We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous location”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Marvellous location”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We have just arrived home from a short break in Filey where we stayed for just one night at the White Lodge. We were very lucky with the weather considering it is mid March and we really enjoyed our short stay here and only wish it could have been longer. We booked a de luxe sea view room and took our little dog as well. We were all made very welcome and our dog even had his own welcome pack which was a lovely touch. Our room had just been refurbished and was very tastefully furnished and very comfortable with a great sea and park view. The food was very good quality and value and the staff were all very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return and for longer next time. Our dog was allowed in the bar and the lounge but obviously not in the restaurant but I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to take their pet on holiday with them as it is very dog friendly. We had lunch in the hotel's garden which was a real sun trap and very sheltered overlooking the sea and couldn't believe we were sunning ourselves in the garden in March! Thank you White Lodge.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 (Daybreak) which had a good sea view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toby571
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The staff and I are pleased that you had a pleasant time in Filey, thank you for your kind comments and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    87
    29
    14
    6
See reviews for
95
208
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

My wife booked the white lodge for my birthday, we arrived with our little fog and were made very welcome . We had room 1 with a balcony and sea view, the room was decorated to a very high standard with a bed that looked brand new,in fact everything looked new and spotless. There was even a welcome pack for our dog. The lounge was very comfortable with an open fire very cosy. Breakfast in the dining room with lovely views across to the Brigg was excellent, the choice very good, I had the full yorkshire breakfast which was very satisfying next was York ham and eggs so tasty and my last breakfast a huge Whitby smoked haddock mm.the food overall is of a very high standard . The people working there are very friendly and can't do enough for you,credit to the owner Sue. We both felt so relaxed in the white lodge and were sorry to leave but will be back very soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Having just arrived back from a 3 day stay at the White Lodge we felt it only fair to share our views on this fabulous hotel. From the moment you enquire about a booking to the the minute you leave an excellent service is given. All the staff are polite, accommodating and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is of 5* quality and again service is always with a smile. The hotel itself was under going refurbishment, however this caused us no concern and did not interfere or compromise our stay. Our room was again outstanding, everything you needed and more.
We have stayed in the hotel on numerous occasions and we can only say it just gets better and better. Cannot wait until our next visit in May. So thank you to Sue and her team of staff for a peaceful and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. The staff and I look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel in May

Kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Due to a mix at work we were unable to visit at Christmas as we had hoped. instead we went this weekend for four night stay.
The hotel was quiet as you would expect in at this time of year and in the present but the care we received was first class.
We would not have been surprised had the hotel been running on a reduced level of staffing especially as one night we were the only guests staying, but no the staffing was usual and the standard of care wonderful.
At present they are having the hotel redecorated but extreme care was taken to ensure that this did not interfere with the comfort of guests.
We have always enjoyed the food here but this time the quality and service were out of this world. Again a huge thank you to Sue and her wonderful staff for a wonderful 4 days.Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and for your kind comments. It was, as always a pleasure to see you earlier this week and we hope to be able to welcome you all back to The White Lodge Hotel again soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff, who are more then happy to help with anything, the staff catered to all my needs, the lady on reception is an asset to the White Lodge Hotel (I think her name was Lauren). The meals are well priced, delicious, well presented and beautiful to the pallet. I have not yet stayed at the white lodge hotel, but after the hospitality we received during the dining experience, we will certainly be booking accommodation and we shall also be recommending this hotel to friends and family.

I shall be in touch with your hotel in the near future. :-)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel, but had booked the Gala New Year Dinner and dance with family members visiting Filey. This cost £67 per head - so wasn't particularly cheap - but was very good value.

The function was almost fully booked, and we were greeted promptly and our drinks order came very quickly. It wasn't long before we were show to the table - the main dining room was very welcoming and dressed for Christmas, and the table was set with party favours and was very festive. This was a six course meal. Choice of three starters - I had gravlax with caviar which was excellent. Then there was a choice of two soups - we all went for tomato - which was very rich and tasy. There was another choice for a small dish and we all had haggis, with potatoes and mashed parsnip - very good, but not as highly seasoned as normal, and I had to add salt.

The main courses were huge - this is Yorkshire - not the land of nouvelle cuisine! I had noisette of lamb - which is quite fatty by its nature, but the meat was melt in the mouth delicious. My dining companions had the sea bass, and the beef and both said their meals were excellent. There was also a vegetarian option.

Desserts were from the trolly and there was an excellent choice.

Many of the diners had made the effort to wear black tie, which wasn't compulsory but added to the occasion. The disco was very good and a great night was had by all.

There is no option to review the hotel just on its restaurant - so I have to put stars for rooms - which I must stress I didn't use.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to let the New Year in at The White Lodge Hotel and the staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your evening. We wish you "all the best for 2014" and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We visited here for a one night stay on New Years Eve. I think it was the last available room in Filey so there was no choice to be made.
I consider myself to be extremely lucky because what a superb little gem of a hotel.
The service provided by the staff was amazing - you must have a very happy team at The White Lodge because everyone we encountered/spoke to was a superb example of hotel staff.
The conservatory/lounge (including 2 roaring log fires ) and dining room were lovely. The stairway and corridor to out room was a bit tired and ready for a coat of paint. Our room was spacious and very clean. Bathroom was basic and a bit cold but spotlessly clean.
Breakfast next morning was lovely and if we stay in Filey again we would not hesitate in booking into the White Lodge.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DysonsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and thank you for taking the time to give us your valuable feedback.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel

kind regards


Sue Wagstaffe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,749 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Expanse Hotel
Expanse Hotel
#1 of 6 in Bridlington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Oak Near Filey
0.2 mi away
Esmae House
Esmae House
#3 of 19 in Filey
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing