We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Care beyond measure.”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Care beyond measure.”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Due to a mix at work we were unable to visit at Christmas as we had hoped. instead we went this weekend for four night stay.
The hotel was quiet as you would expect in at this time of year and in the present but the care we received was first class.
We would not have been surprised had the hotel been running on a reduced level of staffing especially as one night we were the only guests staying, but no the staffing was usual and the standard of care wonderful.
At present they are having the hotel redecorated but extreme care was taken to ensure that this did not interfere with the comfort of guests.
We have always enjoyed the food here but this time the quality and service were out of this world. Again a huge thank you to Sue and her wonderful staff for a wonderful 4 days.Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. It was, as always a pleasure to see you earlier this week and we hope to be able to welcome you all back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    93
    31
    14
    8
See reviews for
100
228
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff, who are more then happy to help with anything, the staff catered to all my needs, the lady on reception is an asset to the White Lodge Hotel (I think her name was Lauren). The meals are well priced, delicious, well presented and beautiful to the pallet. I have not yet stayed at the white lodge hotel, but after the hospitality we received during the dining experience, we will certainly be booking accommodation and we shall also be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

I shall be in touch with your hotel in the near future. :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel, but had booked the Gala New Year Dinner and dance with family members visiting Filey. This cost £67 per head - so wasn't particularly cheap - but was very good value.

The function was almost fully booked, and we were greeted promptly and our drinks order came very quickly. It wasn't long before we were show to the table - the main dining room was very welcoming and dressed for Christmas, and the table was set with party favours and was very festive. This was a six course meal. Choice of three starters - I had gravlax with caviar which was excellent. Then there was a choice of two soups - we all went for tomato - which was very rich and tasy. There was another choice for a small dish and we all had haggis, with potatoes and mashed parsnip - very good, but not as highly seasoned as normal, and I had to add salt.

The main courses were huge - this is Yorkshire - not the land of nouvelle cuisine! I had noisette of lamb - which is quite fatty by its nature, but the meat was melt in the mouth delicious. My dining companions had the sea bass, and the beef and both said their meals were excellent. There was also a vegetarian option.

Desserts were from the trolly and there was an excellent choice.

Many of the diners had made the effort to wear black tie, which wasn't compulsory but added to the occasion. The disco was very good and a great night was had by all.

There is no option to review the hotel just on its restaurant - so I have to put stars for rooms - which I must stress I didn't use.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to let the New Year in at The White Lodge Hotel and the staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your evening. We wish you "all the best for 2014" and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited here for a one night stay on New Years Eve. I think it was the last available room in Filey so there was no choice to be made.
I consider myself to be extremely lucky because what a superb little gem of a hotel.
The service provided by the staff was amazing - you must have a very happy team at The White Lodge because everyone we encountered/spoke to was a superb example of hotel staff.
The conservatory/lounge (including 2 roaring log fires ) and dining room were lovely. The stairway and corridor to out room was a bit tired and ready for a coat of paint. Our room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was basic and a bit cold but spotlessly clean.
Breakfast next morning was lovely and if we stay in Filey again we would not hesitate in booking into the White Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DysonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel

kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Four of us went to the New Year's Eve party which was a nine-course meal with a disco and sparkling wine at midnight to toast the entry of 2014. At a cost of £69.95 per person hopes were high for a high quality evening.

The meal started well with a choice of three different starters which between us we sampled each one with the duo of gravlax being particularly good. The next course of parsnip soup was devine and the meal continued well with food of a good standard; the sea bass and its mushroom sauce was very enjoyable too so it was something of a surprise then to bite on something very hard which turned out to be a small stone. We brought it to the attention of the manager who was very apologetic and did promise to discuss it immediately with the chef.

In the meantime we continued with the meal and as part of a chicken of six pudding two of us chose our favourite which is creme brûlée. It was therefore very disappointing to be served with two ramekins topped with a dark brown glutinous liquid which both looked unappetising and after a small taste of one dish proved to be so. We returned then to the kitchen and retired to the lounge with our cheese, biscuits and coffee with something of an anti-climatic feel to what we had hoped to be a super dinner.

It was therefore very pleasing to be approached by the manager who was very apologetic and disappointed that they had not met their normal high standards which meant that our experience was not what it should have been. As recompense he reduced our food bill by 20% and when we went to the bar to order another bottle of wine we were given it as a complimentary bottle. He ensured that the rest of our night was a success and he and his staff couldn't have done more to make up for the earlier difficulties. We danced the night away and along with the other guests merrily greeted 2014.

My overall impression? The staff were very friendly and competent; the general standard of the food was good and when difficulties did occur every effort was made to rectify the situation which is all that could be asked for. The organisation of the night was good and it was an enjoyable way to see in the New Year.

I think that when next in Filey we would give it another chance and I'm sure it will come up trumps.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank redgolf815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are sorry that you should have had such a disappointing experience in our restaurant and I can only add my sincere apologies that this should have happened.
I am delighted that the Duty Manager and staff on duty took appropriate steps to ensure that your evening was not entirely ruined and that you enjoyed the New Year dancing and Midnight festivities
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for posting a very fair and balanced review. We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Have stayed several times and always had an marvellous welcome and found the staff very friendly and accommadating. Fabulous situation overlooking Filey Bay. The bar is cosy and well stocked and the from it is excellent. An absoulte bonus for dog lovers as one of the few paces that dogs can sit in the lounge area. We love it!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We had a newly refurbished room on the first floor which we shared with our dog. The management and staff could not have been more helpful. As we did not want to leave the dog in the room while we ate, the staff laid a table for us in the bar for breakfast and evening meal.
A couple of people have commented about cleanliness of carpets in the bathroom. Ours had very new and very clean hard surfaced flooring. Other rooms on the first floor were being renovated while we were there.
As well as the usual breakfast bacon and eggs (very lean bacon) we also sampled local kippers and excellent Whitby smoked haddock
Overall met all of our expectations and would have no hesitation in recommending it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time in Filey and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon
Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
190 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4,869 reviews
25.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
582 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#24 of 28 in Scarborough
1,239 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing