We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very short stay”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We booked to stay here for just one night so we could the next day visit my wife's very elderly parents who live in Filey . We flew into East Midlands Airport on a delayed flight then hit the M1 madness on our drive to Filey , so it was around 21.30 when we arrived , we had phoned ahead to let the hotel know about our delay , so when we arrived we where dealt with by the barman who was very friendly and helpful . We where shown to room 10 which was nice but very warm, day had been hot but it is close to kitchen so the floor felt quite hot . We where too late to eat in the hotel so no comment , we did sleep well with no noise until around 6.30 from the kitchen but was not excessive. We had breakfast the full English which was average , black pudding fantastic , bacon good but not crisp enough and sausage was to my palate poor. Overall it was hard to fully assess due to our short stay but what we saw and room quality was fine and staff very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your short stay in Filey and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon.

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the White Lodge for two nights. I had a very big double room with traditional decor. My colleague paid the same and had a very modern looking room, more like a Holiday Inn room! The rooms were dated but spotlessly clean. Bed was. Dry comfy. My room didn't have a sea view however for same price my colleague had a sea view and a balcony - so def recommend finding out as much as you can about your room prior to booking.

Staff were lovely and always on hand. Food was very nice especially the breakfast!! And for evening dinner, try not to overindulge with your starter and main because once you see the dessert trolley you will want to eat everything on it!! And I say this as someone who rarely eats or likes dessert.

In,y downside is that wi-if doesn't work in rooms and is very temperamental in shared areas too.

My first time in Filey and I loved it. Hotel is in perfect location and the beach is just perfect. Hope to have an excuse to visit again!!

Room Tip: Confirm whether traditional or more modern. Ask for clarity on sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missjy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. From your comments your visit to the White Lodge Hotel was organised as part of a conference. We have six different grades of bedroom, however, for conferences and large group bookings we offer one price for all of our room stock as we generally find that the event organisers prefer this.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Filey
Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have taken my elderly father in law for a short break to Filey, we stayed in the White Lodge hotel. The warm welcome, friendly staff, good food, sea views and sunshine all made it a wonderful short break.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LB25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The White Lodge Hotel and hope to be able to welcome you back soon

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night after watching Uriah Heep in Scarborough. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the beds very comfortable. Some areas need to be updated but in general a nice hotel. The hotel is next to Glen Park and within 5 mins of the beach. The only thing I would say is that it caters more those of a mature age rather than a family with young kids. (I could be wrong , only stayed 1 night). All the staff were pleasant and helpfull

Room Tip: stayed room 24 , nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank kevin s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. The staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel in the future

Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Service was friendly , views where great , food plenty of effort put in. But only ok. Wine list was good, had a nice bottle of Australian red. Good value using a hi life card, would have been gutted to pay full price. Not really found anywhere good to eat in Filey, need to look farther afield.

Stayed: July 2014
3  Thank kpleonard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal in the Dining Room of The White Lodge Hotel with its panoramic views and that you found the staff to be efficient and friendly. Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Decided to pop in for sunday lunch; so glad we did.

Well worth the extra few pounds in cost compared to other similar offerings in Filey; excellent food and good service. Dining room and terrace were both very pleasant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank John_txic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. The staff and I are pleased that you enjoyed your lunch and hope to be able to welcome you back to The White Lodge Hotel soon. Kind regards Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Very clean hotel in lovely surroundings .
Needs a bit of a refurb - decor very old fashioned and a bit tired , nothing that a lick of paint and a little more light wouldn't fix.
Breakfast pretty average in taste but plenty of it
Staff very pleasant.
Very adequate for a short stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a sea or park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Couple1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteLodgeHotel, General Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I note your comments on our décor and will use your valuable feedback to inform our on-going winter refurbishment programme. Kind regards

Sue Wagstaffe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Filey
2.1 mi away
Wrangham House Hotel
Wrangham House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hunmanby
199 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,949 reviews
25.0 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 26 in Scarborough
1,929 reviews
9.3 mi away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,608 reviews
6.6 mi away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: The Crescent | North Yorkshire, Filey YO14 9JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Filey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Filey
Price Range: £107 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Lodge Hotel is located on the cliff-top with panoramic views overlooking Filey Bay. Close to the town centre, golf course and tennis courts, it is an ideal location for a relaxing holiday, wedding or business event. Many of the 20 bedrooms have stunning sea views whilst others have beautiful garden views. Each room is en-suite with digital TV, free Wi-Fi, coffee/tea making facilities and hair dryers. We have a family suite and several rooms that can accommodate children. All rooms are accessible via a passenger lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Lodge Hotel Filey, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing