We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location and Seaviews” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
redhill
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Location and Seaviews”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel had a good feel, even before we went in. Very pleasant garden area, for drinks etc - overlooks sea. Being a little higher up, the views from the room were excellent. The room itself was spacious and had 2 aspects - 1 over the road where we could see the car, and the other over the gardens and sea. Windows opened properly so we could get plenty of sea air. All very comfortable. Air con or a fan may be helpful in hot weather. Breakfast a little ordinary - and limited choice for vegetarians. Buffet style cereals and fruit - which could have been a bit fresher. Overall though, it was a great place to stay, and much enjoyed. Perfect location for Bridlington, Flamborough Head and Scarborough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summersunshine48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I have passed your comments about our breakfast to our Head Chef who assures me that he will address our shortcomings in this regard.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon
Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    81
    28
    14
    5
See reviews for
90
188
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

I have been staying here since being a small child. I am now a Granny and love coming here. My grandchildren live in Scarborough but we always spend time in Filey. The White Lodge is great base to come back to for great views and great food. I have a special room I call my "own". Not going to tell you!! It's a must try.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view if you can...you will not be disappointed !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesleydianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. My lips are sealed about your favourite room – that’s one of the benefits of having a hotel with 20 unique rooms – every guest has a different preference!!
We look forward to welcoming you, and Taffy of course, back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

My wife and I, along with our daughter and 14 week old grandson decided on a Mon-Fri break at The White Lodge. We had a family room, which had a separate bedroom for My daughter and baby, which was ideal. The rooms were very comfortable and clean with large screen TV in the main room. We also had a balcony and sea views! The restaurant is laid out beautifully, and the food is excellent. Meals are also served all day in the Terrace lounge, and again, the quality cannot be faulted. The staff throughout the whole hotel are extremely friendly and could not be more helpful.
We will definately return, and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies (about 6 of them) are good if the weather is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2013
We are pleased that you had a good holiday and thank you for your kind comments. We all hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel and are eager to see the development of your beautiful baby grandson

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Not sure I should be writing this, as it may become too popular!!
Our needs were for a four year old, his parents, their parents and a 95year old grannie. All our needs were catered for and more!!
The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Our rooms were ideal for all our needs, with the views of Filey Bay difficult to beat. The public rooms were comfortable, with plenty of seats and views to enjoy. Food was plentyful and excellent quality. Easy access to the town by foot, as was the park and gardens. Every where was clean and comfortable, a traditional sea side hotel. Back for more soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Villa104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Very satisfied with my short break at this hotel. The staff were an absolute delight, nothing was too much trouble when catering to the needs of my elderly Mum. The public areas and room were very clean and the gardens well cared for.The location cannot be bettered, if you want a marvellous view of Filey Bay make sure you book a sea view room. The food was very good - what a delight to be served vegetables that have not been overcooked!
The only cautionary word I would make is that if you are looking for contemporary decor and furnishings then you had better look elsewhere - this hotel is classic and elegant in style.
All in all I look forward to returning to the White Lodge in April.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to meet both of you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

I had not pre booked this hotel as it was a last minute break. On arrival I was given room 4, which was situated on the 1st floor and was described as a Park View room. The room would have been overlooking the Park but unfortunately the large trees blocked the view. The room was quite dark and looked out onto the fire escape and the roof of the kitchen. I did bring this to the attention to the lady on reception, who I since found out was the owner, she didn't appear to take kindly to the criticism. However on our checkout the duty receptionist sasid that she had been told to discount our bill. (many thanks for that, much appreciated). The room itself was a good size, furnished very nicely. Bed linen and towels were of a high standard. Toiletries and plenty of tea & coffee & bottled water provided. There was a window from another bedroom which looked straight onto the bed area of our room, maybe voile curtains would help privacy. To open the windows I had to stand on the sills, not good if you were elderly or infirm. I agree with a previous tripadvisor, the bathroom was carpeted, not very hygenic, especially as dogs are allowed on 1st floor. We had lunch at the hotel which was very nice and breakfasts were excellent. Staff were extremely friendly and most helpful. Parking was not a problem, only a few spaces provided but ample street parking. would definately return but would prefer a more light and airy room.

Room Tip: Ask for room with sea view. I overheard other guest saying their room was over bar & reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Norak57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your first visit to Filey and am sorry that we had only limited room availability to offer you when you arrived at the Hotel on Saturday morning.
I apologise that I appeared to be disinterested in your complaint about the view from your room on Sunday morning – I regret that I was pre-occupied with the resolution of a medical emergency for another guest. This is no excuse for any offense that I caused and I can only apologise for any distress that I caused you.
I thank you for your constructive comments about the room which will help us to improve our service to future customers.
We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel
Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwynbay
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was a fantastic hotel. Food amazing, location perfect , very dog friendly, staff fantastic and very helpful. This is great value for money. If you need a place to stay this is the best you will get in Filey.

Thanks a million again.

Room Tip: Twin room delux spacious, large bathroom, large wardrobe, looks out into the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Filey and thank you for your kind comments. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.0 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,516 reviews
8.9 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#12 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
2.2 mi away
The Southgate Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing