that you will be visiting us again this month. It really is great to hear from guests who can’t wait to come back and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Verity Hull
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Holiday was from the 21st april to the 27th april 2014. On arrival on the 21st we was so surprized of the size of the park. We had a little drive around first very busy could hardly park at reception or lakeside bar so parked on the main road by the lakeside bar. Arriving a little earlie 12pm for a 4pm check in . We decided to have a little lunch. Once i side we had a little wait for food mash of little one 2 bowls of chips burger chips 2 cokes and 3 capri sun drinks at 27 quid was shocking when thy was such a small portion . After lunch went to the small rides and thought was quite cheap and spent a bit of time with the kids there before checking in. When we got there parking was hard to gt and long wait to get into the reception. Having got the keys we went find the caravan , we got there in the end and found the caravan clean as we we expected beds comfy coudlnt of asked for anymore. Avoid the spa shop so expensive the chippy small portions big prices . Pappa jones expensive but nice . West pier excellent food ok prices. Mash n barrell saved this till last was disapionted in tenby with this . but in primrose value for cash lovely food . The Entertainment was shocking awfull could nt sing in tune outside entertainer nt much better. If you go to filey 6 miles from primrose valley there is a tesco with cheap drink n food prices than camp also nice chippy bakery toy shops cheaper than the haven site . 3 mobile doesnt work on haven site at all . Works in filey 6 miles away. Would book this site again for its location park cleaness decent caravan . Hoping come bk in july in a late deal bec of my work commitments if nt be bk next year

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Marie C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Guest Relations Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hello Marie C B,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent holiday with us here at Primrose Valley. I was pleased to see that you found the caravan met all your expectations. We strive to be competitive with other holiday parks and local restaurants with the pricing of food. It is a shame that you found it more expensive than anticipated. We do offer family meal deals during the summer holidays and Easter breaks etc. I will of course pass your feedback to our entertainments manager. We are extremely fortunate to have the small town of Filey so close. It is a lovely walk along the beach and it really is the perfect, quaint seaside town.

It is great to see that you will be visiting us again in late July. Please give us a call on 01723 513771 and we will advise you of the very latest offers.

Kind regards,

Verity Hull
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

What a week! We get so stressed wherever we go (4 kids and I'm wheelchair bound) but the staff were so helpful. Check-in was hectic but speedy and we were shown to our van. Other places give you a map and leave you to find it yourself! I can't recall the mans name but we really picked his brains about the area and he knew his stuff, my wife was very impressed! The van was spotless and had everything we needed. The kids loved the entertainment and met Roary and the gang which made their holiday. Bit steep down to the beach, even steeper on the way back up and I'm not sure it's very disabled friendly but we still enjoyed our bbq even though it was windy :-) Shop was a bit pricey but the staff were great again. I struggled to get about in there so James did all my shopping for me! Great service that I wouldn't get in my local co-op. He got me everything on my list and all I had to do was pay at the till! Food at mash and barrell was good but service was slow. It was busy though so exceptions can be made. Overall a great holiday and can't wait to come back xxx so sad we're going home in the morning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WheelieMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Guest Relations Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Hello WheelieMike,

Thank you so much for the 5* review. It sounds like you had a fantastic holiday here with us.

I was delighted to read that you found your caravan to be spotless. I will of course make sure that your compliments are passed to the housekeeping team.

The team in our Spar shop work exceptionally hard to provide the highest level of customer service and it was a pleasure to see that the team were so helpful. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

If you do have any special requirements on any future bookings please do not hesitate to contact me direct on 01723 513771.

Kind Regards,

Verity Hull
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just returned from Primrose Valley after a short Mon-Fri break. Its only an hour away from our home town and we travelled with a 5yr old and a 1yr old. We were lucky enough to get a Sun Holiday deal so we thought we would add on an upgrade to luxury plus/deluxe caravan. Very happy with check in - we got in the queue a good half hour before we were supposed to check in as we just wanted to know the caravan number we had been given in case the lakeside reception needed it for booking our 5yr old daughter on any activities - but we were told the caravan was ready! Bonus! Excellent caravan, 2013 model, enough space, clean and well kept. Our daughter did different activities each day; aqua gliders, mini pool party, turbo paddlers, fossil hunt on the beach and water walkers - we hadn't purchased a sports pass but didn't find the prices for them that bad however it is a shame that things such as the funfair costs so much - there should really be a few more freebies as families pay enough to stay on the park especially at peak times, however the fossil hunt was free and well worth doing, (water walkers cost £6 and they got about 6mins if that!!! - we understood that the kids get warm and tired in them very easily but £6 was a tad over-expensive for the time!).
Entertainment was as expected - we have been to loads of Haven sites, and visited Primrose Valley many times before - but Jesters club really needs to sort their sound out - I can imagine its a hard room to get the balance of things right but the bass was just too overpowering at times - we watched the 80s chick show and couldn't hear the guy singing at all at times cos the music drowned him out. We never went in the showbar as Jesters has everything for the kids. The drinks at the bar both soft and alcoholic are way way WAY overpriced - I do not believe for one second that the prices are competitive with other places - last time we came to Primrose it was about £10 for a bottle of wine - this time it was £12.49!!! And my husband paid £1.80 for a pint of blackcurrent and tap water!! Just ridiculous and quite disappointing - lots of people got drinks taken off them that they had brought themselves - one simple way to stop this is to bring the prices down perhaps.....
And another thing that the park definitely needs, just for peak times or days where the weather is rubbish - an extra indoor pool! Lots of families, including ourselves know bad weather is a good opportunity to use the pools so they got full pretty fast! The queue for the activity pool was into the amusement arcade!! We managed to squeeze into the lakeside pool however it was that cold our 1yr old soon got blue!! A small extra indoor pool would probably be a great advantage for the park.
Apart from that we had a great time and, if we were rich, would have quite happily stayed another few das even though the weather was miserable - kids were more then happy and that makes us parents happy :) Please give us a caravan so we can stay more!!!!! Wishful thinking! lol x

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Guest Relations Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Hello Sue W,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am so pleased that your found the check in experience a pleasant start to your stay with us. It was a brilliant to hear that your daughter enjoyed the fantastic activities that our sports and leisure team offer. It certainly sounds like a fun packed holiday. I will of course pass your feedback to the Entertainments Manager with regards to the sound in Jesters. We strive to be competitive within the industry when it comes to the pricing in our entertainment venues and eateries, it is a shame that it wasn’t as cheap as you had expected. I agree, happy children makes for happy parents and I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to Primrose Valley in the future.

Kind regards,

Verity Hull
Communication Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

You know the drill, caravan first time out this year, all weekend to get ready, hire a 9 seater van for the week. Myself, wife and 4 kids in tow, Holiday booked and paid for back in January, always good to plan ahead.**
Sister in law and partner with their two year old and caravan also booked at same time.

Arrive at Primrose Valley Filey, just after lunch time. Really nice chap met us at the touring pitches.
Told us he has no record of either caravans booked. Rang reception, same for them. With the added "your bookings were cancelled" as the outstanding balance was not paid.
Well this is untrue, My wife had paid the balance and rang the payment line to do this.**
We were then given two Head office numbers to ring both numbers were closed out of office hours.

I went to reception to see what could be salvaged, (which turn out to be a big zero.)
Got the same answer. And that they had nowhere to put us.
I said the Head office phone numbers given are closed, the woman said, thats not my fault.
I then asked to see the General manager, The woman said no GM in today.
So you can imagine, I was not impressed, I ended been ushered into a small room by a " I shouldn't be at work today" under manager. He said his staff should not be spoken to like that?
I will admit, I did raise my voice, what do they expect? I did NOT swear or threaten anyone. I had to raise my voice as the inept staff at reception were clearly deaf as they didn't seem to be listening or doing anything to help my family when it is Haven's mistake and incompetence that put us in a hopeless position we were in. I asked him what has upset you and your staff, The manager could not answer. I asked him to come and tell my children that their holiday was over before it started, he declined.
I know Haven train there staff to deal with customer complaints, but on Sunday 13th April 2014, they really didn't care about this particular customer complaint, It was more or less " Booking cancelled, good bye", Which is just great when you have a van full of kids and telling them we have to go home, because Primrose valley won't let us stay on there site.

** In January 2014 my wife had rang Haven/bourne leisure to book and pay in full, for the holiday In April, We then received a letter asking for outstanding balance.
My wife rang haven again, ( we have proof of this call) and was told nothing outstanding, you have paid the full amount.

At that point we believed our holiday have been booked and paid for. this was not the case at all.
Basically we had not paid the balance, and we have lost both our deposits. And prepared for a holiday that was never there.

Since then, we have check our bank balance, and Haven/Bourne had taken the two deposits, not the full balance.

My wife wrote a letter of complaint to Bourne leisure and in their reply it states that basically Bourne would have not made that mistake, and that's that!

Surely if Haven/Bourne had cancelled our holiday, they would have confirmed this in letter or email.
Not just done it and not notified us.
If they had done this simple function, we could have avoided all the aggravation Bourne leisure's mistake had caused.

We will never ever use Haven/Bourne leisure holidays/products again.
We are part of a large network, and I will be posting a very similar reviews and recommendations.

Well done the Haven holiday payments department for your incompetence
Well done Primrose Valley for not helping out this particular customer.
Thank you for robbing me and my family of monies and a hard earned break.

Any other review I have written for Trip advisor were I have slated the service provider.
I must say, no-one has been as bad as Bourne leisure.

My advise to any would be customers of Bourne leisure, check for confirmation, then check again before you pack.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank DiyDaveJ31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Primrose V, Manager at Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2014

Thank you for your review and apologies for the late reply.

Naturally we aim to serve every guest in an excellent manner and it is a shame to read your comments.

We do attain a great array of positive comments and lovely feedback from the majority of our visiting guests and can only thank you for your review.

Should you reconsider visiting Primrose Valley once again please contact the Park direct on 01723 513771 whereby we would be happy to double check any details for that extra re-assurance.

Kind Regards,

The Primrose Valley Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
7.3 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,257 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
408 reviews
7.7 mi away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
198 reviews
24.5 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,141 reviews
3.6 mi away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven

Address: Primrose Valley | Near Filey, Filey YO14 9RF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Filey
Hotel Class:5 star — Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great for:• Active families • Sports and water facilities and activities• Sea views and sandy beachJoin us on Yorkshire's holiday coast and experience full on family seaside fun. It's a short walk down to the 5 mile stretch of sandy beach below, or stay up top and discover why we thrive on being one of the largest and liveliest parks in the area. Try scaling our climbing wall or ropes course, choose one of our three swimming pools, race around our go kart track - we even have a family funfair. Why not change the pace with a boat ride on the lake or a spot of fishing? So much to do - is one break enough? NEW for 2015: Soft Play Area, Linkfield Grove Development, New Reception Offices. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Primrose Valley Holiday Park (Haven Holidays) Hotel Filey
Primrose Valley Holiday Park - Haven Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing